We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$286
$242
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$431
$354
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$354
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$402
$364
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$350
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Havana Cabana Key West(Key West)(Great Value!)
$277
$175
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Key Cottages(Key West)
$1,019
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,759)
Filter reviews
2,759 results
Traveler rating
1,907
545
183
76
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,907
545
183
76
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset pierhot tin roofmallory squareliquid loungenoble housejunior suiteend of duval streetwatched the sunsetperfect locationpartial ocean viewwhirlpool tubcruise shippool staffoverlooking the waterocean frontsunset celebrationfrozen towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,961 - 1,966 of 2,759 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Ocean Key Resort has the perfect location and atmosphere. All the fun and excitement of Mallory Square and Duval Street are right around the corner, yet the hotel could not be more peaceful. Beautiful view of the Gulf from the pool, Sunset Pier, and your rooms. Hot Tin Roof, the hotel restaurant, has a wonderful view of the Gulf as well that you can enjoy while eating breakfast, lunch or dinner. The staff is very friendly and attentive to all your needs and the rooms are beautiful! This was our first time in Key West and it was a wonderful experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnat2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athomas_oceankey, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Dear MdPeeps,

Thank you for writing this fantastic review. We're happy to read that your stay was a great one. It sounds like you got to take part in many activities during your visit. We're glad you were able to enjoy some pool time, shopping, and even some sight-seeing. It's also great that you got to see some of our friendly critters, as well! Thank you for recommending us and we hope you'll come back to see us again
soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

we checked-in on Thanksgiving day for a 3 night stay. We had AMEX Plat make the reservations and they advised the resort that we were celebrating our anniversary. I also called the resort twice and advised them of this. Not once, was this event recognized during our stay, nothing. We were paying for an Ocean View Boutique Suite, at an average of $624++ per night. You would think someone would have said, hey.I see you are here for your anniversary, or something. NOPE.

PROS:
the drinks at the sunset pier bar were good. It obviously gets very crowded towards sunset, but our room overlooked the ocean and Mallory Square so not an issue leaving with a drink and going back to our balcony to watch sunset from there.

The food @ Hot Tin Roof was good (breakfast)
The room service was really good, so everything we tried, food and beverages were good.

The room was spacious, nice view, large bathroom.

Bed was comfy, sheets were soft,

Staff was friendly.

CONS:
AGAIN for $624++ these are all CONS:
We were told to leave our bags in the car until room was ready, that the car would be taken by the valet into their "secure parking area". Well, we noticed that ANYONE from the Sunset Pier which is open to the public can walk right through the car park and there is NO SECRURITY at all back there. For 4 days we watched people walk through there, so DO NOT leave anything in your vehicle, no matter what they tell you.

The towels, were thin and scratchy, like you would find at a Holiday Inn. Not for this price, did we expect that.

The toilet paper was like sandpaper, single ply. Really bad for the $$.

The toiletries provided were obviously not replenished from the previous guests, as almost all 4 were only 1/4 full and open. Really, for the $$ we couldn't get our own new bottles? When I asked, the housekeeper didn't understand me. And no, she was not hispanic, Most are Eastern European and dont understand English.

The sofa in the suite is SUPER umcomfortable and we couldn't sit for too long before your back started to hurt.

The A/C vents only hit the part of the suite which has the sofa, so the bed area gets warm really quick with no ceiling fan there. Poorly set up.

The pillow cases were on the pillows inside out, kind of strange...

Also, no Do Not Disturb sign in the room, and the housekeeper had no idea what I was asking for.

All - in all a good stay, as the location is good, but they need to step it up a notch for the prices they are charging.

did not have dinner at Hot Tin Roof as it was closed for a wedding.

Room Tip: due to time change the sunset directly in front of our balcony, but better rooms overlook the ocean direct, and not mallory square, that way, you avoid possibly having cruise ship right in front of you.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trvlchnnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athomas_oceankey, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Dear rvlchnl,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to hear that you feel as though your Ocean Key experience did not meet your full expectations. We take your feedback very seriously, and always want to hear from all of our guests. We'd love the opportunity to learn more so that we
could work on improving. If you may please email us at generalmanager@OceanKey.com with further details, we'd love to address these issues. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that overall, you had a wonderful anniversary with your wife. We will be contacting you shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This hotel is in arguably one of the best locations in all of Key West. It's at the tip of Duval Street, right on the water with views of the most exciting and beautiful time of day in all of Key West: Sunset.
The hotel's rooms are gorgeous. They're what I would call a modern Hemingway style, with whites, corals and blues throughout. The pool is one of the best features of this hotel, as are the Hot Tin Roof restaurant and the Sunset Pier located just outside. The pool overlooks the ocean, and the decor around the pool cabanas and bar is also quite beautiful.
The location of the hotel is also nice because while you're just steps away from all of the nightlife on Duval and Mallory Square, you're also just far enough away to get some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaureninAspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Dear Laureninvail17,
Thank you for writing this fantastic review! We are so pleased to read that you had a wonderful time during your stay with us. We agree that the location of the resort isn’t anything you can find anywhere else in Key West. We’re happy you were able to enjoy the beautiful sunset overlooking the water from the resort. We hope you’ll come back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

A great find @ the end of Duval Street. Stayed in a really beautiful suite overlooking Sunset Pier and the Gulf. If you want the music and nite life of Duval - it's just around the corner to the right...Malory Square @ Sunset - make a left...prefer the quiet of Gulf - sit on the balcony or by the pool right in front of you..
The staff couldn't be more accommodating, the resort is expertly maintained and we will be back!

Room Tip: Suites in the newer wing have the best view of the Gulf but there is a bit of "tolerable" noise from Sunset Pier that ends after sunset....
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tery_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Dear Tery_Dave,
Thank you for writing this wonderful review! We’re happy to read you got the perfect mix of fun and relaxation during your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about the stay and maintenance of the resort. Thank you for providing tips to our future guests. We’re sure it will help them immensely. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Just had my wedding at the Ocean Key Resort and Spa! It was absolutely amazing. Stephanie and Katherine the coordinators were so helpful! The rooms were spacious and very nice. The location is awesome except for the noise but that is unavoidable! I would highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Every room is great!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megansbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Dear Megansbyrd,
Thank you for writing this wonderful review! We are so happy to hear about how amazing and beautiful your wedding was! We are proud that you chose us as your venue. We appreciate your kind words about Stephanie and Katherine. We will surely pass them along. We hope you’ll come back again for your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews