We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Super Clean and well appointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Suites Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Marco Island, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super Clean and well appointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The condo was immaculate. Everything there for an enjoyable stay. Pool and hot tub were steps from the condo. Elevator and luggage carts very convenient.Big open lanai with a decent view.
Not real close to Duval and downtown but about 10 minute drive or cab it. 2nd bed was very hard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    136
    58
    17
    25
See reviews for
167
68
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We only spent 2 nights but it was perfect for what we wanted. The room was clean, well equipped and quiet. The hotel is on the non party side and was exactly what we were looking for. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

By the airport, so occasional plane noise during day hours. For the money, best value on the island. This is not the Marriott Beachside, but you aren't paying 450 per night for a two/two condo. We paid 225/ night with only 3 weeks notice and thought it was fair for Key West. Kitchen was stocked for our 3 night stay. 17 dollar cab ride to Duval Street, 12 to the Marina. Furnishings are outdated and beds are a little firm for our tastes but we would definitely stay again! Probably next summer. Pool was heated and fantastic! Iguanas everywhere. Very quiet area at the end of Seaside Drive. Smathers beach is a mile away. If you want five star then don't stay here. Maid service is extra if you want it ($10). We had three adults and two children (7 and 4) and found unit 108 perfect for our needs for a high school reunion. It was disappointing that the pool closed at 8 pm. Manager said it was a liability issue? I have never heard of a pool that closes while it is still daylight especially in a vacation destination like Key West. B+ visit overall.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatorbrakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Sunrise Suites Resort is very well located, and check-in/check-out process was very fast. Very courteous service.
But it is not worth the price we paid. It is supposed to accomodate 6 persons, but there are only 4 chairs and 4 stools (are we supposed to bring our own ?). The sofa-bed was so worn-out and old, it could not be used as a bed (we could see the springs coming out of the mattress !), so our 3rd kid had to sleep on the couch itself because the bed was unusable.
In general, furniture is quite old (probably dates back to the 70's) and needs to be updated. We were travelling with friends and they had the same problem in their unit. There was hair in the bathtub when we arrived in our unit. Kitchen was missing a few items : no cutting board, only a small pan that was unusable (the teflon coating was disintegrating in our food), no baking tray for the oven, etc.
The pool was nice, but closed very early at 8 PM. Forget having dinner around 6h30 PM and be able to make it for a quick evening swim. This was really disapointing, especially for the kids who like to use the pool in the evening (which is feasible at other hotels).
Overall, I would say the hotel was correct, with a lot of points to be improved, but definitely not worth the price. If the hotel had been cheaper, these shortcomings could be excusable, but for the proce we paid (225$ a night), we would expect a much higher standard. Our family (2 adults, 3 kids) travels quite a lot (3-4 trips/year), and we stayed in much much better units for a lot less.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I booked this place (blind) through Hotwire and couldn't have been more pleased with the outcome! Clean, spacious, pet friendly, nice pool...would definitely stay again. It is on the other side of the island if you are looking for action, but a cab ride from Duval was around $20 before tip and well worth it. Check in/out was fast and easy and the overall value was unbeatable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was just as it appeared on the photos. It was clean and comfortable. We made good use of the kitchen, which saved some $$, as Key West is very expensive for food and drink. There was one night with a little noise, but overall it was quiet. We stayed on the airport side, but the planes didn't bother us.

Pros: can rent bikes from the front desk and they deliver them to you in about 30 mins, laundry room on site ($2 per load though) pool is warm and clean, kid friendly but good for grown-ups too, cool pond with lots of fish and turtles for the kids to look at.

Cons: far from downtown and night life. It's only 5 miles, but it takes 20 mins to drive and taxi is $20 each way. I suggest renting scooters, bikes, or using public transportation which picks up right outside the hotel. Sofa bed is not comfortable - it would be fine for kids, but not people with back problems or picky adults.

If we go back to Key West, we will probably stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I travel for my living and I have to say this hotel is a great place to stay in Key West. I stayed here with some friends for about a week. Dishes, pans, silverware, coffee maker, toaster etc were all in this 2 bedrrom 2 bath condo. Great time. No complaints!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckMosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#35 of 48 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 2,207 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#29 of 48 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 2,096 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Suites Resort

Property: Sunrise Suites Resort
Address: 3685 Seaside Dr, Key West, FL 33040-5225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Suites Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Suites Resort is a "condo-tel" which features 48 separate 2-Bed, 2-Bath suites. The resort is located in "New Town" Key West near world famous "Smathers Beach" as well as the Key West International Airport. The resort features free parking, free daily housekeeping, free WiFi, and a complimentary shuttle service. Guests love the huge heated pool and hot tub as well as the intriguing wild life that lives on the property, including turtles, fish, iguanas, and ducks! Business hours are from 9 AM to 8 PM from Monday to Friday and 9 AM to 6 PM on Saturday and Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing