We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Marquesa just keeps getting better”
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We just returned from our annual winter renewal trip to the Marquesa Hotel and Cafe Marquesa, marveling at how Carol and her wonderful staff keep making things better for us. Usually when you fall in love with a hotel or restaurant, you risk the very real chance of disenchantment when returning. Not only has that not happened to us in our 5 years of coming to this wonderful place, we no longer even fear it happening. As with every other visit, we find something new and delightful (in this case, poolside coffee and tea in the morning) to join the very long list of things we already adore, such as poolside ice tea during the day, wine and cheese on Saturday, beautiful decor, tropical gardens, delicious meals, and immaculate housekeeping. The best part of our visit remains the warm wlecomes and endless help from the staff, including Bob, Mary, Richard and Shaun. If heaven isn't like the Marquesa, we will be severely disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalamitySal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2011

This hotel has been beautifully remodeled and a true oasis in the middle of a busy city. It is close to Duvall Street without being in the traffic and noise. An easy walk to restaurants, shops, and attractions. If you book one of the "standard rooms" which we did as it was the only room left, be sure to ask the reservation agent about the views from the windows. We were told our room faced the Gardens but were not told that the view out the window was of the roof of the restaurant next to the gardens and of the exhaust fan serving the restaurant. This was a huge disappointment to us. The room itself was fine but small, which we were expecting. My only suggestion to the hotel would be to have at least one staff member at a location that is accessible to the guests. The computers and business functions are in a room off the parlor with a door and glass window. Employees sit with their backs to the door.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MysticSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

This is our second time staying at the Marquesa, and what we loved about it last year remains true of this year. The surroundings, the staff, the beautiful and clean junior suite with the private porch we love where breakfast is delivered in minutes.....just loved it all!
This year they have added hot coffee and tea in the early AM located near the pool, which was a great convenience. Our only complaint was that the coffee was too weak.

The staff directed us to restaurants that we enjoyed and made our reservations. Though never intrusive, the staff was always available. Thank you, Marquesa!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dedeepaloshtsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We've been coming to Key West for 6-years. We have stayed at the Marquesa for the last four. This is the best place to stay in Key West. Excellent quality, beautiful rooms, lush landscaping, walking distance to everything (we never rent a car, only bikes). We took our adult daughter with us this year and had a very nice time. Room 20 gets nice morning sunshine on the porch. ... great for a morning cup of coffee in the tropical breeze. You gotta try this place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank javabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This is the BEST Hotel in Key West hands down. Just a block off Duval Street you step into this cozy, charming, quiet retreat that is a true experience of totally relaxation! The staff was wonderful, kind, attentive and very professional. Our past trips to Key West we have stayed at the La Concha and the Pier House, both of those hotels don't even compare to the Marquesa. This will be the only hotel we stay at when we travel to Key West.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StovertrottersJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

A wonderful place to spend a birthday. This is our second time visiting the area. Service was excellent, staff was helpful and location perfect. We tried biking this year and found it a lovely way to see the island. We suggest you choose a room overlooking the pools and gardens so it is quiet and picturesque. We would highly recommend the restaurant attached to this hotel. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingaddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

The marquesa was a very nice inn. The room was nice, the property was beautiful and the location was fantastic. Would recommend to anyone planning in going to key west.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCtraveler076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,182 reviews
0.6 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,707 reviews
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $335 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing