We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Suites Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

The two bedroom suite was key for me to book a room through Hotwire, but I was disappointed to see that I ended up on the other side of the island from where everything happens.

First of all, this is not a hotel, it's an apartment complex. There is no housekeeping! If you want your bed to be made, or your dishes washed, you have to do it yourself. You can ask for new towels if you need that.

You have to drive to get anywhere, or take a taxi, and that's just not good enough for when you go to Key West for some funtime. There is a small, and expensive, convenience store on the property which helps a lot. The pool area was below average. I didn't want to spend any time there, but rather drive to the beach.

There are no restaurants nearby. If you want that, you need to drive. If you're like us, who don't drink and drive, you need to take a taxi. Be aware that a taxi ride to Duval St is going to cost you around $20 plus tip - each way. If you do drink & drive, or don't drink at all, parking is going to cost you $20 for the evening.

The complex is located right next to the airport and you will hear the planes take off. Thankfully, it's not at all a busy airport. Parking was no problem, but the Internet was. We kept on getting disconnected all the time which was very frustrating and shouldn't happen in 2011.

The furniture was old and outdated, but I don't mind too much about that. Unfortunately, that is the same for the TV's, especially the non flat TV's in the bedroom.

The only good thing about this place is the cost. For the same price as this apartment complex you would get a motel room on Duval. Next time, I'll go for the motel room. The additional costs just keep adding up if you're in town for a few days and have to spend a lot of money on taxi and parking.

If you have small children, then this might be good for you as you probably don't get wasted on Duval St anyway. I'm sure kids would love this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Franko76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    153
    61
    18
    27
See reviews for
187
74
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We rented a 2 BR 2 BA condo at Sunrise Suites, Room 406. It was well equipped except for a can opener and kitchen trash can, which were absent (and we plan to ask about them at the desk tomorrow). We specifically requested a quiet location and better/more recently updated bedding, and I believe we accomplished both. I have a bad back, and everyone in my family is particular about their bedding--all of us slept well. One BR has a king bed, and the other a queen bed. Standard (not flat screen) TV's are in both bedrooms. The living room has a flat screen TV with basic cable (no Showtime or HBO--but that is something you can ask about when you make your reservation since it depends on what the owner wants to pay for). However, reception on the flat screen TV was less than ideal for network stations, but very good for cable networks. The furniture is dated and the couch could stand replacement, but it's acceptable. The kitchen is clean and orderly with plenty of pots, pans, and dishes--except for a darned can opener. It did have a nutcracker and nut forks, which came in handy. The fridge is full size and runs quietly, and the dishwasher is also pretty quiet. You can eat at the kitchen bar, or outside on the balcony. The two bathrooms were both fully acceptable. We had plenty of hot water and great water pressure. While we can literally see the airport from our balcony, we have only heard a few small planes, and none at night--even though we are on the top floor. The pool and jacuzzi on the property are very nice. Overall, we are pleased. I would have preferred more updated furnishings, but we didn't come to Key West to sit indoors. I am very happy with the comfort of the bedding and the quiet, though. Those are important! You will need a rental car if you stay here, because all of the activities, shopping, attractions, restaurants (except Benihana) are elsewhere on the island. Again, we didn't want to be in the middle of Old Town or near Duval St. If you want to be in the middle of the action, where you can walk everywhere, stay elsewhere. We are happy with our decision.

Room Tip: If you want a more updated condo or updated bedding, or a condo with HBO and/or SHO, ask at the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryDee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We booked this place through hotwire.com so we didn't know what to expect. The condo styled suites were extremely comfortable. Our two boys slept in a queen bed bedroom while my husband and I had our privacy in the eastern king bed bedroom. The full kitchen allowed us to save some money from eating out. Publix grocery store is just a 5-minute drive. If you need something immediate, there's an on-site convenient mart that closes at midnight - even on Thanksgiving Day when we were here. The only major complaint we had was how thin the ceiling walls were. We heard every movement they made upstairs! Try to book the third floor/top floor if you can. Also, this is not a hotel setup, so don't expect a cleaning maid everyday.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacknlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

The condos are well appointed and very clean. The staff is always helpful. Each unit comes with a complete kitchen. The master bedroom has a king size bed. Nice tennis court. Beautiful pool. Located in a quiet area. Near the airport but no airport noise.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

This a nice comfortable hotel. Quick checkin. Nice room with full kitchen. The reception desk helped us plan the tour around key west and also got a concessional rate better than the market value. They also arranged a scooter for us right at the hotel so we didn't have to go around the city to get one. Very helpful reception desk. About 4 miles from the main area but the scooter made thing very easy and fun to travel. Enjoyed my stay here

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

The owner of this establishment, her name is Jamie Cavalero is horrible. She treats everyone like dirt, completely rude and disrespectful, has no sense of hospitality. She should not be in the business. Don't stay here unless you want to get treated poorly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

we got this place bij booking through hotwire, and i never would have booked it if i had seen the pictures. hotwire says its close to the beach, well it isnt except bij car it is perhaps relatively close. The building is quite depressing, as the rooms as well. The condo and its rooms are large and that is the only plus. The pool is too hot and small. Overall: shabby

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#31 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#25 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Suites Resort

Property: Sunrise Suites Resort
Address: 3685 Seaside Dr, Key West, FL 33040-5225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Suites Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Suites Resort is a "condo-tel" which features 48 separate 2-Bed, 2-Bath suites. The resort is located in "New Town" Key West near world famous "Smathers Beach" as well as the Key West International Airport. The resort features free parking, free daily housekeeping, free WiFi, and a complimentary shuttle service. Guests love the huge heated pool and hot tub as well as the intriguing wild life that lives on the property, including turtles, fish, iguanas, and ducks! Business hours are from 9 AM to 8 PM from Monday to Friday and 9 AM to 6 PM on Saturday and Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunrise Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing