We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Key West
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice rooms Poor Service”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The NICE: We stayed at this hotel for a weekend to celebrate a friend’s birthday. We rented two suites. The rooms are well appointed and the design of the room is convenient. The rooms were clean and the beds and sofa bed were comfy. The rooms have a small “kitchen area” with microwave and a sink that was convenient. The rooms also have a coffee maker with Starbucks coffee. The cleaning staff was helpful and provided us with extra coffee/cream/sugar when requested.
The pool IS very small and the pool area feels crowded. The towels are kept under lock and the person at the counter is never available. Bring your towels from the room or you will be out of luck.
The POOR. We wanted to rent 5 scooters for a full day and called the concierge for help. First we were put on hold forever. We went down stairs and inquired about renting the scooter. The concierge was not friendly, but gave us a price of $40 per scooter per day and told it will take about 30 min. We agreed. When the scooter came were met by a VERY RUDE person giving us order as if we were 5 year olds. We all thought it was rude and weird but continue filling the forms and providing all the information requested. When it was time to pay some of us were paying cash and others with credit cards. At point, the guy told us that price for that paying with credit card was $45. When we questioned the additional fee, the guy told in the rudest of way “don’t you know about taxes”? We told him as far as we know you pay taxes on cash and credit and found the proposition odd (and illegal). At that moment the guy went off on us and told us take or leave it. We left!!! We went to talk the concierge and told her the story - she was un-apologetic. All she said “oh well he is the only want that delivers” and ignore us. When I demanded and explanation (since by this time we have wasted ½ a day) she simply said “I can call another one but you will have to pay taxes”. This really pissed me off. The issue was not about paying taxes, it was about ONLY PAYING TAXES on credit card purchases. I’m surprise that a Sheraton employee is so ignorant about the taxing laws. I wonder how many times have Sheraton get away with collecting taxes from cash paying customers. Maybe we should contact the IRS so they can investigate!!!
At the end we went to Paradise-Concierge and rented our 5 scooter from a very courteous owner Mr. Jon Love. We paid a little more than the $40, and we ALL paid the same amount. But xtra $$ was worth it because we were treated with RESPECT.

Room Tip: Bring your room towels to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Espico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest:

I have read your review and we are happy you were pleased with your room at the Sheraton Suites and apologize for any disappointment you experienced with the scooter rental company that works on property. We have spoken to the concierge and the scooter rental company. The scooter company provides the sales tax return number when the rentals are issued. Guests who request a discount can only recieve a discount if they pay cash because the credit card companies charge a 3% fee. This particular vendor gives exceptional service to our guests by delivering and picking up the scooters for the guests convenience at no extra charge. We do everything to ensure a wonderful vacation for all our guests and we sincerely apologize you were not happy with the service provided. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review as we are always looking to improve our service.

Sincerely,

Hotel Mangement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    870
    298
    122
    99
See reviews for
829
888
41
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We choose the place based on the reviews. We are not big partiers so didn't need to be in the heart of downtown. This place did not disappoint. View from our balcony was over pool area but not very noisy. the room was beautiful. We would goo back. Wish there was more breakfast choices nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhvthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sheraton Suites. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights on a AAA package which included a supposedly upgraded room, 2 breakfast buffets and 2 sunset cruise tickets for the Fury "Commotion on the Ocean".

Pros: The hotel provides a free shuttle to "Old Town" and runs on the hour and 1/2 hour going out and 1/4 hour and 3/4 hour coming back. Tipping is optional but we did leave the driver a few bucks each time. Overall the reception and wait staff were helpful and friendly. The cruise was outstanding despite wattery drinks...We recommend it.

Cons: The room appeared to be very standard, not upgraded, and smelled very musty. After the frist night we complained and they sprayed some deoderant that was somewhat effective..we should have asked for a room change. The carpet was not very clean looking and frayed in places. The supposed $17, each, breakfast buffet had an actual value of about $6 at best and was not very appealing. Overall I'd suggest other lodging such as Casa Marina which, for the money is much nicer but no shuttle. BTW we received a bogus charge for trolly tickets that we did not purchase..an adjustment was made after a call to them. Check the National Bedbug Registry. We encountered no problem but apparently they have had serious problems and had we checked before we wouldn't have stayed there. Final judgement..not worth the expense..look elsewhere you'll do better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the feedback from our guests. The Hotel was completely renovated in 2009 and all of the suites are the same in design. The AAA package includes a complimentary upgrade based on availability and it also includes the trolley tickets. I am happy to hear accounting made the adjustment for you and that you enjoyed the sunset sail on the Fury. We do not have bed bugs at the hotel; per your comment, you had no issues. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review and we hope you will visit Key West again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Sheraton Suites were amazing in Key West. You get your usual excellent suites with comfortable beds and all the amenities. It is located right next to the airport and across from Smathers Beach. Key West is not a beach vacation, which we knew this in advance. The hotel had a beautiful pool with a waterfall, an excellent poolside bar with great food and a restaurant with also great food. Excellent staff, a little mix up in directions as to how to get to our room, the hotel is set up like a square with the pool and restaurant in the middle. Once we figured out the layout we were good. The Sheraton had bikes to rent with locks, we did this for two days, and what a way to see the island of Key West. Bicycles rule the streets and the cars respect this. When heading to the downtown area (Duval Street) by day we rode bikes and they have bike racks everywhere to lock them. In the evening the Sheraton had a shuttle every half hour that would drop you off downtown and you would schedule to be picked up at the end of the night. The shuttle drivers were excellent and would answer any questions. We especially liked the young man from Haiti that came over two years ago. Very polite and a courteous driver. Highly recommend the Sheraton!

Room Tip: Rooms with the balcony overlook the pool. These are the best rooms and they don't have many, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davemoe908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Suites and the amenities we offer. Bicycle riding around the island is definitely a must in Key West and the very best way to familiarize yourself with the island! Thanks again for the good review and we look forward to your return visit to Key West!

Warm Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our good experience started at check in. Beata, checked us in. She knew we were there for our 25th Anniversary and was able to upgrade our room. She is one of the best front of the house people I have ever dealt with. The hotel is nicely decorated, the suites are very large and extremely quiet. It is located directly across from smathers beach which was a good way to start each day. Swim in the ocean, swim in the pool, take a Siesta and then to dinner and Duval street. Ee had a great experience with this hotel, I would recommend highly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim w III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Sheraton Suites and look forward to your return visit to Key West!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Two night stay September 2012. We were on the first floor in the rear of the hotel room 107. The grounds and pool area is just lovely. The room was pretty clean, but needed some touch ups. The drain in the shower was plugged up and water came up to my ankles until we pulled gobs of hair out. Helped some but still slow. The mini fridge was not working properly, only cooled a bit beyond room temp, but the freezer was frozen solid, useless. The spout in the shower was broken and only half the water went to the shower. Mold evident between tiles. That being said, all of the staff we encountered were just delightful. For 300 a night I expected a room in great condition.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are in the process of inspecting and touching up the rooms as needed. Thank you again for the review.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The room was fine with a nicely updated bathroom, but the location was right next to the door leading to the outdoor hallway. Every time someone went in or out our door shook loudly. Also the sound carries in the hall so anyone speaking in the hall can be heard in your room. We primarily booked it because it is across from a sandy beach. Unfortunately, the beach and water is covered in seaweed and in the afternoon and evening it gives off a FOUL odor that can be smelled all over the property. The beach was a major disappointment. The pool area was very small.
Pros: free parking and Internet, the lobby smells heavenly
Cons: loud hallways, foul odor, far, far from the tourist areas, terrible beach

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the exterior hall doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvt2travel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The Sheraton Suites is located two miles from Duval Street, was completely renovated in 2009 and is located directly across the street from the beach. Sometimes during this time of year, when the tide is low, the seaweed can give off a strong odor and unfortunately is out of our control. Key West is not famous for its beaches but rather for the spectacular sunsets, fishing, water sports, history and charm. We recommend when visiting Key West to take a charter or water adventure to enjoy the best of the off island beaches, snorkeling and other water activities. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review and we hope you will visit Key West again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Key West

Property: Sheraton Suites Key West
Address: 2001 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-5243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Key West and steps away from Smathers Beach, Sheraton Suites Key West is a beachside hotel that captures the true essence of tropical relaxation. Join in the nightly Sunset Celebration, lounge by the lagoon-style pool, or let us arrange for you to sample one of the many watersports available. After a day of friends, family or business, there is one more thing to savor: the warm island welcome of our Sheraton Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Suites Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Sheraton Hotel Key West
Sheraton Key West
Key West Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing