We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I chose to stay one night (should have made it two but they were booked up!) for my birthday in Key West at Ocean Key Resort and I cannot wait to return. Their resort was beautiful, their staff was fantastic and our room was absolutely amazing. The location is perfect (right on Mallory Square) and we walked everywhere once they parked my car and even offered to empty it and bring everything to our room. After a long drive from Tampa this was truly a fantastic bit of service. They told us to leave it to them and to go enjoy ourselves which we did! We thoroughly enjoyed a few hours by the pool and the beautiful sunset from the adjacent Sunset Pier. The bed was fantastically comfortable, the jetted tub provided incredible relaxation and, wow, those bathrobes!! If they didn't cost so much they would have gone home with us for sure. We had a "build your own mojito" spread brought up to us which we enjoyed in our robes on the balcony watching the tourists, the sunset and the ocean. Truly a fantastic trip and we cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: As with most places only pay for the view and balcony if you're going to use it. If you want to...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,607)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Key Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 2,607 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

Ocean Key Resort was exactly like it appeared in the advertisements and pictures. The staff were amazing, the facilities were beyond beautiful, and the location could not have been more perfect. I can not imagine staying anywhere else the next time we visit Key West. We were upgraded to a top floor one bedroom ocean view suite and we could have stayed there for weeks. The concierge arranged fishing charters prior to our arrival guest services answered any questions that we had via email in a timely matter. The hotel overlooks Sunset Pier and that view is unbelievable. One of the best resorts we have ever stayed in. Thanks Ocean Key Resort.

Room Tip: I did not give this a high rating for kids activities because there really is only a small pool. Ho...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melodie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

I went for a weekend from 6/13-615. I really like the location and view from the pier. The staff was nice and helpful. We had a free room upgrade because they had no availability for the room reserved. Also received a room adjustment because the rates lowered. I would definitely come back and recommend the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Anharin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I can't wait to return! The whole property had a relaxed, luxurious, tropical vibe. Upon arrival, we were upgraded from a partial ocean view suite to a full ocean view suite. Amazing. Walking into the room, the first thing I noticed were large french doors that opened out onto our own private balcony overlooking the pool, ocean, and Mallory Square. We enjoyed the spectacular Key West Sunset every night from our balcony. Noise was never a problem in our room.

The dining options at Ocean Key are good. They offer breakfast on your private balcony (not included in the price of the room, but prices were fair), which is a must do experience. The Sunset Pier is located right on the water and serves a good helping of tropical drinks and sandwich-type fare. We ate there twice during our stay because we loved the view and the ambiance so much. Hot Tin Roof is the Resort's main restaurant and the food was delicious. I would recommend eating inside, as it gets pretty hot on the terrace.

The location is right on Duval and within easy walking distance to almost any attraction.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boykos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the Ocean Key resort, had a very comfortable stay. Its in a great locatiion right at the end of Duval Street. We had a room overlooking Mallory Square, fantastic views of the sunset. Sunset pier is a great place to have a few drinks and some snacks

The room was very tastefully decorated, beautiful furnishings and a very comfy bed. Great shower and bath and very clean

I would definitely stay here again when in Key West

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheffgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon in the ocean view guestroom, which was perfectly situated with a beautiful view over sunset pier. The in room jacuzzi was perfect to unwind, just big enough for both of us.

All of the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, not overbearing and they just want you to enjoy your stay. Also, the staff respects your privacy with schedules for housekeeping. The bell boy even warned us about taking some of the pre stocked beverages because they were pricey.

There's a CVS right on the street corner for any essentials you forget. My wife and I bought a 24 pack of water and stocked our mini fridge to stay hydrated which I recommend.

If you've never been to Key West, talk to the very friendly concierge to get a map with the area outlined and some recommendations for dining and activities.

Overall a wonderful experience!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank clintorion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is an older (30 years+) property that has been very nicely maintained w/a nice tropical ambiance in terms of decor, landscaping & of course, being right on the KW waterfront. Beautiful sunset views, extremely convenient location, and a friendly staff. The pool area is nice, but gets extremely crowded since its relatively small. Ours was a 2-BR unit, and was very comfortable and spacious. Very nice for couples. It is, of course, VERY expensive, as you would expect of such a nice place with its "primo" location---but I guess you get what you pay for (mostly).

Room Tip: Stay in the Mallory Building (there are 2 separate buildings)--that way you dont have to put up with...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtravOKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#17 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $331 - $1,006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing