We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 7, 2007

Everything at this hotel was excellent! We stayed there from May 20-26, 2007 for our honeymoon.
We had booked late because of a construction issue at the hotel we had previously booked. We explained the situation and they were more than willing to help make our stay memorable. They gave us a great room overlooking the water and Mallory Square which was fantastic. The room was very clean and quiet and the staff was a pleasure from the minute we arrived! Anything we asked for was handled in a timely and efficient manner - not that we really needed that much! Everything was taken care of before we could even ask! It was well worth the money and we will definitely stay there in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GamecockGal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,227 - 2,233 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2007

We stayed at the Ocean Key for three days just after Memorial Day Weekend. As others have said, the location is just unbeatable in Key West. It is situated right at the end of Duval Street and within a short walk of the Key West attractions. Since it is located basically next to the Cruise Ship port, you have the typical "cruise ship mile" that you find in most ports with lots of local shops, vendors offering various day trips, and numerous restaurants.

We paid just over $$240 per night and had a 3rd floor "junior suite" island view room though it had a pretty decent view of the bay from outside the balcony which was directly overlooking Duval Street. I traveled with my teenage son and the hotel also met with his (always critical) approval.

We liked the room. It had plenty of space and a fold out couch which housekeeping set up for us. The hotel was comfortable and clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We parked with the Valet for $18 per day. The Hot Tin Roof (restaurant) was a great place for breakfast with reasonable prices and the beautiful views of the Ocean. The Sunset Pier had a lot of foot traffic from the street but the pool area was restructed to hotel guests and provided a beautiful place to watch the sunset in privacy and relaxation.

The pool was small but looked clean and big enough for a decent dip to cool off -- we did not use it. We did not use any of the spa services. Room service was quick and the food was adequate when we ordered a snack. The Concierge was helpful in arranging some day trips but he was young and did not offer the most savvy advice. Nonetheless, courteous and helpful in booking the waverunners and a fishing trip. Also helpful in recommending restaurants and arranging movie tickets.

We're I being charged $400-$500 per night as some people on peak season report, I would probably find a lot of things to criticize about the hotel. But for the price of an airport hilton, we were delighted by this hotel and its friendly staff. And, of course, location, location, location. It is not a Four Seasons, but it is a delightful place to stay if Key West is on your itinerary and you can book for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank harriedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2007

If you want a fabulous time in Key West- stay at Ocean Key Resort. The rooms are so luxurious, the service wonderful-
friendly and speedy ! You will be staying on the official Sunset Pier in Key West, with stunning views of the water or famous Duval Street. The restaurant is 5 star great, and still friendly while being gourmet/fusion and delicious. The website has
specials that make a stay here affordable for the luxury received.
I've stayed at the Westin at Mallory Square and Ocean Key is far and above a much better choice. The staff in the lobby is very friendly and helpful, and there is a CVS pharmacy conveniently
next to the resort for those unexpected needs. I am an experienced traveler so you can trust this recommendation for Ocean Key- you will not be disappointed. The bathrooms are huge and even have very cool air conditioning ducts in the bathroom- which means alot in a tropical locale like this !
The rooms are gigantic and the beds are pure heaven. Just
go, you won't be sorry, I promise you.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SEAJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

Stayed at Ocean Key for 2 nights for our Wedding Anniversary on the 7th May 2007. The location is excellent, you couldnt ask for better. A couple of steps and you are on Mallory Square and Duval Street. The welcome we got when we arrived was fantastic. Our room wasnt ready but they parked our car for us and made us feel very welcome. The room we had was a box standard room and it was lovely. Big, colourful, comfy bed, balcony, 2 tv;s ( i mean who needs 2 tv's!!!) fridge, sofa. Huge bath, all really nicely done. The view from the balcony was over Duval Street and the ocean and was lovely. The hotel has plenty of amenties, the pool is nice, there is a bar on the pier where you can sit and watch the boats go by. You can walk practically anywhere on Key West from here.

We ate in the hotel restaurant for our anniversary and it was ok. It did have negatives though, the man than welcomed us was really not very nice and was absolutely useless at his job. We arrived slightly early for our table and we were kept waiting approx 45 mins, with no contact, just a simple, well there's the bar get a drink while you are waiting. The restaurant wasnt even busy. It wasnt really on and with it being our Anniversary we felt a bit put out. The service in the restaurant was adequate and the food is pretty good. Its nice to sit outside too. I wouldnt rush back to the restaurant though!

I would highly recomend this hotel. Its not cheap but there are deals to be done and the location is excellent and there are loads of bars and restaurant well within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kez_ireland25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

We just got back from our stay at the Ocean Key and loved every minute. The staff was very attentive and welcoming when we arrived. We took part in a package (spring fling) which offered a jr. suite, 2 drinks per person per day and lunch. The Lunch menu was small, but ample. They even traded out 2 lunch coupons for 2 breakfast coupons since we were leaving early on our last day. Drinks were very strong and service was good. We were at the pool area every day around 4pm and never had a problem finding a seat. Room was very clean and maintained nicely. We had a balcony overlooking the ocean and the only time we saw a cruise ship was our last day there and it was only in dock until 5pm. Location was great - left the hotel and was immediately in the action at Mallory Square. There were kids at the pool, but only a couple a day. The hotel is more for adults I think. Overall, a great experience. We have been to KW 5 times and I think we found our favorite go-to hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelly32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

I'll try to make this short, but informative. I am a travel agent, and I loved the Ocean Key. Great location for the activities of Key West - Dining, Duval Street, galleries, and water sports. The pool is small, but great chairs and service by the pool. The Hot Tin Roof restaurant is really good, but you really do need reservations if you want a decent table. We were in a 2 bedroom with a kitchen and washer/dryer and it was fabulous. CVS was right next door, and there was a little supermarket on Fleming. It was nice to be able to have cereal, toast, and take leftovers back to the room probably saved us quite a bit not eating out every meal. But really the staff there was amazing and made our stay perfect. They all really seemed to like their jobs-very refreshing! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but don't think Key West is good place to take children. Lots of obnoxious drunk people on Duval street which seemed to spill over to the Sunset pier in the evenings. Small fitness center, great spa, and all the rooms looked really large.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank melindajirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

Just back from 3 nights at Ocean Key and loved everything about it. Had planned to stay next door at Pier House, but cancelled our reservation when we received an e-mail from them 3 weeks before arrival date saying they were having construction during our stay. Switched to Ocean Key (for less $$ through Expedia) and are so happy we did. Pool looks small from pictures on the website but was more than ample. Received an upgrade without asking to a newly remodeled junior suite - big with beautiful view from balcony; impeccably clean and maintained that way throughout the stay. Staff throughout the resort were friendly and helpful. Looking forward to returning as soon as we can.

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank edbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.5 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#15 of 51 in Key West
2,385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $351 - $964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing