We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$338
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$506
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$249
$199
The Marker
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$178
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Key Cottages(Key West)
$923
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$335
$297
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
$247
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$361
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Havana Cabana at Key West(Key West)
$265
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,792)
Filter reviews
2,792 results
Traveler rating
1,933
548
185
78
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,933
548
185
78
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset pierhot tin roofmallory squareliquid loungenoble housejunior suiteend of duval streetwatched the sunsetperfect locationpartial ocean viewwhirlpool tubcruise shippool staffoverlooking the waterocean frontsunset celebrationfrozen towels
Filter
Updating list...
2,456 - 2,461 of 2,792 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2006

Just return from the Keys and a stay at the Ocean Key. This was our 5th. time staying at the Key and was our worst so far. The Key is a nice Hotel, don't get me wrong as we have stayed at others, Pier House, Ocean Reach, etc. which were not as nice. However this time it went wrong from the start. We arrived at the 4:00 p.m. flight from Orlando. Once we were there they only had 1 Junior Suite ready, so I think no problem. Wrong. The suite was a handicap suite on the 2nd. floor. I'm sorry but we are not handicapped and it wasn't what we were exspecting. We took it anyway to be nice. Well after a couple of hours the air conditioning went out. 78 degrees in the room, no way was this going to work. They generously sent someone to work on it, but we requested a move, which was only 1 door down. Ok, now we have a room and its cool. Then the next morning we are awaken at 7:00 a.m. by the sewer truck pumping S**t from the drains at the resort. What a wreck. Finally after about 30 minutes the truck blew up...thank goodness for this, there was smoke everywhere, not to say the noise was unbelieveable. Well, maybe a day at the pool was going to be better. Wrong again, they had 6 electricians which only 1 looked like he was working trying to fix the speaker and lights from the hurricane. They were always running back and forth trying to determine where they were going to put a box. Finally the straw that broke the camels back was the poor JACK HAMMER they used to go through the concrete at the pier. This must have went on for an hour and a half before we finally had to leave. They really need to get a grip on things as this has always been our favorite place to stay and now its moved way down due to these poor management decisions. The personnel are always super nice, I just question the higher ranks decisions.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jbbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2006

We just returned from a weeklong stay. Overall we had a nice experience.

Pros: The location is PRIME (best benefit of the hotel), the rooms were nice (adequate but not exceptional) and most of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Cons: The pool is small, can be crowded and is not well serviced. Specifically, there
were times late in the day when it was difficult to get a chair and towels were non-existent. Since it was not good beach weather while we were there, this was disappointing for us. Perhaps the biggest negative for the hotel is the cost. It is expensive and just not a good value. Other hotels seemed to be less expensive. This was our first trip to Key West and although we enjoyed the trip, we've had better trips in the Carribean
for less money.

6  Thank NHVaca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

Were highly recommended to this Hotel, but were disappointed. Location is great but the room initially was disappointing. Following waiting for our baggage for almost 1 hour, to be delivered by Valet, we then had the experience of the Valet locking the keys in the rental car. The handyman seemed to be adept at breaking in - but the trouble did warrant us an upgrade of room and gesture of meal vouchers!!
The Receptionist, Beata is a star - even under pressure and one of the Managers Johann is also to be commended for his efforts

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LovedSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, TX
17
Reviewed April 6, 2006

We were disappointed with our choice of hotel. For almost $500 a night, we expected much more from this " 4 star hotel". The hotel website and search engine virtual tours are very misleading.
Everything in the hotel is exhorbitantly priced, the service is barely average, the pool is small and often crowded. We had breakfast at the hotels resturant "Hot Tin Roof" and we were appauled that our waiter had at least 4 warts on his hands...in clear view!! As you can imagine it put us off returning to Hot tin roof again.

We were charged an extra $150 on checkout for movies we had not ordered, valet services we had not used etc.
I have to say that the room was spacious and had a nice view of Mallory Square. Unfortunately there is no access to the beach from the hotel, but the hotel is well located near the historic marine district, duval street and most of the tours.
When we return to Key wesy we will be staying at the Hilton resort and Marina. The location is excellent, classy and service is superb.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
St. Louis, Missouri
13
Reviewed March 23, 2006

I had a boutique suite and it was very spacious and nice. The bed was very comfortable. I had an incredible view of the beautiful water and Mallory Square. The breakfast was good at the Hot Tin Roof restaurant located on property. Others is our party utilized the room service and they spoke highly of it. I can't say enough about the friendly service provided by all of the staff at the hotel. They were a joy. The hotel is located at the very end of Duval St. where the sun sets each evening. It is a perfect location and was close to all of the great places like the Hogs Breath Inn and Irish Kevins, two places our group enjoyed for their entertainment. There are so many great places in the area... something for everyone. The food was great at the local restaurants, with lots of choices and price ranges. With regard to price of the rooms... I think all of accomodations are high priced in Key West compared to other places that I have traveled. You will not be disapointed with the Ocean Key. When I return I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews