We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous way to see in 2010”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous way to see in 2010”
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Stayed here late December and over New Year until 2nd January. The room was fabulous overlooking the pool and bar (full ocean view), the staff are beyond reproach and room service was just fantastic. I had asked for a quiet room, but I think at the end of Duval Street, it's imposible to get one! Having said that I wasn't bothered with noise at all from outside, but was with a fellow guest's TV, but when I complained they ensured it was turned down pronto. The jacuzzi in the room is great too, though I didn't really rate the spa massage treatments and wouldn't have those again if returning. All in all though, a great stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,784
    516
    174
    71
    45
See reviews for
444
1,517
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We arrived late at the hotel and planned on showering and going out to Duval. We both had very cold showers and let the front desk know there was a problem, they were up within minutes. The water heater ended up being broken, so they offered to upgrade us. We got a wonderful room overlooking Mallory Square, with a hot tub and they gave us vouchers for free breakfast at the Hot Tin Roof. The resturant was wonderful!
We loved the resort. It has a wonderful location, very convienient to most anything you would like to do one the island. The staff was also very frieldly and helpful. Though it was a little pricey, it was well worth it and we found most of the other lodging to be just as expensive.
We do plan on going back with a larger group next time and not over a high season, but we will plan on staying here again and have already recommended it to our friends and family.

THANK YOU OCEAN KEY RESORT!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jstallings0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

My wife and I stayed here the week between Christmas and New Years. We usually stay at 4 and 5 star hotels. This hotel has a 5 star price but it is a low to average 4 star property. There are other hotels in the same area that I would check out first before opting for Ocean Key. That being said, our suite was very nice with a great view of the ocean and Mallory Square. However, unless you get a room on the 5th floor your views of Mallory Square and the Ocean are likely to be obstructed by the ever growing palm trees. The bedroom had small non flat screen television not consistent with a 4 star property at 500 bucks a night. We did hear our neighbors from time to time. I think the walls could use some sound proofing.

The staff, all young people under 30 were very helpful. The Hot Tin Roof, the hotel restaurant was outstanding. The Sunset Pier and Bar, also part of the hotel is a fantastic place with terrific live music. No question, you are in the center of the action at Ocean Key, I just didn't think it was worth the $2,200 for the 4 night we stayed there. There are other nice hotels nearby which have lower rates and which would still allow you to visit Mallory Square, view the ocean, hoist a view beers at the Sunset Pier and dine at the Hot Tin Roof.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbycityvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

We knew this was an expensive hotel when we booked and as we were staying in a few places around Florida we decided to make this hotel our special treat for the holiday. We were not let down. Thanks to Tripadvisor we looked out for some of the complaints on here and have to say that we didn't experience any of them.

We arrived a few minutes before the booking in time and were given vouchers for drinks in what must be one of the best hotel bars anywhere! When we returned, there was a problem with our room and rather than keep us waiting whilst it was fixed, they upgraded us to a larger room on the fourth floor. It was fantastic, clean, spacious and with wonderful views from our balcony out over the harbour and ocean. Our dealings with the staff were always met with a polite, friendly and professional attitude and they all seemed to know there stuff.

This is a great place to stay. The room we had was quite, clean, spacious and well appointed. The hotel is perfectly placed for all the main attractions of the area and is within easy walking distance of some of the best bars, restaurants and shops on the Key. The functional parts of the hotel are well hidden away behind all the greenery and the hotel bar and pier are a real treat. It was nice watching the sunset with a long cold drink listening to music in a great location.

There is no self parking but as everything you will need is so close, then let them park the car and forget about it while you go out and enjoy the fantstic bars of the area.

We would recommend this hotel to anybody and feel safe that they will enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveBishop.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

In the age of iPods can there ever be a good reason to have loud music blaring at you in the pool area? To make matters worst it was aweful rock, heavy metal. I asked five times to have it turned down or off over three days. By the fourth day it was still blaring.
I am shocked and dismayed that this was or is a number 4 trip advisor hotel. I have always trusted the trip advisor rating system and I am definitely let down. I would never recommend this hotel. Plus it's in the most busy, noisy tourist area.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coyotetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

We stayed in Ocean Key during Xmas break 2009 and it was a superb experience. People are friendly, rooms are very clean and nicely furnished. Our room had a breath taking view of the ocean and we had a chance to watch a few romantic sunsets from our balcony...while enjoying chilled champagne. I hope we will come back one day!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgreen1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2009

A perfectly serviceable hotel. For the price we paid, one might expect more. If this is truly the 6th finest hotel on the key, I pity the others.

There's no reason other than location to recommend this hotel. The facility is poorly-kept and could stand some renovation. Rooms are small. The staff is surly. Requests we made to the front desk were never communicated to the rest of the staff. One choice moment: we requested a morning cleaning, using the helpfully-provided cards. They didn't clean in the morning; instead they decided to phone us in the afternoon after we'd put out the "privacy please" sign, waking our daughter during naptime, and ask if they could come in to clean. Brilliant.

Walls are thin. For well over $500 a night one might expect privacy, but you won't find it. Here are a few choice moments from our neighboring room (around 10pm), all heard loud and clear through our living room wall:

<stagger, stagger, bump, door slam>

"Honey, are you OK?"

"MMM.... bleaaghhhhhhh!"

"Oh dear..."

"OK, turn off the [expletive deleted] phone. Pull it out of the wall. I don't want that [deleted] thing ringing..."

<TV blaring for the rest of the night>

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarvinTheB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.0 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#18 of 51 in Key West
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing