We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Lost”
Review of The Paradise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Paradise Inn
Ranked #15 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I deliberately waited a few weeks before reviewing this property so that I would be more objective and less emotional. But alas, the passage of time has not changed a thing. I am simply sad about the changes that have happened to this property. It used to be a shining jewel in Key West because it was taken care of meticulously and the staff was wonderful to the guests. Then The Paradise Inn was sold and everything changed. I stayed there with my family in December around the Christmas holiday. The room charge was outrageous and this place is not worth it at all. The grounds are not as clean as they once were and the rooms are not as bright and shiny and need some TLC. This is all stuff that could be forgiven but what really irked me was how horribly rude and uncaring the staff was. Not just one person, but the two that I had contact with during our three day stay. How to describe them? Uncaring, bored, rude, unsmiling, cold jerks. How difficult would it have been for these staff members to be warm and helpful to the guests? I cannot understand why it is so difficulty for people to be kind to others. These people are in the hospitality industry but were better suited for the funeral business. Many tripadvisor reviewers have said the same thing and I cannot believe that the owner just doesn't seem to care that their establishment is being pulled down because of the employees. I guess they just don't care. So unfortunately I will never stay at The Paradise Inn again during my Key West vacations. Instead I will find a place where they are actually FRIENDLY!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cosmic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,190 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2011

The Paradise Inn felt like a lush garden oasis tucked in off the street, yet is central enough to walk anywhere.

The room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. In December it was perfect to open the plantation shutters and let the cross breeze through to cool the room.

The hot tub was a wonderful reprieve after a full day of walking, eating, and general overindulgence.

I only wish I had more time to spend there relaxing by the pool, in the room, our on the balcony.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

One block away from Duval Street (the main street in Key West), Paradise Inn is a hidden jewel. Quiet, despite its proximity to the center, the hotel offers a choice of villas and rooms. The villas are spacious, well-equiped and have wifi. The staff was courteous, especially the Swedish general manager. Finally, the big plus is the parking that very few hotels offer in Key West.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricMiamiBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

First time in Key West, but i'll be back very soon and the Paradise Inn contributed to that! The friendliness of a particular staff member leaves somethin to be desired but other than that no other complaints..rooms were small, yet wonderful and have a lot of taste. The hottub/pool area is both pretty quiet and quite pretty. The front desk guy happily let us put our luggage in the back room before check in to go walk around the city and visit everything. Nice noon check out and what more could you ask for? Head a few blocks to BO's fishwagon, grab a fried grouper sandwich and a beer and you cant go wrong. Very very satisfied group of 4.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djdessakill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We have stayed at the Paradise Inn on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed. This small historic inn is beautifully landscaped with a pool and hot tub nestled in the trees. Individual bungalows and spacious well appointed rooms all have access to outdoor balconies or decks with seating. There is parking behind a security gate (rare in old town Key West). Complimentary continental breakfast is offered in the morning, with wine and cheese offered in the afternoon. The rooms we have stayed in each had a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker, as well as a vanity sink in addition to the bathroom. All of this is just one block from Duval St. It is approx a 5min walk to either Mallory Square or the historic marina, a 10 min walk to the beaches on the Atlantic side.

Room Tip: The full suites are a great bargain, and the rooms closest to the pool are furthest from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlgSanPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

The Paradise Inn is located very close to Duval, and is within walking distance to just about every major attratcion in downtown. The rooms are very well apportioned and comfortable. Overall, this is one of the nicer properties at which we have the pleasure of staying. If you are looking for a great spot for a Key West getaway, look no further!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parrotheadlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

My wife and I were very happy with the accomodations here. Rooms were very clean; we had the full suite which was quite large for Key West. The pool and hottub were very nice. The breakfast items were basic, no waffle iron or eggs and bacon - just continental items but the wine in the afternoon made up for that. Being on Simonton rather than Duval, It's location is phenomenal if you are looking for quiet time, and it is about halfway between Mallory Sq and Southernmost Point. We definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: Full Suite is more than large enough for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 24GordonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#24 of 77 in Key West
1,559 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#23 of 77 in Key West
1,610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Palms Inn
Silver Palms Inn
#11 of 51 in Key West
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paradise Inn

Address: 819 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-7445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $278 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Paradise Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Paradise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paradise Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing