We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Banyan Resort
Nearby Hotels
$338
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$506
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$249
$199
The Marker
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Key Cottages(Key West)
$923
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$335
$297
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
$247
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$361
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Havana Cabana at Key West(Key West)
$265
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveler rating
294
98
25
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
98
25
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharehot tubwhitehead stold townone bedroom unitduval streettiki hutfull kitchenadult poolspiral staircasewithin walking distancegrounds are beautifulsmall kitchenliving roomthe location is perfecttwo blockscan't beat the location
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 451 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our second stay at the Banyan. Love this place! Such beautiful grounds, and employees are so helpful. Great location in Old Town too! We Love Key West! The only place we consider staying in Key West when we visit. Tiki bar and pools are wonderful.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs with some units, so if you have issues with walking, be sure to ask about stairs with the units.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for submitting your second review... We'll see you next year!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We come to Marathon,FL (mile marker 50) for 3 months every winter. But we love coming here for our Key West fix for 3 days once a month or so. Perfect location, near wonderful restaurants, two live theaters (the Red Barn and the Waterfront) where we've seen great productions over the years, and right across the street from the Tropic Cinema...an amazing place to view quality films. We bring our bikes, so there is plenty to see: charming homes, beaches, art galleries, etc.
The Banyan grounds are lovely, an old Florida feeling with huge old Banyan trees, lots of palms and other vegetation and flowers. Two pools, a hot tub and a Tiki Hut that serves breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you, Linda. It's nice to know the Banyan is such a special place for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Banyan several times and would not consider any of the newer and modern hotels in old town. The Banyan is just outside the 'busy' part of old town but close enough to walk or ride bike's (which are provided) All the units at the Banyan are unique, as all the houses are historic and have been renovated into units, some first floor, some second. There is a tall privacy fence around the grounds and inside is tropical and well groomed, flora and fauna. The pool is nice and quiet and there is a pool bar and grill. For the old Key west feel and atmosphere, the Banyan is the place to stay. I would not recommend the Banyan for folks with children. It is more of a relaxing type atmosphere. Some of the newer motel type hotels with active pool festivities would suit the kids best.

Room Tip: Highly recommend for couples or singles, not a place for kids. Kids might find it boring but very relaxing for adults
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank streble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for posting your review.

In an effort to give our younger guests (and perhaps guests of all ages!) options for some innocent inside fun, we have recently purchased a couple of Wii gaming systems. They are available for rent at the Front Desk for $10/night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We used a timeshare week to stay here the week of July 4th and it turned out to be the worst vacation experience we've ever had. Upon check-in there was a misprint as to how many people we had with us, 5 instead of 4, one was a 2 year old. The staff basically told us we would either have to pack our stuff and turn around and drive 8 hours home, or rent a two bedroom from them for $350 a night, the price it should have cost us to stay all week. I was literally in tears and shaking. I couldn't believe I would have to tell my poor kids we couldn't stay and had to go home! Thankfully the SAINTS behind us offered to trade their two bedroom for our one/loft, and we were able to stay. However, the women working the front office were extremely rude to us and gave us dirty looks our entire stay. The pool was also closed, under construction and the noise was insane! We will never stay here again, and may never go back to Key West after this experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment with us. It is our goal to provide the best vacation experience possible to all of our guests. Our occupancy limits are set by fire code and the code counts the number of bodies in a room, not their size. Violating the could result in loss of our license, so we enforce it strictly.

That said, I'm so happy to hear you had the good fortune to encounter the guests who offered to switch units with you. My apologies that we did not have that option to offer you free of charge. The Banyan is a sold out resort, meaning each unit is individually owned unlike other resorts where the developer has inventory to offer room changes or complimentary upgrades. This puts us into a position where we do not have the authority to take a unit from one owner to accommodate another guest without a rental payment. While I understand this news was disheartening to receive, I can assure you there was no malicious intent on our behalf.

All the best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I rented a studio because I was traveling alone-- a nice option -- and love having a kitchen. This is a very comfortable and friendly place for a solo traveler!! Although my unit had not been re-done with new a/c and furniture, it had a wonderful, large private patio where I spent most of my time. A few issues in my unit (outdoor light out, slow bathroom drain) were taken care of promptly and cheerfully. Staff was very helpful on recommendations for restaurants and activities -- and everyone is made to feel at home. The location is PRIME -- 1 block to Duval Street, Red Barn Theater,Tropic Cinema, etc. -- but generally quiet. On site bike rental is also a plus; I don't even bother with a car there. A lot is done to make your stay really relaxing and restful -- like sweeping garden areas instead of leaf blowing each day!! Pool water was too nippy for me to go in...Be prepared to purchase EVERYTHING you need for the kitchen -- even salt and pepper -- and consider bringing your own pillow; the foam pillows provided were like sleeping on a beachball. Will DEFINITELY return!!

Room Tip: Street side units can be noisy at night. Studio unit 301 is very dark inside but (shady) patio makes up for it! Privacy of outdoor space with units varies a lot, so ask when you book.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lifesabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Its always nice to read about guest who enjoy our property and come back to visit every year.

I wanted to let you know that we recently installed energy efficient heat pumps on both of our swimming pools. The solar panels were only outputting enough warmth to heat the pools just about 75 degrees in the cooler months, so the heat pumps give them the extra boost to keep them both at a comfortable 82 degrees during our winter and spring months. So give them a try next time you're staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews