We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Smathers Beach Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Key West
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a week. The hotel is located close to the airport and Smathers Beach, which is very attractive with white sand. The hotel itself is a little older and you can see small signs of wear and tear if you are ultra picky. Our room was a one bedroom suite with microwave, sink, refrigerator and a pullout couch in the living room. The bathroom was enormous and was acessible from both the living area and bedroom . It had a gigantic walk in shower but no tub. It was very clean. The king bed was extremely comfortable. Nice features included two flat screen TVs and free wifi internet. The hotel is located about two miles from Old Town and Duval Street but they have a complementary shuttle every hour on the half hour going and on the 40s on return. Bad feature is that you have to make advanced reservations including for the return trip at the hotel desk (no phone calls) if you miss your return trip you are on standby. The hotel has a very attractive pool/hotub area with a adjacent bar.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank douglasrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,726 - 1,732 of 2,357 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2010

We had a great 4 night stay at this hotel. The rooms are very well-appointed with seperate bedrooms. The bathrooms are spacious (although our room only had a shower, no tub) and nicely decorated. Suites contain small fridges and microwaves but no dishware or cutlery is provided (not even a corkscrew) which seemed a little odd. In-room coffee provided by Starbucks - a cut above the usual Mr. Coffee maker!
The location is great for access to the beach across the street but you probably need a car to access the center of Key West (Duval St, etc). Unfortunately, the weather was very cold while we were visting so we didn't get to use the beautiful swimming pool area. The room service is very good and fast service. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Fortunately only two nights in that "money talks & [--] works" hotel. Bed sheet with multiple yellowish spots and small dark unregular hair. Bath studded with rust at al metal parts and must on walls and ceilings. That in mind, we avoided getting into the honor of tasting the skills of the kitchen or other facilities.
My suggestion: change the name into Sheraton Inn and charge less a zero at the end of the figure

Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
3  Thank coqau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed here 3 nights in early January, 2010. The rooms were outstanding. Huge sitting area with comfy couch, flat screen TV, desk, microwave, and fridge. GIANT bathroom with a very large shower (no tub) lots of closet/cabinet space and drawers for storage. Beautiful tile work throughout the bathroom. The sweet sleeper beds here seemed exceptionally comfortable. My husband, myself, and my mother-in-law all remarked on the great sleep we had here. There is also a second flat-panel TV in the bedroom if you prefer to watch in bed.

The breakfast buffet in the restaurant was of slightly higher than average quality and included scrambled eggs (with cheese or plain), various breads/pastries/bagels (the croissants were yummy), bacon and sausage, make-your-own waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, oatmeal, etc. Breakfast was the ony meal we had in the restaurant. Also, they have a little snack shop by the check-in desk which was nice for our in-room movie. They had chips, candy, popcorn, pretzels, sodas, milk, fruit, etc.

The pool and hot tub were beautiful. Everthing was as clean as you could want. The location was great for beach access but a bit far from duval street, museums (Hemmingway home, Little White House, Lighthouse), and most restaurants and shopping. However, if you want a more quiet, remote location with beach access 50 feet or so away, this is the place. The staff was always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidnightandBalloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

The rooms are very nice, large, clean, new. Very pleased with that. If you came to Key West to party on Duval St. stay at another hotel, this isnt very close, you need to drive or take the shuttle. But there is a free/public beach across the street. For me, this was WAY better than staying in town, more laid back. It is near the airport, so expect some aircraft noise, but you wont hear that in the rooms.

Free wifi in the hotel that is actually modestly fast.

I will definitely stay here again when i go back to key west.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maverick06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed here because my husband was using his Starwood points. The lobby and pool area could use some serious renovation, but the rooms were great: newly tiled bathroom, spacious rooms with separate suite: fridge, microwave, couches.
The location of this hotel would be under debate; good or bad? If you like a beach holiday and have a car, it couldn't be better, as there is a gorgeous beach right across the street. However, downtown: Duval St and all the restaurants , bars and shopping are a good distance, even in the car. The parking downtown is brutal and expensive ( I live in a big city, so I know parking prices: $12 flat rate for the evening is high in my books). In a downtown hotel you could walk everywhere and park at the hotel but miss out on the beach.. The hotel offers a shuttle service into town, but you have to reserve ahead of time and it was often full as well as not always convenient. Not a bad place for nice big rooms and beach proximity.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lastcallforboarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We arrived and found a plastic soda bottle and candy wrapped on the floor. We stopped by the check-in desk two days in a row to ask some to clean the room and told them what we found. They appoligized and said they would take care of cleaning the room, but when we returned each afternoon the room had not been cleaned. Finally on the last day we were there the cleaning person finally picked up the trash off the floor.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tampa_FLJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.2 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
1.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Key West

Address: 2001 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-5243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $275 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Key West and steps away from Smathers Beach, Sheraton Suites Key West is a beachside hotel that captures the true essence of tropical relaxation. Join in the nightly Sunset Celebration, lounge by the lagoon-style pool, or let us arrange for you to sample one of the many watersports available. After a day of friends, family or business, there is one more thing to savor: the warm island welcome of our Sheraton Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Suites Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Sheraton Hotel Key West
Sheraton Key West
Key West Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing