We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Wonderful Staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
virginia beach
1 review
“Great Hotel, Wonderful Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We have traveled to KW many times over the years, but this last trip we were lucky enough to stay at Ocean Key for the first time & undoubtly it was our favorite trip to KW!! Johan (the assistant general manager) was extraordinary in accomodating our needs for the trip!! He went above & beyond in catering to us! We traveled with our two year old son--between the spacious room, the fantastic pool & ideal location---our son wanted for nothing & could not have been happier! Every interaction we had with staff was superb! From the front desk, to valet, to housekeeping (Lola was so nice & loved our son!)---it was fantastic. I would love to stay with Ocean Key again---and would definately ask for a room on the 5th floor!

Room Tip: Loved staying on the 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athomas_oceankey, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear andrea k,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We're so happy that you and your family enjoyed all the amenities that we had to offer! We look forward to having you all back soon to enjoy more time with us! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,700
    492
    166
    66
    41
See reviews for
414
1,441
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited Ocean Key Resort and Spa this April. We eagerly looked forward to the trip because we heard so many wonderful things about the resort and staff. During our stay we encountered some issues like a broken room air conditioning unit, bathroom vanity items not being replaced and resort staff telling us that they didn't have umbrellas to lend guests during a tropical downpour. Overall, the oceanview rooms are spacious with tremendous views and the resort location is central to Duvall Street and Mallory Square. If you are looking for a spot with a great view and close to the action then this is your spot.

Lastly, we expressed our concern with some of the customer service and lodging issues to the assistant general manager. He promptly apologized then assured us that these issues were not acceptable and that he would ensure that these issues don't happen to future guests. After e-mail conversations with the assistant general manager and his commitment to customer service we committed to returning to Ocean Key Resort next Spring. Thank you for your commintment to customer satisfaction.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Joann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisades Traveler
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

My family just got back from 4 nights at this great hotel. It not fancy but the Best location. We had a beautiful two bedroom ocean view suite with a great sunset view. Top floor and pricey.

We had a problem with the evening entertainment on the pier in front of our room. Some guy screaming mo town music at sunset. I emailed the manager and the addressed the issue the same day, thanks ocean key !

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TfhPalisades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athomas_oceankey, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear tfhPalisades,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our ocean view suite! We're glad that we could quickly take care of that issue for you. We hope you can come back and see us again soon to enjoy more beautiful sunsets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel is top notch and the Sunset Pier bar is the best view in town, the sunset is exceptional. And thanks to my bartender Al who gave great service every day that I was there,,, this resort is unrivaled. I stayed in room 419 and the view was perfect, this was my 5th time staying at Ocean Key and all my stays there have been the same.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Da B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athomas_oceankey, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Da B,

Thank you so much for writing this review! We're honored that you have chosen to stay with us so many times! We hope you can come enjoy more time at the Sunset Pier Bar during visit number 6 soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to stay while in Key West Florida this resort should be at the top of your list. The address says it all, Zero Duval St. The hotel staff was warm, helpful and welcoming. Matt from the front desk was great!! The location is amazing, next to Mallory Sq. and all the action on Duval St. Our room was well appointed and looked out over the Atlantic and Gulf. The Mini-Bar was a little excessive. $39 for 1/5 of Grey Goose was a bit much. $37 for Bombay Sapphire!! Besides the mini bar prices everything was of great quality. We will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amstel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athomas_oceankey, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Amstel4,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're so happy that you choose to stay with us on your trips to Key West! We appreciate your feedback about the Mini-bar and will be sure to pass it along! We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Ocean Key Resort is my favorite hotel on Key West. It is just as beautiful as the pictures showed online. The views are unbeatable and the food in the restaurant is top notch! We stayed in 525 over-looking the bay/mallory square and we could not have been more pleased.

The staff is warm and welcoming as well. We loved it and we WILL return!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view or at least partial water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamieathena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athomas_oceankey, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear jamieathena,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in room 525. We hope you can come back and enjoy more of the unbeatable views again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Ocean Key Hotel is located right on the water adjacent to Mallory Square. You have a beautiful view of the sunset from the private pool that is elevated just enough to see over the people on the square. The pool bar is terrific and the staff is very helpful and friendly. We had a great breakfast in the Hotel restaurant. Our Jr. Suite was a perfect size for our party of 3 adults and we had a nice balcony with table and chairs that we enjoyed each evening. A small coffee pot and hair dryer were in the room. The bathroom was huge with an extra large shower and an extremely large and deep tub. The price is a little steep but the convenient location and large room was worth the cost.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pink303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athomas_oceankey, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear pink303

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We love that you enjoyed your time at the pool and all the amenities we have to offer! We hope that you can come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#15 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#4 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing