We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better late than never”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better late than never”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at ocean key in August so am a bit late writing this ( better late than never) we travelled from England and spent a week with in our two week break there. It was an amazing place we were upgraded to a suite due to it being our 20th wedding anniversary, the the room that was provided for our 2 teenage boys was also great . The staff were so friendly and could not do enough for you. The location of the hotel is amazing and duval street was great with lots of great food to be had and plenty of shopping. The harbour is lovely at night we found some great restaurants around there, the sunsets are to die for. I would happy go back here time and time again just a shame we live so far away xxx

Room Tip: We were overlooking the square and were greeted throughout the week waking up to the cruise ships th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for this great review! We are so glad you chose to stay with us for such a special occasion! Duval Street and our location always make for a great time in Key West. Our staff members are a great part of our Ocean Key family! We will be sure to tell them how much you appreciate them! Again, thank you for this review and we hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,784
    516
    174
    71
    45
See reviews for
444
1,517
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. This is a great location at the end (or beginning) of Duval St. Great for sunsets and being in the heart of Key West. Being so close to everything can have a down side - noise. Our room faced Duval St, so it was noisy into the night. The room was large, but the furniture needed cleaning and updating. If I go back I will probably choose a different property (even for such a short stay).

Room Tip: I can't give advice on how to pick a good room, but I can say do not take a room facing Duval St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DINKSrUS_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for this review. We are so glad you enjoyed our location on Duval Street! Our sunsets on Sunset Pier are some of the best! We will be sure to look into all of your recommendations for the future. Again, we thank you for this review and we hope you will choose to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdsville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My sister gave me 5 wonderful days in Key West for my birthday, It was amazing the staff at the resort, the pool, (Chris & Jessica) were the best.The resort was clean,spacious,& comfortable. We had breakfast on our balcony every morning overlooking the Ocean, The Sunset Pier Bar was great we went every night (Faith, Andy, & Zach) AWESOME!!, You have to go on the Glass Bottom Boat (Lou, a great Captain) saw Dolphins, Sea Turtles, and The Most beautiful Sunset. Everything is within walking distance, it was amazing. Mallory square very entertaining. We will be back!!
Margie & Harve

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! We are happy your birthday celebration with us turned out to be so great! We will be sure to pass along your sweet compliments to our staff members! They will be glad to know they helped make your birthday so special. Thanks again for this awesome review. We hope you will come visit us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

In choosing a place to celebrate 30 years of marriage we decided to go with a place that never disappoints. This was our third stay at The Ocean Key and we will continue to return anytime we are in Key West. Obviously the location is the first attraction, but after our first trip there we just knew that this place is the total package. A wonderful staff,great bar and restaurant and rooms with a view that is hard to beat anywhere. The added bonus this trip was our very spacious room overlooked Mallory Square. Sipping champagne and watching the sunset with all the festivities ,well it doesnt get much better. I would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Key West . Whether you are here for the great restaurant close by and the party scene on Duval St. or just a little R & R by their spectacular pool you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try and get a top floor suite overlooking Mallory Square for some lat afternoon entertainment. For s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sullyHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We love it when our guests come back for another stay! Thanks so much for writing this review. We’re so pleased to hear we were able to make your 30th anniversary a memorable one! We hope you stay with us again soon! Thank you so much for this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our 6th trip and 5th stay at the ocean key! I cannot say enough good things about this place! We also got upgraded to a full ocean view suite with additional bedroom and spa tub! Service is extra friendly and helpful. Rooms are cozy (doesn't feel like a standard hotel room) and they are clean as well as the rest of the resort. The pool is super relaxing and overlooks the ocean to make you feel like your in it. Breakfast doesn't get any better than the view from The Hot Tin Roof! Located at the end of Duval street easy access to everything without a rental car! Will always be our #1 place to stay in Key West, FL!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for writing this wonderful review! We’re so happy you enjoyed our friendly staff, the cozy rooms, and the amazing amenities. Again, thank you for writing this review and we hope you stay with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this place! We got upgraded to a full ocean view room at no extra charge and the sunset from our private balcony was breathtaking! It is right on the ocean right next to Mallory Square evening festivities and overlooks the pier restaurant. The room was enormous, clean and very modernly decorated. It was walking distance to everything. We were celebrating my husband's 45th birthday and had a fantastic time. We only wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for this kind review! We are so glad that you had such a great time with us! We are happy to hear that our rooms, locations and amenities helped make your stay that much better! Thanks again for this review, and we are glad to hear your husband’s 45th birthday was fantastic! Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I were in Key West late September. We had not made reservations and decided to just wing it. The hotel turned out to be pleasantly surprising and a great find. The staff were very accommodating and the room was spectacular! Our room had vaulted ceilings, super clean, great bed and comfortable living space, plus a balcony with an amazing view of the ocean. They were also quite reasonable compared to the opposite side of the island, almost half the nightly rate. The location is perfect and quiet, considering it's near the party end of Duvall. The pool overlooks the ocean and has 3 cabanas, for those who want to be out of the sun. Don't waste your money on the pool bar food, rather sit just outside the pool area and order from there. There is a restaurant on premise called Hot Tin Roof; we ate there for dinner and breakfast, both were good. We ordered what is called "Sataki" and it's the fresh catch of the day on skewers and you cook it yourself on a small fire grill. Lobster mac was nothing special. Great breakfast and the atmosphere looking over the ocean is breath taking. Convenient to everything and there's a small general store just next door. There is a $25 valet charge daily and of course. you will be charged for any amenities (drinks in room refrigerator) that you use, we just bought our own. However, they do supply you with quite an assortment if you don't mind paying extra for the convenience. Marguerite G.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marguerite G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! We are so happy to hear that our hotel was a great find for you! We are glad to hear that our location, pool, and your room helped to improve your stay! We are grateful for this review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.0 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#18 of 51 in Key West
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing