We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary with a 3 night stay at this resort. The staff is amazing, our room was incredible (pricey but well worth it). We had room 516, it has to be the best view I have ever experienced. You will not regret booking here! My only complaint, and it is trivial, is the elevator is like a sauna, we were on the 5th floor and we couldn't get out of the elevator fast enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeniseFrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

“Awesome” is always a word we love to hear! Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. We strive to provide our guests with the best experience possible, and it sounds like we were able to provide you with just that. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,606)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Key Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,483 of 2,607 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was our second visit to Ocean Key Resort, we plan to keep going back. Their staff is terrific, they make the experience superb. Not only do we want to return, we have no desire to think about staying elsewhere. The staff and resort have earned that.

The Ocean Key Resort presents each guest with an array of specialists there to make your stay enjoyable. Many hotels have nameless, faceless people responding when you have an issue. The Ocean Key Resort staff work proactively, ask you how things are going, if there is anything they can do during each interaction with you (even on the elevator). Every one works very hard to make you feel at home, and bring warmth and friendliness along with their hard work. Yes, the staff makes sure we know all of them on a first name basis and we enjoy and appreciate their friendship.

So the staff is superb. Now the location. You can’t beat this location, its close to all of the action in Key West, all within a short walk down the street. Somehow being in the heart of lively Key West, the hotel grounds and pool still feel like an oasis. The restaurant staff prepare wonderful meals, which are served in a wonderful restaurant, served out on the sunset pier, and served at the pool (brought right to your pool chair if you want). I give this hotel the highest rating in each area and across the board.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConchCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We are so glad to hear that, not only were you a returning guest, but you plan on visiting us again! We’re always happy to hear that our staff helped to give you such an enjoyable experience, and we appreciate you letting us know you felt cared for. Thanks for the great review, and we can’t wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

By far our best trip to Key West yet! The hotel is in a great location at 0 Duval St. and walking distance from just about everything. The staff is pleasant, accommodating and genuine. We had a great room (310) and if you ever have a chance to get a room in this category it is well worth whatever the price is. We had a great view that overlooked Sunset Pier and could get from our room to Duval St. in about 1.5 minutes.

Hot Tin Roof was the most enjoyable dining experience we had on our trip and Sunset pier is the best place to view a sunset and enjoy a drink before you start your night!

I would recommend this to anyone going to Key West!

Room Tip: If you can swing the $ get the two room suite! Great views, bathroom amenities and facilities, comfo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for sharing. We are honored that you consider this your best Key West trip yet! We agree- our convenient location makes it easy to enjoy everything the island has to offer. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experiences at Hot Tin Roof and the Sunset Pier. Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location of this hotel is what caught our attention. You are close to a lot of great places to eat, see, and things to do. Our room on the 2nd floor was very noisy though. Apparently our center way was a common wall for the plumbing for rooms above us. We knew when people were showering or other. The staff was great and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks for commenting. We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location. There is so much to see and do! We apologize that the plumbing bothered you during your stay. However, we hope that you had a great vacation at Ocean Key. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were looking for a special place to celebrate our daughters wedding. Just us parents. We thought we deserved a honeymoon-like getaway too, after all we did for our kids.

We arrived and were promptly greeted at our vehicle, luggage unloaded by staff, vehicle valet parked, and were in our room in less than 15 minutes. We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, opened windows allowing fresh air in, and overall loveliness of the room. The entire resort area is pristine. Staff VERY attentive. Room service excellent. Cleaning service superb. Best views of the sunset in Key West!

Room Tip: choose a room on a corner facing the water.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. You are right; a honeymoon-type vacation is exactly what you deserved! We are delighted that you chose to stay at Ocean Key. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Arrived at Ocean Key and thought it looked great, very tropical and bright. Car was taken away quickly and we went to check in, which was friendly and efficient. Our room was overlooking Mallory Square, but the ocean was blocked out by two enormous cruise liners which made the room very dark .....The room itself was spacious, but looked like it could do with redecorating, and also the interconnecting doors were so thin that we could take part in the conversation going on next door. We went to ask if we could change rooms and were told that we would have to stay one night, but we could move the next day, so,we agreed that. Had a dreadful nights sleep a. because next door's light was shining under the interconnecting doors; b. we could hear them coughing and snoring; and c. the roosters started up at 3 am!!!! The latter was not the hotels problem, however, but common all over the island.. Finally when we did get up there were 2 new cruise ships arrived, and also our hot water system was not working........we were very glad to change rooms but annoyed that we had had to put up with one night of,poor quality expensive accommodation. However, the new room was overlooking Duval St, same size and category of room but light, bright and airy, and with a slightly different layout to our previous room, with the sitting area separate from the bedroom,and an enormous jacuzzi bath in the bedroom. And we couldn't hear the roosters! We ate at the Hot Tin Roof which was excellent, both food wise and service wise. The pool area looked very pleasant with plenty of sunbeds, but we didn't use it as we were out most of the day. Lots to look at, right on Sunset Pier which was a fun place, with food and drinks. The hotel shop had a fantastic selection of well priced clothing and accessories and nice staff. The lady concierge was excellent and got us some good dinner reservations. In fact all the staff that we met were friendly and if they could help, they would. Our stay started off a disappointment, but by the end of our 3 night stay we had really enjoyed ourselves,, and we are coming back in December with our grown up kids for a longer stay.
.

Room Tip: Mallory Sq rooms overlook car park and also cruise liners block view and light. Duval St view great...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennydecember12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that you were not satisfied with your initial room. However, we are pleased that this issue was sorted out! We are delighted that you enjoyed your second room. Also, we are thrilled that you enjoyed Hot Tin Roof and the Sunset Pier. Your feedback is appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in December!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I just got married on the Ocean Front Terrace and had our reception on their pier, and the staff was simply amazing. The only day this spring there was a torrential downpour, and the staff had taken care of every angle, they were wonderful! Beautiful rooms with great views, and phenomenal food, both at the Hot Tin Roof and from room service!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing. Congratulations on your recent wedding! We are delighted that you chose to celebrate such a special event at Ocean Key. We are ecstatic that you had such a special day- despite the rain. We hope to see you in the near future to celebrate an anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#17 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $333 - $995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing