We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great place small quiet very clean you can walk to every thing no need to use your car..order breakfast every morning poolside or on your porch, the Marquesa has one of the finest restaurants in Key West make reservations. I could go on and on about this hotel. We went for New Years had a blast, I loved the heated pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happy6085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    102
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
75
682
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level Contributor
131 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

From beginning to end, our stay was perfect. First, the location can't be beat -- just two blocks from Duval Street, far enough away to be quiet, close enough to walk to all the best restaurants and attractions. Second, the junior suites are beautiful, with private porches where you can sit and enjoy the lovely courtyard. The staff was courteous and helpful, and there are TWO pools -- one that's heated (for the wimps who don't like a cold-water dunk) and one that's unheated, for a dip on a hot day.

Another plus is the attached Marquesa restaurant, one of the best in Key West. I only wish it served a full hot breakfast. (But it was an easy walk around the block to Sarabeth's, which serves wonderful breakfasts.)

My only complaint was an odd grinding noise every so often, as if workmen were drilling holes somewhere near our room. I don't know if it was the A/C or if there actually was construction nearby -- I didn't see any.

Would enthusiastically return to this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank docwatson_236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel is hidden behind Duval streets hussle and bustle. It has a beautiful pool and its own excellent restaurant next door. The rooms are nicely decorated and quiet. You won't find a nicer place to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mipblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The Marquesa is a lovely small hotel, inn style, within walking distance to town.
It is maintained beautifully and well appointed. The managers are friendly and attentive.
My only disappointment was that there is no breakfast, even continental, included. The menu has breakfast items for a fee,but given the price of the room, I think a continental breakfast should be graciously included.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jzucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I booked a deluxe room for two nights in early January. The Marquesa hotel is beautiful. Our room was on the 3rd for in the main building. Stairs were steep. Would be difficult for an older person to climb up there. The pool and grounds are lovely. It was very chilly while we were in Key West. Hotel has a great location. I would stay there again if I ever go back to Key West. Next time I will stay im a Junior Suite and go later in the season. It was overall a very nice experience. I am very picky and I would highly reccomend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here in September for a couple of days during our annual visit to Florida. We received a warm welcome and were shown to our room straightaway. We had one with a balcony that overlooked the pool. It was ideal to sit out in the evening with a glass of wine.

We booked bikes at reception and they promptly arrived at 9am the next day. It is the best way to see everything and there are plenty of places to park them. The hotel is ideally situated, and if bikes are not your thing, most things could be reached by walking. Duval Street is just around the courner.

The hotel is lovely and clean and very quiet. Our room was a junior suite which was very spacious and the bathroom was a lovely size. We were offered a very generous glass of wine on arrival and we kept this in the fridge for later.

I would recommend a visit to Ernest Hemmingway's house. Try and catch a tour, our tour guide was excellent and had many stories about Ernest and his wives.

The most southerly point was very busy, but we went early in the morning (about 9am) and there was no one there. Once the cruise ships have docked the whole place can get very busy.

I would definately recommend staying at the Marquesa.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleKatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a beautiful little boutique hotel in a great location. You are about 2 blocks off the center of Duval. The rooms are comfortable and so are the beds. The first night we stayed just off the pool. Our room was actually behind one of the rooms facing the pool so we didn't have one of the nice porches to sit on. The only issue we had was that we had ordered a king/queen and got 2 doubles. The hotel was full so they couldn't move us. The staff apologized and was very professional. They offered us a credit which I thought was great. The next couple nights we moved to the upper floor of the main building which was fine but we have to climb 3 flights of stairs. The pool area is excellent. There are 2 of them and ample sun and plenty of shade. Plenty of towels and complementary water and Ice Tea. My only problem here is that there is no bar so if you like to enjoy a cocktail while sunning and swimming you need to supply your own. Parking is also tight if you drive. There were no spots the night we arrove dso they let me park in the check in spot which I thought was very nice. If you are looking for a covenient hotel and a nice quiet, relaxing pool to hang by then this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rpalazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Santa Maria Suites
Santa Maria Suites
#5 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing