We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got better after first day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Got better after first day”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Arrived at Ocean Key and thought it looked great, very tropical and bright. Car was taken away quickly and we went to check in, which was friendly and efficient. Our room was overlooking Mallory Square, but the ocean was blocked out by two enormous cruise liners which made the room very dark .....The room itself was spacious, but looked like it could do with redecorating, and also the interconnecting doors were so thin that we could take part in the conversation going on next door. We went to ask if we could change rooms and were told that we would have to stay one night, but we could move the next day, so,we agreed that. Had a dreadful nights sleep a. because next door's light was shining under the interconnecting doors; b. we could hear them coughing and snoring; and c. the roosters started up at 3 am!!!! The latter was not the hotels problem, however, but common all over the island.. Finally when we did get up there were 2 new cruise ships arrived, and also our hot water system was not working........we were very glad to change rooms but annoyed that we had had to put up with one night of,poor quality expensive accommodation. However, the new room was overlooking Duval St, same size and category of room but light, bright and airy, and with a slightly different layout to our previous room, with the sitting area separate from the bedroom,and an enormous jacuzzi bath in the bedroom. And we couldn't hear the roosters! We ate at the Hot Tin Roof which was excellent, both food wise and service wise. The pool area looked very pleasant with plenty of sunbeds, but we didn't use it as we were out most of the day. Lots to look at, right on Sunset Pier which was a fun place, with food and drinks. The hotel shop had a fantastic selection of well priced clothing and accessories and nice staff. The lady concierge was excellent and got us some good dinner reservations. In fact all the staff that we met were friendly and if they could help, they would. Our stay started off a disappointment, but by the end of our 3 night stay we had really enjoyed ourselves,, and we are coming back in December with our grown up kids for a longer stay.
.

Room Tip: Mallory Sq rooms overlook car park and also cruise liners block view and light. Duval St view great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennydecember12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that you were not satisfied with your initial room. However, we are pleased that this issue was sorted out! We are delighted that you enjoyed your second room. Also, we are thrilled that you enjoyed Hot Tin Roof and the Sunset Pier. Your feedback is appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,730
    499
    167
    68
    42
See reviews for
419
1,471
38
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just got married on the Ocean Front Terrace and had our reception on their pier, and the staff was simply amazing. The only day this spring there was a torrential downpour, and the staff had taken care of every angle, they were wonderful! Beautiful rooms with great views, and phenomenal food, both at the Hot Tin Roof and from room service!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing. Congratulations on your recent wedding! We are delighted that you chose to celebrate such a special event at Ocean Key. We are ecstatic that you had such a special day- despite the rain. We hope to see you in the near future to celebrate an anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland Key, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Upon arrival at Zero Duval Street you will realize that Ocean Key Resort is a peaceful retreat where you leave your cares at the door and begin to enjoy Paradise! The Valet will greet you cheerfully ( Sam ) and whisk away your bags, cooler and any other paraphernalia that you feel you might need......you really only need you, and some lightweight, casual clothes, flip flops and a bathing suit because everything else is provided for you! Checkin is hassle free and The staff are happy to serve you! Really!
Your beautifully decorated suite with balcony will delight you and you might not want to leave it as you have room service, impeccable maid service, large screen TV's, comfy couches, chairs and inside/outside dining tables. There is a credenza with coffee service, refrigerator and ice bucket with glasses. The staff will get you anything that you need, happily! The bathroom is to die for with huge shower, huge jetted tub and 2 bowl sinks with great spa products scented with coconut and mango! Soooo enjoyable! Wait till you lie on the perfect bed and wonderful pillows, you will think "heaven"!
Get room service for breakfast.....I repeat, get room breakfast service, it was terrific! Put out the menu you want the nite before and it will come, on time, hot and delicious from Hot Tin Roof, your restaurant on the grounds! The Liquid Lounge at the pool is refreshing, there are cabanas at the pool and plenty of lounge chairs and great staff to assist you to enjoy your day at the beautiful pool and large Hottub.
The view is fabulous, Sunset Pier is a fun place to watch the Sunset with food and drinks or just enjoy the music and Sunset from your balcony. Hot Tin Roof is a great Key West Restaurant and so pretty at nite for a delicious, romantic dinner. The Resort has a very nice gift shop with beautiful clothing, ect. In the Lobby! Also enjoyable is the iced cucumber and lemon waters after a stroll around Key West! The Ocean Key Resort has thought of everything I would ever need, it was hard to return to reality!
Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a west facing room for a view of Key West harbor, Sunset and Sunset Pier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimandNancie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled that you had such a lovely stay at Ocean Key. Our team members strive to assist our guests in any way possible. They wish to provide our vacationers with the perfect Key West experience! Also, we are delighted that you enjoyed our grounds, amenities, and restaurants. Although it is hard to face reality, we will be here eagerly awaiting your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were looking for a location to stay at while in Key West and happened to find the Ocean Key in a search of locations. Upon arriving at the Ocean Key, we were just awestruck. It is located right at end of Duval Street, by the water. Our room was just beautiful, located overlooking the square. It is just a wonderful hotel, beautiful and romantic--too bad we had brought our son with us...Right in the midst of great restaurants, bars and fun.
My wife being in the travel business has allowed us the opportunity to visit some fabulous properties; this one rates way up there! I would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for commenting. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time at Ocean Key. Our location is perfect for enjoying everything Key West has to offer! There truly is so much to see and do. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and we hope to welcome you back for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Wife and I have stayed here many times in our 30+ visits to KW - including 2 Fantasy Fest stays. Though pricey, this hotel cannot be beat for location, quality, and personality. The unique and beautifully appointed rooms with ocean views are spectacular. Not your standard Westin or Hyatt (and we have stayed at both in KW along with the disappointing Pier House). A very well maintained property and professionally run. Even during the 'misdemeanor craziness' of Fantasy Fest, the property was a peaceful and relaxing break from the Duval chaos.

The restaurant was excellent and the attached pier with music and tiki type bar a great place to 'start' an evening. You'll pay a few extra bucks to stay here but it's WELL worth it. Easily beats any hotel on the 'fun' end of Duval and only very short walk over to the interesting historic seaport.

Though the Westin is nice, as is the Hyatt, they simply don't offer what Ocean Key can - perfect location, unique and beautiful rooms, an incredible view, and a well run and maintained property. Aviod the Pier House - disappointed twice. Relax, let your hair down and have FUN.

Room Tip: Request as high a room as possible. Ocean front the best or as close as possible. Overlooking Mall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tblshkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We love to hear from our returning customers! We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your multiple stays at Ocean Key. We try to provide the ultimate vacation atmosphere for each of our guests! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went last year in May to Key West supposedly to stay at a 5 star hotel Ocean Key Resort and Spa. Not at all. Every single day I would have to ask for toilet paper there was never an extra roll around totally unlike a 5 star. Also our docking station never worked so there went our music in the room. After I told Management they said they would send someone they never came. I stay a week. So this year I am staying at a Bed and Breakfast The Artist House on Fleming Street on May 17 can't wait I have heard such great things about it and it does not need to be a 5 star it needs to be clean and pleasant. I am so excited stay tuned I will write a review about it when I get back May 23.

Room Tip: There are so many places to stay don't be fooled by the 5 star Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 08859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing. We apologize that your experience at Ocean Key did not exceed your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated and will be considered when making future improvements to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel when we headed to Key West without a plan. We are so lucky. The rooms are quaint and well appointed. The spa is relaxing and the technicians are good. The food is down right delicious.

Huge fan overall and would recommend this as a lovely romantic Key West giveaway in a truly great location. We will return and hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Ask for one with the sunset view, it is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for commenting. We are thrilled that you stumbled upon Ocean Key! You are right, our convenient location makes it easy to experience everything Key West has to offer. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#19 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing