We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Key West Charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Key West Charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We LOVED the Marquesa Hotel! We stayed there for two nights. Our room was wonderful, clean and spacious with a great view of the pool area. The staff was friendly and accommodating! The hotel is in a great location, in the heart of downtown Key West...short walk to Duval Street and Mallory Square. It was great to walk around and then come back and take a dip in one of the hotels two pools! We had a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    98
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
68
645
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in September 2013. We had a fantastic welcome from the staff, the room was lovely and the facilities were good. We ate in the Marquesa Cafe and had a fabulous meal and excellent service. The only reason we would give this hotel 4/5 rather than the full 5/5 was that the air conditioning in our standard room was very noisy and kept us awake at night plus the fact that we couldn't properly shut the sash windows and the noise from Simonton below was also disturbing.
Having said that, we would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again (only we'd pay the extra for one of the suites located more within the centre of the hotel complex).

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OxleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent a week in Paradise - The Marquesa Hotel. We selected this hotel based on TA reviews, and we are so glad we did. Our room was immaculate, the staff so courteous, the pools so clean..... The gardens are beautifully maintained, the peace and serenity in Key West while staying The Marquesa is just a special treat for any couple. The other guests all respected each others privacy and many of those who picked up on our Australian accents had brief conversations. Of those many were returning guests. The housekeeping service is just fabulous and our room was immaculate twice a day with fresh and luxurious towels. We can only rate this as one of the nicest hotels my wife and I have ever stayed at - anywhere. The restoration of this historic hotel is superb and we are privileged to have had the opportunity to stay there. And the WiFi works!!! Our light and healthy breakfast served on our balcony overlooking the pool was a very pleasant way to start our day. Just a fabulous week. Thank you for the excellent hospitality, great staff, and a memorable holiday. Robert M 24 September 2013.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here this week and will absolutely be back. Our junior suite (room 18) overlooked one of the two pools and was very roomy and comfortable. He staff is very attentive. The location is 'close to the action' on Duval and Front streets but you feel completely insulated from the noise. Off street parking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbvign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked this hotel a year in advance because of the reviews on trip and the hotels web site.
When we got there we thought this was going to be great, however getting room 17 was the downer.
This was meant to be one of the best rooms with view of pool and gardens, WiFi.
The room was very nice, but could only see from our room a Pepsi machine and a white wall.
The WiFi didn't work in the room but one member of staff said it can sometimes, another was honest and said it was the location of the room was why it didn't work. The shower pressure was very poor and took 20 mins to fill the bath.
The cost of $371 for a room is really high and so I left and went to the Conrad Hilton for $220, where everything works.
If you get another room I am sure you will be OK.

Room Tip: Do not take room 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and can only reiterate what has already been said by the previous reviewers. This is a first rate hotel and if you ever find yourself in Key West (and why not?), do stay here. The rooms are of the highest quality, the location great, the staff efficient and very professional and the pool area is a tropical paradise.
The restaurant, which is part of the hotel offers excellent dining and first class service.
All in all a gem and not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thenewsalopians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

For nearly 20 years, we have enjoyed the beauty of Marquesa and outstanding services graciously provided by a superbly trained staff. Long ago we gave up trying to understand how every visit is better than the last. Marquesa and Cafe Marquesa never disappoints. Make it easy on yourself and reserve a suite.....then enjoy paradise!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Riversideguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#4 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,931 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#12 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marquesa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing