We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for our Destination Wedding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Suites Key West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Suites Key West
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Edgewood, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place for our Destination Wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

My husband and I were married in Key West on 10/10/10 on Smathers Beach. We stayed at the Sheraton from October 7-14. We had about 50 guests attend the wedding and they all stayed at the Sheraton as well. After the ceremony, we literally walked right across the street to the hotel where we had the reception. We chose the outside pool deck area which was perfect. We had chosen a buffet style dinner and everybody raved about how great all of the food was. My dad said that he thought the beef was the best he had ever had. The buffet also included Key Lime Pie and chocolate cake. People kept telling me how great the Key Lime pie was and I never heard a word about how good the special wedding cake was that we ordered. We had also eaten some breakfasts as well as a lunch or two at the hotel. And all of the food was great!
Our room was very large and very nice! When we got to our room after checking in, they had a bottle of champage and chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us, along with a very nice welcome note. We had an ocean view room and it was great getting up in the morning and looking out the window at the beautiful Smathers Beach. We slept great! The beds were very comfy. Our room was cleaned every day and the staff was all very nice and accomodating. I really enjoyed the coffee/tea maker in the rooms! We really loved the location. It was so nice to have access to a great swimming pool at the hotel as well as having the beach right across the street. It would have been nice to have been a little closer to Old Town, but the free shuttle was great and we took advantage of it often!
As usual, we ran into some minor issues here and there. But with the help of Bob Grossman, Mo Khan and Carly Risko Rowland, they made sure that everything was well taken care of for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially for those getting married on Smathers Beach! It was so worth it not having to provide transportation for everybody to and from the ceremony.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nichall10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    847
    290
    119
    93
See reviews for
799
864
41
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
magrath, ab
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

The hotel was decorated beautifully for X-mas and I loved the Palm trees with Christmas lights! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rate was what is to be expected for Key West, right by the airport! The beach is across the street from the hotel with multiple activities for one to participate in.
Since the hotel is out of the was a smidge, they offer shuttles, numerous shuttles to all the hot spots in Key West.
The rooms were beautiful, and very clean, unless you looked directly behind the toilet, which could use a little extra scrubbing.
I would stay here again, tomorrow!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkroe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

Just returned from a 5day stay. We really loved our stay and would recommend this hotel to all. Hotel seems to be recently renovated or updated. Even though it was just the two of us, we could see this hotel is great for families too. Rooms were very large, modern and clean. Encluded in our king suite was kitchenette with sink, cabinets, fridge, one cup coffee maker with starbucks coffees and cups, wooden dinette with chairs. We noticed the couch pulled out for an extra bed with it's own tv. Bedroom also had its own tv. Double access to large stone bathroom with lots of cabinets for storing clothing/bags, Iron/board, private toilet, safe. We absolutly loved the salt water pool with waterfall, hottub, and lots of chairs and shade for all. Onsite open air bar. Restaurant with inside a/c or outdoor seating overlooking the pool. Hotel is located directly across from Smathers beach were you can rent chairs and water toys. Hotel does offer onsite parking however island does provide hourly shuttles. The Key West airport is about a 2-5min drive from hotel, however it didn't affect our time there. Hotel is not within walking distance to Davall St. or other restaurants/shopping. We booked our trip on priceline.com and really was not sure what to expect and as you can see we were very surprised and happy.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhodeIslandBlinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
One person from one world
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

The room was fine, spacious and clean and it is literally right across the street from the beach. I would give it 4 stars but there where a number of little problems. The free wifi signal was very weak, couldn't pick it up at all on my new 4G phone, barely on laptop, AC was fine during the day but the room got warm at night (warm enough to have to get up and find thermostat to turn it down, still didn't cool off), was directed to entrance near our room - the elevator, ice machine and vending machines in that area where all "out of order", no wash cloths provided. There small problems but they add up. I also thought it was odd when I called the front desk and asked when's check out time, I was put on hold, then when the front desk person came back they said the didn't understand the question. I had to explain what check out time means.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PembrokeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

stayed two nights mid november,told front Desk that it was 25th Anniversary,and was given what i consider one of the worst rooms on the property.The farthest corner with some kind of huge fans making a racket,and some kind of banging noises.Stayed there one night ,then internet stopped working.Next Morning asked for a different room with internet that works,got a different room but wifi still did not work.After complaining again all i got was they were going to reset the router.Anyway it never worked.Very Disappointing for aSheraton.I expected to pay more for our special ocasion ,but this was a real let down

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DigitalDannyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

My wife & I stayed here November 6th & left on the 11th,2010.Great room. Breakfast Buffet was great. Landscaping very beautifully done. I liked the quietness of not only our room but the entire area. My wife & I work 12hour-a-day jobs plus I own a business so when we get a chance to take time away, we hope our money was spent wisely.....in this case,,, it certainly was. Only problem I encountered was the downtown shuttle should have been more frequent. Overall, there's no need to spend $400.00/night when this Hotel is as nice as it is....Oh yea, loved the Mojitos in the lobby....nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveS22601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizNewman1, Guest Services Admin. at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Dear SteveS22601,
Thank you so much for your stay with us at the Sheraton Suites, Key West! It is so lovely to see such titles as "Return Trip is a Must!!" and we would certainly love to have you again! We are so happy you enjoyed our delicious breakfast buffet, landscaping, the serene quietness of the area, and the general feeling that your value was well spent. We appreciate your suggestion of the shuttle running more frequently. During our more busy season, we do have the shuttle running more frequently to accommodate our guests. Lastly, we are thrilled you enjoyed the Mojitos in the lobby. Did you get an opportunity to enjoy the freshly baked cookies adjacent to the refreshments? :)...
Hoping to serve you again,
Liz Newman
Guest Services Administrator
Sheraton Suites, Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

Overall the hotel was acceptable, but their lack of attention to detail made an otherwise very nice hotel into a somewhat frustrating experience. The rooms were far above average for comparably priced hotels in Key West. However, the pool area was too small for this size hotel, and the majority of it was shaded for most of the day. The biggest disappointment was the "free" shuttle service, which proved to be difficult and inconvenient. The shuttle filled up quickly and required reservations, and this required far too many taxi rides at about $15 per trip one way. Reservations had to be made in person, at the front desk, and they could only be made the same day. This was extremely difficult for the first shuttle of the day (9:30am). The overall hotel staff (drivers, conceirege, pool attendant, housekeeping, and wait staff) was very friendly, but this was overshadowed by the lack of concern displayed by management.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizNewman1, Guest Services Admin. at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Dear SLSpa,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your stay at the Sheraton Suites, Key West. We would also like to thank you for your honest feedback regarding your stay. Bringing concerns and frustrations to the attention of our staff is why we value such forums. We are pleased you enjoyed the rooms in general and our friendly staff, but would like to apologize for any inconvenience the pool and the shuttle caused you. We are looking into the details of your frustrations in hopes that they can be prevented in the future.
Thank you again for your stay,
Liz Newman
Guest Services Administrator
Sheraton Suites, Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Key West

Property: Sheraton Suites Key West
Address: 2001 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-5243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Key West and steps away from Smathers Beach, Sheraton Suites Key West is a beachside hotel that captures the true essence of tropical relaxation. Join in the nightly Sunset Celebration, lounge by the lagoon-style pool, or let us arrange for you to sample one of the many watersports available. After a day of friends, family or business, there is one more thing to savor: the warm island welcome of our Sheraton Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Suites Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Sheraton Hotel Key West
Sheraton Key West
Key West Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing