We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Hotel in Key West!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel in Key West!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

This is the BEST Hotel in Key West hands down. Just a block off Duval Street you step into this cozy, charming, quiet retreat that is a true experience of totally relaxation! The staff was wonderful, kind, attentive and very professional. Our past trips to Key West we have stayed at the La Concha and the Pier House, both of those hotels don't even compare to the Marquesa. This will be the only hotel we stay at when we travel to Key West.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StovertrottersJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    98
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
68
645
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

A wonderful place to spend a birthday. This is our second time visiting the area. Service was excellent, staff was helpful and location perfect. We tried biking this year and found it a lovely way to see the island. We suggest you choose a room overlooking the pools and gardens so it is quiet and picturesque. We would highly recommend the restaurant attached to this hotel. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingaddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

The marquesa was a very nice inn. The room was nice, the property was beautiful and the location was fantastic. Would recommend to anyone planning in going to key west.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCtraveler076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

We were really looking forward to staying here after all the great reviews. The hotel is indeed beautiful and clean and in a great location. I do agree though with the previous reviewer, the breakfast was poor value for $10 but as the management responded there are places nearby. We tried a number but our favourite was Harpoon Harrys which was a classic american diner with fabulous breakfasts, We would generally have the Marquesa's (excellent and free) coffee and then head off for breakfast. The people working there were helpful and charming and the junior suite was spacious and comfortable. My one issue was the lack of tea and coffee making facilities, I missed my hot drinks at night....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escape_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

While the hotel is fine and the staff really nice, don't be surprised at the $10. pp extra charge for a sleazy breakfast. And, it is a fair walk to a breakfast spot from there.

They are members of the SELECT REGISTRY OF DISTINQUISHED INNS OF NORTH AMERICA. The comments there on cuisine are misleading at best.

Good location, but bring food!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allen_10030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikdeboer, Owner at Marquesa Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
I am very sorry you were disappointed, but like most full-service hotels, we do charge for breakfast. However, I would like to pass on to other you and other readers that one of the most popular breakfast spots in downtown Key West is one block from the Marquesa on Simonton St., a cafe called Sara Beth's which has both indoor seating and a very delightful garden area. With the Marquesa being just one block off of Duval St., there are several other restaurants within a short walk as well. We hope you had a good visit to Key West and come again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Just returned from our second stay at the Marquesa
Everything was fine as usual,it really is an oasis of calm in Key West
It's 2 blocks from Duval Street but could be 2 miles as it's so quiet.
The staff keep it in perfect condition and for Shaun nothing is to much trouble.
We will return as soon as possible keep doing what your doing please

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhuddlancastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We picked this hotel based on TA reviews. Upon arrival we were greeted by Richard and made to feel as if we were the only guests. Richard sat down with us to review the both the history of the property as well as the current ammenities. He then reviewed the highlights of Key West. Richard offered that the hotel would make any necessary arrangements for extracurricular activites, including transportation rentals, meals and/or leisure activities. Following our introduction he met us at the garage entry and directed where to park the car. After leading us to our room, he filled the ice bucket and returned with two complimentary glasses of wine.

The landscaping is amazing. Everything from the swimming pools, one heated and one not, both by design, to the manicured grounds. The courtyard, onto which the rooms and main entry opens, are truly an oasis. The main house and surrounding buildings were stunning. No detail was overlooked for an immaculate fit and finish.

Our first room, a standard room, was charming, intimate and relaxing. We loved Key West so much, that we decided to stay another night. Due to a lack of avilability our standard rooms, we were upgraded to a JUNIOR SUITE for the same price we paid for the standard room. This room was poolside and amazing.

Attention to detail and superior customer service made for a memorable trip and we already know where we are staying next time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnnlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#4 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,930 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#12 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marquesa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing