We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Bad As We Feared”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunrise Suites Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We made a late decision to spend a week-end in Key West and our favorite hotels were booked. We found vacancies at the Sunrise Suites, but the reviews gave us serious misgivings. We arrived expecting the worst. Perhaps our expectations were so low, that we were delighted to find it not so bad as we expected.

We had a good sized room on the fourth floor with a balcony facing east. We could not see the water, but we were absolutely on the "sunrise side". There was no charge for parking, but if the property had been full this would have been a problem. There are simply not enough parking spaces for the number of suites available. I guess if you could not find a parking space you could park at the office and walk the one and one-half blocks back to the condo unit.

Our suite was semi-tastefully decorated and the distressed furniture was a perfect choice - impossible to tell if the furniture was damaged by careless guests or came that way from the factory. The linens were certainly not of high quality, but were clean. We had two bedrooms with two bathrooms, and a living room with a kitchen area on one end. The couch in the living room converted into a bed. It would have been very uncomfortable as the mattress was about 1/2' thick, but if you brought an air mattress a third couple could stay in the unit. There was a TV in the living room and one in each bedroom. They were not the latest technology and the bedroom TV was about 12', but it was a TV. The cable offerings were good.

We did not accept maid service when we registered, but ended up paying for it anyway because we did accept fresh towels when they were delivered to our room. If you want to avoid that extra $10 charge be sure to refuse the towels, or else let them come in a change the sheets and make the bed.

The room was on the clean side. This is not to say it was clean. The tile floor was filthy and walking on it in bare feet left the souls of our feet black. There was dirt in the corners and crevaces where careless housekeepers had pushed it rather than remove it. The toiletries were a strange brand, and not particularly good. The toilet worked about every third flush, and there was a terrible odor from the garbage disposal.

The water heater vented into the kitchen/living room combination and it took the A/C about 8 hours to bring that room below 76 degrees. Once we achieved a livable temperature we had no difficulty maintaining it.

Would we return? It certainly is not in the same category as the Doubletree or the Inn at Key West, our preferred properties. In a pinch, however, it is a doable property. If, like us, you expect the worst you may be surprised. I think these units are individually owned, and it depends upon the responsibility of each owner to maintain his unit. We got one that was fairly well maintained.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank Busy-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 492 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank furie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NewJerseyTchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2006

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2005

5  Thank Lovemypooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Tad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,377 reviews
2.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#33 of 51 in Key West
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
208 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Suites Resort

Address: 3685 Seaside Dr, Key West, FL 33040-5225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range: $245 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Suites Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Suites Resort is a "condo-tel" which features 48 separate 2-Bed, 2-Bath suites. The resort is located in "New Town" Key West near world famous "Smathers Beach" as well as the Key West International Airport. The resort features free parking, free daily housekeeping, free WiFi, and a complimentary shuttle service. Guests love the huge heated pool and hot tub as well as the intriguing wild life that lives on the property, including turtles, fish, iguanas, and ducks! Business hours are from 9 AM to 8 PM from Monday to Friday and 9 AM to 6 PM on Saturday and Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sunrise Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing