We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We return year after year!”
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We return year after year!”
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Every year we need a break before the New England winter settles in and always decide on Key West, but more specifically, the Marquesa Hotel. This is our seventh year staying at the Marquesa and each time it exceeds our expectations. We are always able to reserve the perfect Junior Suite overlooking the pool area - the reservations staff is so helpful in meeting our requests. The suites are very comfortable and well laid out and the balcony/patio area is the perfect place for breakfast or cocktails in the evening. Housekeeping service is exceptional - they even remember us from year to year! The entire staff is very helpful and welcoming. Special kudos to the "orchid lady" who grows such beautiful plants. Great location two blocks off Duval - quiet and peaceful but convenient to everything. The adjoining Cafe Marquesa has to be the best restaurant in Key West - wonderful food, changing menu (try the Small Plates), creative chef and again terrific staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeneralManager96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    106
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
83
713
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2009

The hotel is located in a perfect area of Key West. Shopping and restaurants are walking distance from the hotel. The hotel restaurant was fabulous and the staff at the hotel were very attentive and took time to tell you about Key West. The hotel was immaculate with turn down service every night. We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaLadyLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We chose the Marquesa based on reviews from this site and completely agree with all of the positive comments. It is a calm retreat in an otherwise crazy party city. You might think this is not what you are looking for but it is exactly what we needed after experiencing the madness that is Duval Street. We had three women in a room with two queen beds. The room was tasteful, large, clean. We had a large modern bathroom. We also had a large deck with a sofa and chairs. This hotel is within walking distance of everything you want to see in Key West. The staff was knowledgeable, accessible and considerate. I’m not sure that I would return to Key West (a long weekend in this town is all you will ever need) but if I did I would return to the Marquesa without a doubt. Bottom line, there is enough action in the rest of Key West that you will relish your good night sleep and peaceful relaxation by the pool at the Marquesa.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UVA97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Main plus points - beautiful peaceful grounds (there seems to be music playing wherever you go now but none here-relief). Beautifully furnished rooms, great bathroom. Staff very discrete and left us alone. Good location. Free parking out of the sun. Very high level of cleanliness.

Minus points - astonished that at this level of hotel there is no complimentary water. It was in the high 80s and 90s but no water to be had (unless you buy it from the mini-bar.) Some staff a bit cold. No room service menu. Some of the sun beds looking a bit shabby.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello-from-Tynemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Just returned home from 5 nights at the Marquesa. It is difficult to describe the experience. These people are genuinely happy you are there and do everything they can make your stay a memorable one.
The rooms/cottages are pure luxury.....very comfortable,tastefully furnished and decorated (and spotless)and are spaced around a setting of gardens containing lush tropical plants, towering palms and 2 beautiful pools(one heated)
A simple breakfast can be served at poolside or on your private,covered porch/balcony. Their restaurant, also first class....both service,and food.(dinner only) Dress is casual.
Nothing is perfect, but I honestly cant find a negative with the Marquesa. We are already planning a return trip. This is really not a "family" hotel........it is perfect for couples....a quiet oasis only 2 blocks from Duval street. Don't miss this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonkarNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2009

My partner and I visited Key West (first time) and stayed at Hotel Marquesa - we loved it. The staff there are so attentive and we felt we were treated amazingly well - it was so personal and lovely. We left like we were on our 'honeymoon'! I cant recommend a hotel enough. Our only regret is that we could only stay one night and not several nights.

We have just returned from a four week holiday in the USA (our third trip for each of us) and Hotel Marquesa is the all time favourite so far!

I cant recommend it enough

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiaLucia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2009

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. It is within two blocks of Duval Street yet quiet and relaxing. The staff are very accommodating, the rooms are very well maintained, and the grounds are beautiful. We were upgraded to a suite, but all the rooms seemed quite nice. We walked everywhere as the location was so good. We would definitely recommend this to anyone traveling to Key West!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,756 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,679 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing