We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location & amazing staff”
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location & amazing staff”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at the Marquesa in March 2013. The staff was amazing...especially Ken! They greeted us a glass of wine and a smile. Easy to walk to Duval and close to great restaurants. Really saved a lot of taxi money by staying here because it is so close to everything. You can walk to Mallory Square in less than 8 minutes. I frequent Key West and will come back to this hotel again. Accommodations are very nice....small property....quite...no kids...quaint. Pool is surrounded by lush greenery.

Room Tip: Room with a porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    105
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
80
706
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. It's easy to imagine what power these ratings and reviews can have on the success of many hotels, and yet some don't seem to understand what it is that makes hospitality an art.
The Marquesa is truly a wonderful place to visit. There's balance in their relationship with their guests. You will feel attended to with being fawned over. The surroundings are lovely and very well maintained; orchids and flowers growing in the eden of a garden setting surrounding the pool. Coffee is set out for guests to come and retrieve in the early morning, cool water, lemons, and iced tea during the day. It is also possible to arrange for continental breakfast at a small table by the pool, or on your private porch, or in your room. We didn't take breakfast there because we were off to the gym early.
During the day the pool is never crowded. This is a small hotel with a quiet, relaxing vibe.
There is an invitation slipped under your door for an evening cocktail party, for the guests to meet one another on Saturday nights. Wine and cheese, crackers and fruit, served in the garden; it was very low key. It seemed like it was mostly couples, all ages, from various parts of the country.
The suite we stayed in was very understated and lovely. The mattress very comfortable, television in the bedroom, as well as one in the sitting room, with the option of closing the pocket doors between the rooms. The bathroom was super clean, two sinks, tub and shower, and good water pressure.
Like magic, the towels were replaced and the room tidied up without us ever seeing anyone.
The service is perfect here. Everything is taken care of without any fanfare.
There is always someone by the reception area, and each person working at the hotel was friendly, helpful and intelligent (why is that unusual?). We got recommendations and directions to the gym, some restaurant ideas, and they arranged to rent bikes for us (Key West is great for bikes, since it's flat and the traffic is slow and seems to yield to bikers).
I found the time at The Marquesa very restorative and special.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite. Because of the setting of the hotel it seems very quiet, even though you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BetsyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I loved my time at the hotel. The entire place was beautiful, and the service provided was top quality. There was not a moment when I was unpleased.
I would garuntee you would enjoy yourself and create the best memories at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChunkyLover52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Outstanding experience at the Marquesa Hotel! Friendly and information staff, perfect room, and walking distance from Duval Street. Most importantly, you are residing in a blissful paradise of palm trees, tropical gardens, pools, and a waterfall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. It is in the best area in Key West, walking distance to Duval Street, where there are fantastic bars, shops and restaraunts. The rooms were spotless and the staff was fantastic. Our room was right on the pool, the gardens are beautiful. We had a wonderful time here and would go back any time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 865Janet865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My fiance and I checked in here for our last night in Key West, and I'm so so glad that we got the chance to stay there. It was a lovely, serene place to stay. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We were welcomed with glasses of wine, and had a room with a balcony that overlooked Fleming. The pools are lovely and we had a great time going for a dip before heading back to the real world. The location is perfect because it's near everything in downtown Key West without being on top of the craziness of Duval.

Room Tip: Rm 10 has a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in (and I've stayed in a lot of nice hotels). The service was incredible and very helpful. The landscaping around the pools is so pretty and it is so serene to lie there and bask in the sun. You'd never know you were only a block or two from Duval St. It is very convenient to the major sites but you feel like you miles away from any sort of bustle while in the hotel.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor, and it was very quiet - very little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lulusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,663 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing