We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 5, 2014

my husband booked the ocean key for a week and i was hesitant as the last time we stayed, i felt the place needed an upgrade.. well it got an upgrade and from the moment we checked in, we knew we had made the right choice,, the check in was easy and we were upgraded to a 2 brm suite..we had so much space and a the rooms are done just right, very subdued but very comfortable..
we had a walk in shower, jacuzzi and and another bathroom with a tub.
as beautiful as the hotel is and the location on duval is right in the middle of things, it is the people and the service that made our stay so great..
everyone was happy and loved their jobs and it showed.. christen and april at the pool made sure we had everything we needed and housekeeping was also fantastic and done early..
we never had to call to request towels ect as they were always plentiful/
my only complaint about the hotel is the need for a makeup mirror in the bathrooms or better lighting
we would highly recommend this hotel and would go visit again..

Room Tip: we loved room 209, huge room with view of ocean and sunset deck, it also had big balcony..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for this detailed review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us here at Ocean Key! We will make sure that we pass along your kind words over to Christen and April! Thank you again for writing this review. W hope you stop by and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,292 - 1,298 of 2,698 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay in this property ! Room was large and well decorated (colonial style). We had a balcony from which we could enjoy breakfast in the morning and sunset. Concierge was really a great source of info and participated to make our stay memorable. Only one issue was wifi in the room which was not working.
Location is perfect, on the waterfront, Duval and all kind of restaurants and bars within walking distance.
We would surely go back there next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us here at Ocean Key! We will make sure that we let the Concierge know how much you appreciated their help during your stay with us. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Had a 3 night stay here. Amazing views, incredible staff, clean/beautiful rooms, walking distance to EVERYTHING but quiet enough for peaceful relaxation. It doesn't get better than this. A total splurge. If/when we return, we would only consider the Ocean Key for our hotel. Thanks for the great time, Ocean Key!

Room Tip: you can't beat the waterview rooms. Worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for this review! We are grateful for all of your kind words. We love to hear how much you were able to enjoy our rooms, location and wonderful staff members. We hope you come and visit us again soon! Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The view from our room was of the parking area/Duval Street, but if you went out on the patio you could see the ocean. The room had a an odor of cigarette smoke but guests can smoke on the balcony so I guess the smoke smell just came into this one from another guest.

Check In: No valet was outside. Wasn't really a busy time and we waited. Ok hmmm. Finally went inside and our room wasn't ready so they parked our car with the luggage in it. When it was ready later we went with the bellman to retrieve our luggage from the hotel parking area.

We had just checked out of a gorgeous ocean view room in Miami Beach and I was looking forward to our room at this hotel. I think our room was in an older part of the hotel. Also there was an odd locked part of the room. I guess a kitchenette? Not sure why it was locked. Not what I expected. After some miscommunication with availability (turned out a new room wasn't available til the next day) we were moved. The second room was what we had expected.

Food: We had breakfast on the balcony and two late meals on the balcony. The gentleman who delivered the food was excellent. He set up the table on the balcony with a white tablecloth, brought flowers and the food was delicious. Great service!

Pool: Small but really nice and overlooking the water. We watched the sunset from the pool and they did a good job of verifying quickly that we were actual guests of the hotel.

Front Desk: Pretty nice staff and helpful.

Sunset Pier: We stopped here for late lunch at check in. Our server was fabulous and we really enjoyed sitting outside for lunch. Lobster BLT was ok as was the conch fritter, but the overall atmosphere and great service was appreciated.

Valet: The front of our car when returned was covered in bird poop from the parking lot and the valet said he had tried to get some off but asked if we like it rinsed off better. We said yes, he drove the car back and did a great job getting it all off.

Housekeeping: I really liked that you had a form to fill out and hang on your door requesting a certain time for housekeeping. Service was great.

We tried to eat at the main restaurant but it was REALLY busy which was a good thing for the hotel. I suggest reservations. Never made it to the hotel bar but next time. Really nice gift shop inside the hotel and didn't use the concierge but he was always available for help.

Definitely a nice place to stay in Key West.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank SeattleD_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us here at Ocean Key. We love that you were able to take advantage of our amenities such as Sunset Pier, valet and housekeeping. Thank you again for this detailed review. We hope you stop by and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

After a long flight and drive, we arrived at 21.00, 18 April; attempted to get an evening meal; the hostess was rude and went elsewhere. The following morning the tour guide was rude! On five occasions we had to call reception because the room had not fully cleaned, coffee cups not cleaned, ice bin not cleaned, no coffee;
we spent $100 for laundry and had to ask why it had been returned to our room;
On Thursday 24th, at 19.50 we went for meal/drink at the Pier Bar (which closes at 22.00) we were refused due to a convention starting the following day. On Friday 25th we asked if we could have an early breakfast as we were leaving for Miami at 07.00. We were advised that breakfast starts at 07.30; we arrived at reception at 06.45 to see a magnificent breakfast being provided by 6 members of staff for the convention (Shell Oil) - I think the best way we could describe our feelings is - humiliated and PISSED OFF! Despite it's great location and wonderful pool and pool staff, we would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. Along with other guests that we spoke with, we felt were badly treated the staff management - second class to the Convention - and believe us we paid a lot of money for this hotel. We have let our feelings known to our travel agents, which is TRAILFINDERS.
We asked to see Johan Amneus the Assistant Manager - and we are still waiting to this day.

Room Tip: DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL unless you want bad management service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review. We want you to know that we take all of your comments seriously and will be sure to look into them right away. This is not the standard of Ocean Key. We hope that in the future you will give us another chance to show you outstanding hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed Friday to Sunday in a room on the 4th floor overlooking the pool and the harbor. The view was unmatched. Service was spectacular. The room was very well appointed an immaculate. We had a great breakfast on the balcony one morning and lunch in the Hot Tin Roof restaurant on the premises as well. Both were excellent. The hotel staff on the pool deck were great. Very attentive with cold drinks ready almost before you could ask for them. We highly recommend this place if you want to be near the action but pampered at a level more on par with a more secluded place. Best of both worlds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool and you will automatically get one with a view of the Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for your review! We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We will make sure that our staff members know how much you enjoyed their help during your stay. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our amenities such as Hot Tin Roof, our location and our landscape. Thanks again for the review and make sure you pay us a visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I've stayed at and reviewed the Ocean Key before, and I plan to stay there again on my next visit to Key West. The location is perfect, the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. We had a great view of Mallory Square and the sunsets. The staff are all friendly and helpful. But - internet access from our room was terrible. Most of our attempts to connect to the network failed, and when we were able to connect, the speed was so slow we couldn't open anything. I hope this is a temporary problem and the hotel will address it. As I said, everything else about the hotel is great, and I will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeM0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

We love our loyal visitors! We are so happy to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay with us here at Ocean Key. We will be sure to pass your comments regarding the Internet along to the appropriate people. Thank you again for this review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#9 of 51 in Key West
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $372 - $817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing