We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two-day stay was great!”
Review of The Banyan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Banyan Resort
Ranked #35 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our first time in Key West – attending a "destination wedding" for a young family member. My wife and stayed two nights at the Banyan Resort. We are only sorry that we did arrange things so that we could have stayed longer. Most of our fellow guests at the resort were owners – people who had been coming there for years. Everyone was extremely friendly, going out of their way to make us feel welcome. We especially enjoyed our breakfasts at the poolside lounge. The Banyan is on a short list of places we intend to revisit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatentLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It sounds like you had a really great experience and that you need to return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 443 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

The location is great... Quiet, clean and centrally located next to everything. The beds are so comfy. Nice to have a kitchenette. Especially for snacks and drinks. Can't wait to come back, for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieJlipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Got there after a desperate search for free accommodation. The visitors center finally found this place for us, was maybe the last room available on the whole island. So yes we paid a lot of money for this place. Had to share one queen size bed (no couple).
The bed itself was very shaky and damaged but okay our fault by coming late without reservation. The venue itself is perfect located next to duval street, where all the action is happening. All the rooms are very lovely decorated and look great from outside. The service from the front desk was perfect. Parking is possible for some extra money. Nice place overall but better reservate early.especially in peak season or spring break.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Even if this was the last room on earth, there is no excuse for a damaged shaky bed! I am glad to see you were pleased with the remainder of your stay and I hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We visited the Banyan again and it just keeps getting better. The place is a unique conversion of historic plantation homes into units that all have full kitchens, cooking ware and eating utensils. Grills are on site if you want to cook up some fresh fish purchased at the local fish market a few blocks away. Two swimming pools surrounded by lush tropical gardens make for great afternoons in the sun. The Banyan staff is friendly and cater to your needs. The best part is that this quiet oasis is a two minute walk to the craziness and fun of Duval Street so you can chill out and then walk to Sloppy Joes, Irish Kevin's, Green Parrot and a bunch of great restaurants and bars. When done it is a short stumble home. Bike rentals are available on site and I recommend biking the island as we do every day we are there. Turn right out of the resort and you can bike to Mile Marker 0, Hemmingway House and the Southermost Point marker in minutes. The Truman white house is directly accross the street and a short bike ride to the right of the resort leads to Mallory Square, the Harbor and the nightlife. Great resort in a great location. The people at the pool are very friendly and many are KW veterans and can provide excellent restaurant and activity suggestions.

Room Tip: We like the first floor rooms the best towards the back under the Banyan Tree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayoClevelandLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a thorough review... I couldn't have said it better myself! The Banyan is truly located in the heart of everything Key West has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I've stayed there twice and keep coming back. Beautiful property in the center of Old Town Key West. Once I parked my car, I didn't need it again. 2 pools. Wonderful employees. I really have no complaints of the place or staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alonso d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

And we love having you... See you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort in 2000 and had a great experience. We returned to Key West on February 20th, 2013 with my parents (in their 60s and our children ages 8 & 10.) We had a great time. My parents can be hard to impress but they were astonished that you can have a resort close (everything is walking distance) to everything and feel like you are in a tropical paradise. We stayed in 2 bed/2bath, it was wonderful with its wrap around porch where we enjoyed morning sun,the beds were super comfortable and the pool and hot tub area are so secluded with gorgeous plants and flowers. I cannot say enough about this resort. We arrived close to sundown and Carlos(who checked us in) was fantastic...he made sure we did not miss it. I will definitely choose this resort again!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancyhschreier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

The Banyan is truly situated in the heart of everything Key West has to offer!

Please don't let so much time pass between now and your next visit. I'm happy to hear we had something special to offer every member of your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I love the Banyan We have stayed there many times, sometimes alone, sometimes with other family members including children. Our last visit was in April of 2012 and ,as usual it was a delightful experience. The resort is close to the restaurants and action on Duval St., but it is still secluded, beautiful and quiet.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually unique and all are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlenem42w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again in April 2013!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
1,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island City House Hotel
Island City House Hotel
#16 of 77 in Key West
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Resort

Address: 323 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-6542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $317 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Banyan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a timeless world of beauty and luxury at the first Florida Green Lodging Designated Resort in Key West. Just steps away from the world-famous Duval Street & all that Key West has to offer, including shops, restaurants, & galleries. Spend your day by one of our heated spring-fed pools, sipping drinks at our Tiki Bar, or wandering through the tropical flora in our exquisite gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Banyan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing