We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunset spectacular”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location of Ocean Key Resort and Spa is perfect at the end of Duval St. Quiet but close enough to the action on Mallory Sq. The food at the restaurant, The Hot Tin Roof, is superb as is the ambiance. The staff at the hotel and restaurant are excellent and very friendly. We plan on returning and will recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeFortMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review. It sounds like you had a wonderful Key West vacation, and we're so honored that you spent it with us. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,784
    516
    174
    71
    45
See reviews for
444
1,517
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Awesome location, great ammentities, fabulous staff. Very accommodating, and a fantastic chef. And don't forget the adjacent pier....Sunset Pier !...................Unbelievable.!!!!!!!!!!! Rege bands, big drinks, ice cold beer, the best "chicken wings" I've ever eaten.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacko86Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing a review. We're thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful experience at Ocean Key Resort and Sunset Pier, too! We appreciate your feedback, and we hope that you are able to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We adore this hotel! The staff is AWESOME! They remember us every time we stay with them and always take such good care of us! Its location is perfectly placed with Duval Street on one side and Mallory Square on the other! If they're not completely booked up and your lucky enough to have a room facing the sunset & Mallory Sq. you'll have the best view on the island! The rooms are well decorated- very islandy. The room service is fantastic - Paul is the best! The people who work in this hotel are 5 star all the way! This hotel is one of the nicest on the island and we're the type of people that stay at the Ritz. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarai987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation with us. We appreciate you coming to see us again! Our team members are fantastic- they aim to provide the utmost vacation experience for all of our guests. Ocean Key is lucky to be in the middle of the action. A sunset at Mallory Square is one of our favorite activities on the island! We value your glowing review and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The perfect combination of a location in the middle of it all, but quiet enough to have total peace when you want it. Steps from Key West's main vein of activity - Duval Street, and lose to shops, restaurants and the bar scene.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celt16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for commenting. You are absolutely right, we are right in the middle of everything Key West has to offer! We are pleased that you find our location convenient to Duval Street, yet relaxing. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stunning setting at the end of Duval St, with the hotel's own Sunset Bar and pier a great feature.
Reception area quite pleasant, but check-in process rather off-hand. No explanation of hotel facilities(eg pool, spa restaurants), location or opening times. However the porter/valet who helped with our luggage was friendly.
The hotel is built around landscaped courtyards and is very attractively done.
We had booked a "Superior Grade" room. Our room on the top floor was fairly small in area, but with an enormous vaulted ceiling, large four-poster bed, small balcony and great views. We saw other rooms that were much larger. It was clean and comfortable but not luxurious.
The shower was over an enormous bath-tub which was quite a challenge to climb into. I think quite dangerous for children or older people.
We wanted to get a drink and a snack after our long journey (this was about 8 pm). We went to the Sunset Bar on the pier and waited some time until a waitress came and said they were closed. In the end, as we didn't want a full restaurant meal, we ate some breadsticks with a glass of wine in the inside bar.
For breakfast we visited "Two Friends" restaurant across the road from hotel. Very good food, service and value.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in Key West very much. The hotel is very well designed and located, but would be even nicer with better service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieC226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and overall design of Ocean Key. Also, we are happy that you enjoyed your balcony and views. Your feedback is greatly appreciated- we value each of our guests’ opinions. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just returned from our annual trip to the Ocean Key. We had a fantastic time! The hotel staff is accommodating and friendly. When we arrive Hugo is there to greet us with a warm welcoming smile. April, Jen, Chris and Nate at the pool make a day at the pool even more fun and relaxing. Key West is a fantastic place and the Ocean Key adds to the charm!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for visiting us again. We are delighted that you enjoyed your annual vacation! Our team members are top-notch and are happy to help our guests in any way! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time in Key West. We are eagerly anticipating next year’s visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We asked for oceanfront for our 25 Wedding anniversary and we got a room that all we saw were palm trees and super noisy on the 3floor. The manager was super nice after he found out what we paid on Expedia and changed us to the 5th floor after the first night and it was better . They charge you for everything: parking, the water, it's valet so you have to tip every time you take your car out for what we paid these items should be included way overprized.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ONI53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.0 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#18 of 51 in Key West
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing