We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“suited our needs--nice view, good area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Suites Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
225 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“suited our needs--nice view, good area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We were able to stay at the Sunrise Suites through some friends, and we really enjoyed it! We are budget travelers, so having the extra room and the kitchen was really nice. Our first evening gave us beautiful sunset views over the salt flats, and overall we thought it was a nice location. It would be nice to stay in the historic district and not have to drive to get there, but this was a really nice area, and we were treated well by the staff. I tried the pool out, but it's small and gets pretty hot in the sun, so it felt more like a spa than a cool-off. Also the hallways are open to the air, so no cooling off there either! But the place is decorated nicely and it had more than everything we needed. We were very lucky.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pantsonfire99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    137
    59
    17
    25
See reviews for
169
69
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

After reading some of the reviews we were concerned but I must say we were very happy. The pictures they showed were exactly what the rooms looked like. The decor might not be architectural digest material but the reality is the Florida Keys are not that kind of place. Beds were comfortable, rooms were comfortable. Bathrooms were very spacious as were closets. TV's were small by today's standards but we do not go out of town to watch TV. Kitchen was perfect even though small. Pool and Hot tub were great. Our room faced the pool area and it was very pretty. The otherside appears to be a preserve.
The beds were very comfortable and per our teen daughter who slept on the sleeper sofa it was comfortable as well. Place was very clean and smelled it. A/C worked great.
We were minutes away from the beaches, both Smathers and Higgs. Only a few more minutes away from Duval and all the fun in the heart of Key West.
We parked where we were told and did not have issues with that unlike someone who in his review said he was towed.
No restaurant in house but there are plenty in the area and a supermarket down the street.
I can honestly say we did not have a single complaint of the place. We will definitely stay there again when we need more than one room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LTB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
244 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Checked in very late. We had booked an ocean front condo for the week but could not get in until Saturday so we decided to try this palce for one night. Mistake. The place is very hard to find. Located behind some nicer looking condos off a swamp. We checked in and went to the room. There was a huge racket outside. Turns out the frogs in the nearby swamp really make a ALOT of noise. The balcony was small and the table and chairs dirty. We wee tired so we turned in. When we awoke in the morning we realized how old and warn the furniture was. This is a party place make no mistake. All the furniture was slightly soiled and very warn. Tiny TV's in huge cabinets were a joke. The second bathroom had urine on the floor and the toilet. Not nice. The floors were dirty. The linens very modest. This is not a resort. Maybe OK for one night but if we had seen it in the daylight we would not have stayed. Beware.

The cost was low. Should have known. Live and learn.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

We found hair in the sheets of one bed and the other one looked as if the sheets had been used before and not washed never.floor it's very very dirty. I Do not have to come here again never in my life.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemmybich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stay in a 2 Bed 2 Bath room. Located on a quiet side of Key-West, and within a bigger community that has 4 other apartment complex.

Kitchen was clean and sufficient for 5 adults. Bath rooms were also clean and neat, although be careful with Shower curtain which was just placed on a rack instead of fixed well on the walls. Furnitues were not new, but it did not bother us.

Had a nice Balcony. Nearest Publix (grocery store) is 1.5 miles away. Property had a convenience store but price was alomost double. Hence, ensure that you get required grocery before you enter the apartment complex.

Overall good stay and nothing much to complaint specifically.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RajJayaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Our introduction was a stale, smoke saturated "suite" that was an old condo with run down furniture and a "hide a bed" that was scary. We found hair in the sheets of one bed and the other one looked as if the sheets had been used before and not washed. Dust was on top of the dressers. The shower curtains were bunched up at the base of the tub and looked as if they had not been changed in a very long time. After trying to put a good face on the situation for about 20 minutes we concluded that we could not stay there because of the filth and possibility of bed bugs. Since we had pre-paid and were subject to a no refund policy, we left and chalked up the 195.00 loss to experience. Found a good, clean hotel and had a great time in Key West. Oh, the clerk was very nice.

Room Tip: Stay Elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnf2769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

We've stayed here a couple times and just recently in May with a bunch of our friends. Being that we were staying for 4-5 days this was perfect to get settled into. With the full kitchen and living room area you can grab all the groceries you need and be set for the trip. There is no bellman service, room service, any regular hotel amenities so keep that in mind when booking here. There is however a pool and jacuzzi, nothing fancy - we didn't use because we were at the beach everyday.

Rooms are in average condition. The first time we stayed there was definately some updating of the rooms needed but it comes with the necessities needed for a long vacation: kitchen supplies, pots, pans, coffee maker, utensils, dish soap, etc. Housekeeping service is only available upon request and for an additional fee - which is great if you don't need this type of service.

As mentioned in the title: No bells and whistles but spacious and functional for our visit. Would stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: They are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbuckmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#36 of 49 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#28 of 49 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Suites Resort

Property: Sunrise Suites Resort
Address: 3685 Seaside Dr, Key West, FL 33040-5225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Suites Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Suites Resort is a "condo-tel" which features 48 separate 2-Bed, 2-Bath suites. The resort is located in "New Town" Key West near world famous "Smathers Beach" as well as the Key West International Airport. The resort features free parking, free daily housekeeping, free WiFi, and a complimentary shuttle service. Guests love the huge heated pool and hot tub as well as the intriguing wild life that lives on the property, including turtles, fish, iguanas, and ducks! Business hours are from 9 AM to 8 PM from Monday to Friday and 9 AM to 6 PM on Saturday and Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sunrise Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing