We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 16, 2007

We have stayed at Ocean Key 3 years ago, but this time was not up to par. They promised us a certain room, but upon arrival we were told the room was already given to another guest. The manager, front desk offered no appology, no adjustment for our inconvienance. We were told our room was non-smoking and we would be charged extra if we smoked, but our room had an extreme odor of smoke when we checked in. They had to deep clean our 2 bedroom suite. For $900 per night, The service, personal were definately not what we had last time. We will not return to this hotel again, as the service has deterioated.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ttuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,272 - 2,278 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2007

Even though we have stayed in Old Town before we decided to try a new resort and we were not disappointed. Beyond expectations would be the only way to describe our stay at the OKR.

We booked through AAA for a jr suite at a very good rate for the area. We were scheduled for a city view but were keeping our fingers crossed for an upgrade. At check-in a very friendly attendent was swiftly checking us in and offered us the upgrade without asking. We now had a room that faced the pool/Mallory Square/sunset's. Oh, the room was also much larger than what was booked and now became a large 2 room suite. We could have asked for no more.

The staff was always polite and attending always said good morning and would offer the elavator to us first. An example of a well trained staff. The little things werere important to them and it was evident it their approach to their guest. The grounds were well kept and in good order. The pool was clean and towels always provided. Although I did notice this was a function of who was working the pool. Our young waitress was very attentive. However on her off day we had a waiter who did seem a bit out of sync.

From our room we had 10 steps and we were on Mallory square -- you can not get better than that. Or, maybe we could. We also chose to watch the sunset from our patio. While during the day there could be a cruis ship in our way, during the evening (after 3) all was open to seen the great setting sun.

The beauty of OKR beyond the resort itself was how close you are to what makes Key West unique. The free-spirit town itself with all the shopping and nightlife. For us it was a 10 sec walk and we are in the middle of it all.

While the upgrade in room contributed to much of our enjoyment there were too many other positives to say this was the only reason we had such a good time.

This was our 4th trip to Key West and we have stayed at other premium resorts. However from this point forward the Ocean Key Resort will now be our destination of choice.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank lovs2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2007

My husband went back to Key West for our second time March 4-7th. We decided to stay at the Ocean Key based on great reviews, location, and photos. We got more than our moneys worth there. The staff are unbelieveable! They make you feel like you are their only guests, anything you need, no questions asked, done! All the rooms have great views, I believe you can see the water from every room. We had the junior suite which was immaculate all the time! The bathrooms were fantastic withe the jacuzzi tubs! Our room overlooked the water & Mallory Square, so we could hang out on the balcony watching all the activities below us, and the sunset at the same time. The sunset pier was awesome! We had this crazy waiter Ross serving us drinks and he made it a very memorable experience. We can't wait to go back to Key West and most certainly stay at the Ocean Key again. I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else. Though, we did stay at the Sheradon Suites last time, and there were very clean and nice there too, but this doesn't even come close. We decided to go to Key West every other year and stay at the Ocean Key from now on, I'm counting down the days!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Strutr1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

My wife and I stayed here one night after staying at its sister resort, Little Palm Island Resort for four nights. The best part about staying here is the location, but don't expect luxury. Location is perfect for exploring Key West - right at the end of Duvall Street on the water. The view from the balcony was beautiful - you could watch the sunset as well as view the crowd next door at Mallory Square. Our room, like the hotel, was in need of a major renovation. The bathroom tile was broken. The shower was small and old. Our room smelled of cigarette smoke, even though it was a non-smoking room.

Stayed: April 2007
7  Thank Clarkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2007

I agree with all the other positive reviews for this hotel - the location and hotel itself are excellent. Try to get a room that has a seafront view and watch the sunset over Mallory square. A fabulous 3 night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

We just returned from our first trip to Key West. We had a room called the Jr. suite. There was a living room, bedroom, jacuzzi tub, separate bathroon, balcony. Our view was on the corner so it was part city and part water which was okay since we weren't there to stay in our room. We were in the heart of everything, I could not ask for a better location. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and bright. We are very pleased with the accomodations. Since there were record low temps during our stay we didn't get use out of the balcony. Our neighbors must have though as we heard them dragging chairs early a couple of mornings. Seemed the garbage or some large truck came early each morning too. Aside from that I didn't hear much noise from outside. The pool area is nice, but small and when the cruise ships are in you cannot see the sunset from there.

I cannot say I was too pleased with the room service menu, I did not care for the food I received and what was supposed to be hot was lukewarm. We were also billed for a parking charge every night and we did not have a vehicle!! It was removed from my bill upon request, although when I got home I realized I was not provided a receipt for one night...of which when I called parking charges and an unidentified charge were on it. I was told my receipt would be emailed but have yet to receive a copy of the receipt less these incorrect charges. Make sure to check your bill upon checkout!

Stayed: February 2007
12  Thank DaisyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2007

As previous travelers have mentioned, this hotel is perfectly located at the end of Duval Street and next to Mallory Square. If you are looking to stay in the heart of Key West this is the place to be. All of the shops and bars are very close & within walking distance.

The hotel is not 5 star, however it is fun and colorful with fresh paint and interesting artwork. We had a large room with vaulted ceilings & a skylight. The patio had a beautiful view overlooking Mallory Square and the ocean, perfect for watching the famous Key West sunsets.

The formal restaurant, Hot Tin Roof, sits on the edge of the property overlooking the water. The food is delicious, however the service was rather slow. Sunset Pier is more lively with good music and a more "pub-like" menu. It gets crowded at sunset so get there early to get a good seat and enjoy the tasty drinks.

The only negative for this hotel was the noise in the morning. We like fresh air so we opened our patio door during the night. The roosters in Mallory Square are extremely loud in the early morning so be sure to turn the a/c on instead of opening the door!

All in all we loved this hotel and will stay again for our annual trip to the Key West.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SammyRaeHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.5 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $305 - $802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing