We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, great location!”
Review of The Banyan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Banyan Resort
Ranked #37 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, great location!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed 7 nights in July in a one bedroom unit. There were three of us, all ladies and it was our first time in Key West. We enjoyed the pool one afternoon, and got some great pictures around the resort. Yes, our unit was small, but it was clean and we were on vacation!!! We decided to walk everywhere, so we were glad The Banyon was so close to Duval Street. Duval Street is where a lot of shops, restaurants and bars are. We went to the beach (Fort Zachary) several times and that was a bit of a walk, but walking was very good for us. Before booking I called the office and talked with a very nice gentleman and he explained the surcharge, parking fee, housekeeping fees or us cleaning the room and all the other things about the resort so we knew pretty much going into our vacation what we were getting. The one negative thing I would say is that our unit didn't have a dishwasher, but we survived! Cleaning the room before you check out involves taking all the sheets off the bed or beds, cleaning the dishes and taking out the trash. We had a very good trip and hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeKathryn5992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to our Tropical Island Paradise!

Our new furnishings are currently being put into place and I hope you enjoy the upgrades next time around.

Also, just to alleviate any confusion to those who are reading this review, the Banyan Resort is a Timeshare resort. When Owners of a unit cannot use their unit they have the option either depositing their unit with an Interval Exchange Company or placing it into our rental pool ~ to our rental guests, we operate as a regular hotel offering daily housekeeping services included in your rate. It is Owners and Interval Exchange Guests who do not receive daily housekeeping services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    95
    25
    21
    14
See reviews for
84
184
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the Banyon this past week 07-28-12 and had a wonderful time there. We have been there before in 2010 and stayed in the loft unit in the 400 building. It was cute and clean but very small and only big enough for 2 people. This time we were in 601 and we were very happy with the unit. The grounds are beautiful and the pools are very clean. We love the tiki bar and the general atmosphere of the hotel. A dishwasher would be nice and salt and pepper shakers should be a given in any place that has kitchens.. Also a free newspaper, either a local one or USA Today would be nice as that is usually also a given these days. Shampoo and Conditioner same thing! We had to go and buy a big bar of soap as we were given a small bar for 2 people for a whole week. Every time share we have ever stayed in has given us 1 free cleaning mid week and we were disappointed to find out we would have none here unless we paid for it. Our refrigerator REEKED of fish so bad that we had to clean off ice cubes before we could use them. Some new teflon pans would are needed as everything we cooked got stuck to the old pans.. OTHERWISE we loved this resort and despite the above we will definitely stay here again. These were inconveniences that we can live with since we loved the area and the charm of the resort. The AC worked great and it was so hot we really appreciated that! Loved the roosters outside and the iguanas and the 3 resident cats. Thank you for a wonderful week! Pat and Kevin B

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmuffett18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Pat and Kevin B ~

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I will also follow up your refrigerator. Thank you for reporting it and I am so sorry about its condition. You otherwise had such wonderful things to say!!

Also, I wanted to share a few bits of information with you about the the other items you mentioned. So, here are a few tips to keep in mind during your future stays with us and for others who are reading this review and planning your stay with us... We keep a limited selection of Sundries ~ such as shampoo, conditioner and soap ~ at the front desk in case you need them during your stay. We also have Teflon pans available for use upon request but they are not part of the regular kitchen supplies inventory. A good rule of thumb is ~ if you find something you might need that is not already in the unit, call the front desk to ask and in most instances we will have it. Its our goal to have all the amenities of home on hand as we pride ourselves on being your home away from home!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsail Island North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Banyan numerous times in the past and enjoyed our stay. This year upon arriving we were put in unit 604. It is a second story unit. The unit is a 1 bedroom that is so small the tv sits above the refrigerator. The air conditioning thermostat resets 4 times a day. We have woke every morning due to the room tempeture being 78 or above. Upon calling the office, this is due to it being a green resort. When paying the nightly rate and a added energy surcharge of $5 and sum a night, I expect to have air conditioning in the morning.

The biggest change to this "RESORT" is the pool. In years past we have always been able to swim at night. The requirement was always be quiet, no loud play, no radios etc. that was fine. This year the security guy is like Barney without a bullet. Upon going to the office and asking about pool changes the part time girl was very personable. The security guy made it a point to tell my husband that if he was in the pool at night he would call the law. This was totally uncalled for. There was never a argument, no loud or argumentative conversation. The only reason we were inquiring about the pool again today was we were told that you could swim until 10 pm but we were run out along with another couple of ladies last night and it wasn't 10 pm yet.

This will definitely be our last stay here. There are plenty of places to stay that don't have the thermostat reset and pool hours that are ridiculous. When I pay this amount in key west for a small unit I expect air around the clock and a pool for my use.

I am just so thankful I never purchased a timeshare here. I don't know if they have changed management or what. This review is coming from someone who USED to love to stay here. Maybe not in unit 604. This unit is a first but this stay is the 6th or 7th and for sure the very last!!!!

Room Tip: Stay at town homes in windward park,same $ and one pool bigger than both put together at the banyan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riversidegutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It troubles me to hear we will lose your business over matters that could have been easily resolved had we known about them and had the opportunity to correct them as quickly as they were reported. The thermostat, pool and even accommodations issues could have been resolved immediately.

To anyone who is reading this review... whenever you are staying at any lodging facility I would encourage you to ask to speak with a manager and voice your areas of concern to them.

Also, we're not letting important repeat guests like you go that easily. Please check your mail in the coming days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We recently spent five nights at the Banyan Resort, our second visit. We enjoyed it very much. On a visit a few years ago, we had a two-bedroom unit; this time we opted for a one-bedroom with a fold-out sofa for our college-age son. We were very happy with the accommodations, although he did say the sofa bed was not the most comfortable.
The unit was clean and well-appointed; the staff was friendly and helpful; the grounds were lush and well-maintained.
We enjoyed the adult pool but wish it was open later than dusk; we would have enjoyed a quiet dip before retiring for the night. The hot tub is all right but way too hot.
Since we know Key West well, we parked about three blocks away on a side street rather than pay the Banyan's daily parking fee. However, for those unfamiliar with Key West street parking, the Banyan's parking area may be the way to go.
The Banyan is well located in the Old Town area, and a car really is not needed to get to most places. We have stayed at several locations in Key West over the years, but the Banyan has become our favorite.We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room with a private porch; it's great for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

As GAontheRoad says... a little local knowledge is required before taking it to the streets for parking. To those who are considering the street parking option you recommend to be sure that you take notice of the parking spot designation. Many parking spaces in the Old Town area are marked Residential Parking with paint on the pavement. Cars parked in those spaces without local tags will be ticketed and the cost is much higher than a day of parking. Also, our meter maids don't stop at one! They will add another to your windshield every 24 hours.

The city, as many have, also moved to a meter station centrally located on each block. Sometimes the signs that indicate a metered parking zone are difficult to see... So beware of this also!

Regardless of which parking option you choose, it is most likely you will not return to your car until you are ready to leave the island. So travel like a local and take advantage of the bicycle rentals we have available onsite for your convenience. Seeing the island by bike is truly the way to go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We are Floridians and we visit the Keys often. We considered the Banyan for our family vacation on July but it was sold out and we found another resort. We then reconsider again the Banyan, for our September stay for Poker run "bike week", so on Saturday, July 21, we booked through the Banyan's online reservation system were the rooms showed at "x" price and the nights of Friday and Saturday were available. I receive a confirmation number via email and stated that a Banyan agent would call us to confirm. This was odd, confirm what? all the information and credit card were on the reservation that showed availability. Well I end up calling the hotel multiple times and finally I get the following information from the representative on duty, who by the way was very nice and was diligent to at least look into it, and she received the following information from the assistant manager: that he/she was going to call me on Monday because the rate stated on their own reservation system on Saturday was wrong, and now is more money per night and there is a night stay requirement. None of this was stated at the time the reservation was done/requested. We are no longer considering this hotel as the process has been very complex and disturbing, and this was only the reservation part of it. Our recommendation: Please do call the hotel and confirm your reservation information. As always, there are multiple great locations on the Keys to consider, Good luck!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
I am so sorry to hear of your experience.

The internet booking portal on our website is a reservation request only. We try to explain this clearly on the reservation page with the statement "To complete the reservation request, fill in the entry form below and click on the 'Send Us the Reservation Request' button."

Once the form is completed by clicking the "Send Us the Reservation Request" button, the following response is provided "A reservations specialist will contact you via email to confirm your stay and provide a confirmation number."

The reason for this is that the internet booking portal on our website can only be updated manually and sometimes changes occur in the real time before the website can be updated. We are anxiously awaiting new technology that is currently available in the hotel industry but not in the timeshare industry that will allow our online availability to be updated automatically and always represent the most up to date availability and rates in real time. That said, approximately 98% of the reservations that come through our internet booking line are processed seamlessly through this method every year. Rest assured if a reservation is made through our online portal, you will be contacted as quickly as possible by one of our reservation staff it be notified that it cannot be confirmed as requested.

Again, my most sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here 2 yrs ago and had an awesome time with friends and family. Very comfortable rooms and great friendly staff. We had my son's adding in April 2012 and several of our guests stayed here based on our recommendation from 2 yrs ago.
Will definitely stay here in the future, and highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darla j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for four days over a weekend in June in a rwo bedroom suite. We has made the reservation about six months prior and had brought our car with us so we let them know that we needed a space to park. My first impression was that it was much smaller than what I had pictured. We checked in with Heather who was very nice and laid back. She explained to us that one of the pools would be closed due to unscheduled repairs and if that was a problem they would refund our money and find us some place else to stay. The did explain that they had made a deal with Le Concha (sp) on Duval to allow us to use that pool as well. This was probably the only negative we had with the resort and I will explain. I was not happy with this as you may imagine, we paid good money to stay and if you are under going construction it would be nice to have had advance notice prior to arrival at 4:30 after a six hour drive down. We left e-mail and cell phone numbers so notice could have been given. I am aware that they offered a refund and help finding some place else to stay but with five people in tow including two teenagers I did not want to leave it to chance that we could fond some place exceptable on such short notice. We opted to stay. We did not use the pool until the day prior to checking out as a result and we did hear people mention that the noise from the work being done at the main pool was very loud. You have to undertsand that the pools although seperate are probably only 15 feet from each other. We didn't have a problem with noise the day we were there.

As mentioned the Banyan is very pretty. The two bedroom was roomy and comfortable, very clean and nicely decorated. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had breakfast at the tiki bar every morning, luck one day and Bridgette was great! The other guests were all very friendly. I think the Banyan Resort is a very nice place to stay. I just wish the other pool was up and running as I am sure the property would be even nicer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank britri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the pool deck project. Unfortunately, there is no good time of year in Key West for a project like this. I hope you will consider staying with us again during your next visit to our tropical island paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.4 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#14 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
0.2 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#11 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Resort

Property: The Banyan Resort
Address: 323 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-6542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Banyan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a timeless world of beauty and luxury at the first Florida Green Lodging Designated Resort in Key West. Just steps away from the world-famous Duval Street & all that Key West has to offer, including shops, restaurants, & galleries. Spend your day by one of our heated spring-fed pools, sipping drinks at our Tiki Bar, or wandering through the tropical flora in our exquisite gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Banyan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing