We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value - condo style rental”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunrise Suites Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great value - condo style rental”
Reviewed April 2, 2009

We travelled to Key West for four days from March 28 to March 31 with family and friends. This was a great place to stay - and provided excellent value for our family of four with two teenagers. We had fun at the pool area and enjoyed the gardens - especially the iguanas and turtles! With two teenagers, we certainly made use of the wireless internet and it worked wonderfully!

We had rooms 405 and 406 - but the AC was not working in 405. We stayed in that room for the first night because of our late arrival. One call to the front desk - the next morning - solved this problem and they immediately moved us to room 410 - which was extremely comfortable and clean. With the switch in rooms we were able to see that each unit is very different form the next. Whereas 405 was tired and worn, 410 had obviously had a facelift!!

The grounds of this property were very well kept, however, I do agree that the main hallway carpets need attention. Nothing to harp on though, as you are in the hallways for about thirty seconds when you come and go. We didn't let it bother us.

The kitchens in the rooms were sufficent to make breakfasts and lunches. I'm sure that we could have prepared dinners also, but we chose to go out / order in.

It is true that the Front Desk closes overnight and you absolutely do need to plan ahead! We arrived after midnight, and our keys were taped to the front door - which we expected. We had not requested housekeeping service for our four night stay - so we simply had to tidy up after ourselves.

We knew that this property was further away from the action and we knew it was next to the airport, so we had no surprises. We had a rental car so we weren't conerned about the 10 minute drive into town.

When we return to Key West, we will definately consider staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizardAEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    158
    62
    18
    27
See reviews for
191
74
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed at the Sunrise Suites and had a great time. It is a three star resort and thats what we expected and the price was reasonable given the large size of our unit. We were traveling with 4 adults and 2 children so we enjoyed the two room suite with living area and kitchen. The pool area was quite and easy to access from our room so kids could come and go as they wanted. The rooms were clean but the outside halls and common areas require better cleaning. If you plan to cook meals the pots and pans are very limited so bring a frying pan.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgetown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaD8
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

PROS:
- Price: We were there during spring break and got a great deal considering. I did a lot of shopping around. It's 2 bedrooms so we split the room with another couple and you couldn't find a single room at an equivalent accommodation for less money.
- Kitchen: No need to eat out at pricey tourist spots every meal. There is a full frige, microvowave, oven, coffee maker, dishwasher, pots and pans, etc.
- Bedrooms: each bedroom had a tv and their own bathoom

CONS:
- Location: it is by the airprt. It was only issue if you are a light sleeper and enjoy sleeping past 9 a.m. I brought ear plugs and tylenol p.m. (my husbands snoars and tends to kick in his sleep) I was fine with this remedy. It is far from Duval st. but if you rent scooters it's a short drive or $15 cab ride to the night life. I liked being away from the noise and congested old B&B's stacked on top of each other. Unless you pay over $300 a night it's hard to find a nice hotel close to Duval.
- Maid Service: It's an extra $10 day. Really not necessary. Just bring a couple extra towels. They already give you 2 towels per room and toilettries.

TIPS: ask for a room on a higher floor, not as noisy and a slightly better view. Check in is 4 p.m. and check out is 11 a.m. We had no problem getting an early check in but they only gave us an extra 30 min for a late check out. No need to bring iron or hair dryer, they have both.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st joseph
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

Our room was not clean ie someone else dirty underware socks under the dust ruffle of the bed, inch of dust on top of tv stands. Partying going on at all hours of the night. I choose the "suites" instead of downtown lachona thinking it would be alittle more restful. never again

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign IL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

I want to start by saying we (the 4 of us) liked our stay here. We were just confused on how things worked. You should know this is NOT a hotel. It appears to be apartments various owners rent when they are not in town. This matters because there is no front desk person outside of regular business hours. You want extra towels, plan ahead. You want towels other than the ones supplied at check in, pay the extra fee for the maid service. No maid service...no clean towels. You are expected to wash and reuse your own towels if you don't pay for the maid service. Want the trash taken out you do it etc...

So you can see the confusion...we arrived/checked in after hours. Our room keys were taped to the door of the "office" in an envelope. They make this process work but I could see how some people would really be aggrivated.

As for the "hotel" itself...we liked it. The grounds were nice, the help was nice when you actually met them, and the room we had was also fine. Somewhat dated and could use a facelift but it was pretty much what I was expecting.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illinifans007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2008

unit 112. dec 21-22. one night
The good: very quiet.
very clean and spacious.
well equipped
very comfortable beds
near the airport but the noise is not a problem
clean and well heated pool
Dogs and cats are accepted
parking free and ample

The bad: view from the balcony: just shrubs
check in: too late
check out : too early
little far from downtown
no internet service

note that the units have different owners

  • Liked — beds
  • Disliked — late check in
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank daisymiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Each unit is individually owned and a management company oversees the the daily maintenance. The front office staff is very nice and they try to be accomodating, but they are limited as to what they can do because the individual owners hold the purse strings. Maybe some condo units are nice - perhaps this is the reason in the discrepancies in reviews- but our unit was not up to our standards,Dog food on the floor greated us as we walked in the front door - which stuck because it had just been painted. The pots and pans had been used to cook, but the remains were still in the them since they appeared to not have been washed but just returned to the cabinet after use. The manual can opener had the name "Anne" written on masking tape which was on the opener's handle.One wall had a floor to ceiling mirror that had been broken and a smaller piece of mirror had been glued over the break. Good Will would probably turn down any furniture donations from this unit - aside from being well worn and shabby, the cushions had stains on them, the tables had cigarette burns on them, and there were nicks and dings everywhere. The bedroom's linens smelled like they had not been changed since the previous occupants. Our 25 year old daughter took one look at her bedroom and bath and never returned. She shared a room with friends staying in another resort. We spent as little time as possible in this condo.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — filth
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.8 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
2.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Suites Resort

Property: Sunrise Suites Resort
Address: 3685 Seaside Dr, Key West, FL 33040-5225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Suites Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Suites Resort is a "condo-tel" which features 48 separate 2-Bed, 2-Bath suites. The resort is located in "New Town" Key West near world famous "Smathers Beach" as well as the Key West International Airport. The resort features free parking, free daily housekeeping, free WiFi, and a complimentary shuttle service. Guests love the huge heated pool and hot tub as well as the intriguing wild life that lives on the property, including turtles, fish, iguanas, and ducks! Business hours are from 9 AM to 8 PM from Monday to Friday and 9 AM to 6 PM on Saturday and Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunrise Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing