We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“nice property, bad communication” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Key West
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“nice property, bad communication”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

First off, let me say i am a frequent Sheraton customer and booked this room using my points. My stay here wasnt horrible but there are definatly better Sheraton properties i have stayed at. Check in was uneventful, the desk attendent was nice and while checking in was able to make a reservation for the shuttle back to the hotel (didnt take the shuttle downtown, this will come into play later in my review). The desk attendent wrote down on a piece of paper that the shuttle picked up at the corner of Elizabeth and Caroline and then underlined what he wrote, this was important as i didnt take the shuttle into town, and i would have no idea where to be picked up. we went immedietely to the room in dire need of a caffeine and the in room coffee maker was broken, not a big deal so we called the front desk adn they promptly brought one to our room. We found the room to be very nice and very comfortable. Bed of course was incredible, shower, bathroom and sitting room were great. I am not really picky but have come to expect generally nice appointed and comfortable rooms at most Sheraton properties. I could go on and on about the grounds, Smathers beach which is incredible but the miscommunication came when we had had enough of the party that is Duval Street and were ready to hit the sack. We walked to the corner of Elizabeth and Caroline around 11:00 and the closer we got, the more uneasiness and less tourists we encountered. When we got to the specified corner, there was NOTHING that would indicate this was a stop and there were 2 sets of people that appeared homeless and one party appeared to be involved in a drug deal and started shouting at us. It was unnerving and at this point we high tailed it back to the more touristy area of the city and my intentions wer to catch a cab back to the hotel. While walking back, and once we felt safer, i called the hotel and the person at the desk said that the shuttle picked up at the conch republic seafood restaurant (2.5 or so blocks away). Again, i have no complaint with the hotel which is whu they are receiving a "very good" rating, but surely the individual that mistakenly told us where the shuttle picked up, had to have known better. We ended up waiting for the shuttle, we were early for the reservation but they were able to accomodate us which was nice. The shuttle was packed (more like a van). I wasnt wild about the reservation system they employ, maybe they should charter out one of the other larger bus/shuttles in town and give their guests a little more flexibility. Still love Sheraton and will continue to frequent their properties on business and pleasure. Sorry i dont have any pics of the room/etc. but it was kind of a whirlwind trip to the keys.

Room Tip: I personally prefer the inside entrance rooms, this hotel has both types though
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sumnereli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the directions from the staff and will use your review as a training tool.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    796
    270
    107
    90
See reviews for
751
795
37
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sheraton Key West from Oct.31st-Nov.3rd, 2012. I cannot rave enough about the wonderful staff! Jennifer, Lorraine, Lizelle, Noor, Francisco, and Ed are the ones that immediately come to mind as being top notch, professional, and going the extra mile to ensure that we felt like royalty. The 2 sisters that work the concierge desk spent so much time advising my bf on the romantic proposal he had planned for this trip and everything was PERFECTION! I was so surprised! From the sunset boat ride to dinner that they arranged, to the late check out that Jennifer graciously extended us when there was a flight delay, they took care of every detail. We will ALWAYS stay here at the Sheraton when we return! THANK YOU AND GREAT JOB!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nawlinsgirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

I just read your review and congratulations on your recent engagement! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Suites and also happy to hear the staff took care of every detail for you during this very special trip! Thanks again for the review and we look forward to your return visit to Key West!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlgren, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with our suite. Nice pool, gorgeous room, spacious bathroom, kitchenette with microwave and refrigerator . We will stay here again. Shuttle runs about every 30 min to Duval Street.

Room Tip: Poolside room is a bit noisy. If stairs are a problem for you, be sure to ask for a room near the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamjustvisiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the good comment regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Suites. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your suite and the amenities we offer. We hope you will come and visit us in Key West again soon!

Warm Regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Sheraton Suites, for a quick weekend away in Key West.

The rooms are spacious, clean and beautiful! There is a beach right across the street, and it is very close to the airport which makes it convenient for travelers flying in and out of Key West.

However, those who are looking to get in on the action of Key West (Duval St), I would recommend staying somewhere closer as it is a bit of a trek to get downtown. Yes, there is a complimentary shuttle that picks you up and drops you off. However, you need to organize in advance and make sure you have "tickets" for each way. And on busy weekends during peak times, they can get full! A few times, we were left with no option but to take a taxi as there were no seats left. Taxis are readily available (the hotel will call one for you), but expect to pay between $12-15 one way. If you choose to stay here and are planning to head downtown a lot, make sure you factor this into your calculation!

Overall, a pleasant stay, but I would have preferred to pay a little more to stay closer to the center of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliliebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that overall, you had a pleasant stay at the Sheraton Suites. We are located two miles from Duval Street and try our best to accommodate the guests with the shuttle service times. Thanks again for your comment and staying with us at the Sheraton Suites.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. It is located across the street from the nicest beach in Key West. It is a long walking distance (30-45 min) from the center. We rented bikes at the hotel to get to the center and visit the rest of the island. The grounds are well kept and include a pool and hot tub. The suite we booked was spacious but only had a partial view of the gardens and needed a serious paint job. This would be a "very good" review if it wasn't for the paint job.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Principe_Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

I have read your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Key West and stay at the Sheraton Suites. We have made a note to request engineering inspect the rooms for painting needs. Thanks again for your review and staying with us at the Sheraton Suites. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
171 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, nice staff and helpful. make sure that you use the shuttle service, but renting a bike is a better way to go. The concierge could use a little lesson in customer service. ( she was very rude) when she found out we had bought a package from some one else. She was gone for the day when we arrived.Other wise very nice place

Room Tip: Rent a bike to traval around the island, and do't miss out on the jet skis
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank todski85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Sheraton Suites and that the staff was helpful in assisting with your request and needs. I have distributed your comment to our staff so they are aware of your good review and your comment about the concierge. Bike riding in Key West is definitely the best way to get to know our charming little island! Glad you enjoyed your time in Key West and we look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Sheraton Suites Key West is located just down the road from the airport and across the street from one of the best beaches on the island. The pool and hot tub area are not large but well maintained. The grounds are wonderful. They have a shuttle service to the airport and downtown. The suites are perfect for all age groups and are more than reasonably priced. Great base of operations for exploring Key West. There are a limited number of ocean view suites so ask in advance. It is a out of the action, but that can be a positive and the shuttle service and/or short taxi rideable it a non-issue.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Suites and look forward to your return visit to Key West!

Warm regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
1.7 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#25 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Key West

Property: Sheraton Suites Key West
Address: 2001 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-5243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Key West and steps away from Smathers Beach, Sheraton Suites Key West is a beachside hotel that captures the true essence of tropical relaxation. Join in the nightly Sunset Celebration, lounge by the lagoon-style pool, or let us arrange for you to sample one of the many watersports available. After a day of friends, family or business, there is one more thing to savor: the warm island welcome of our Sheraton Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Starwood and Hotwire so you can book your Sheraton Suites Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Sheraton Hotel Key West
Sheraton Key West
Key West Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing