We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands Down Best In Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hands Down Best In Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The fine lodging options boil down to two: intimate inns evoking the spirit of Key West and large hotels that lose some of their charm due to size and quantity of rooms. The Marquesa was phenomenal. What everyone else says about the rooms are true but I will share one story that captures their phenomenal service. We were having Thanksgiving dinner with friends in town and arrived on Thanksgiving Day, unsure what to do about bringing a dessert we asked if any stores were open. The response: our pastry chef will call you and have something ready upon your arrival. Amy was amazing as her caramel cookies and pumpkin pie were devoured.

Room Tip: Room 11 was spacious: queen bed, couch with side chair and table. Set back so its quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BellBoys60625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    98
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
68
640
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Marquesa Hotel during the week of Thanksgiving. We chose this hotel because of the great reviews online. We were not disappointed. The rooms, the staff, the pools, and the location were fantastic. The hotel rooms are spacious and extremely clean and comfortable. The staff is very professional. They will see to your every need in a timely manner and always with a smile. There are two pools-one is heated and the other is not. The pool area is beautifully landscaped. All of the flowers, plants, and trees lend to a very calm and relaxed atmosphere. And it's so quiet! You can easily lounge by one of the pools with a book, or take a nap, and not be disturbed. The location is also great-only a few blocks away from Duval St. Oh, and the Cafe Marquesa is very good (and so convenient!). I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for quality and comfort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret2051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is our third visit to the marquesa and its just as good as ever
Their attention to detail is second to none and nobody can do enough
Even though its only a block from Duval it's almost like another world
Cannot wait to return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhuddlancastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just got back from staying at the Marquesa Hotel. We considered staying at one of the larger hotels but we decided we wanted something a little more personal. We went to Key West to get married and we couldn't have been happier. The service was perfect, the pool area was beautiful and most of all it was quiet and convenient for walking to resturants and other attractions. We came alone and I was helped into my wedding dress and then they took some pictures by the pool. We would go back in a second. One warning though is that this is an old restored building so there is no elevator so pack light! We ate at the restaurant and it was so good, they had little decorations for us on the table and sliced and served our small wedding cake.

Room Tip: High floors are hard to carry heavy luggage up
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKK183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnneapolis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Marquesa Hotel is the perfect Key West getaway - a lovely retreat from the crazy party scene just blocks away on Duval. The rooms are charming, the pool area is a perfect escape to laze away an afternoon, the private balconies are simply perfection and the hotel is quiet. And the staff is OUTSTANDING. Henry, in particular, was a delight to work with and consistently provided exceptional recommendations on everything from food to entertainment. Everything is close when you're in Key West, but the Marquesa's location is one of it's best selling points. Just blocks from Duval - yet you feel like you're in an entirely different part of town. If I find myself in Key West in the future - I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thanks for making this a great vacation, Marquesa Hotel team!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 23 - one of the suites. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolMinnneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

All we can say to our Tripadvisor friends - is stay at the Marquesa when visiting Key West. Location is perfect for walking all around town and yet quiet for being only two blocks away from insane Duval Street. The staff is fabulous and responsive. The grounds of the property are the beautiful, lush and serene. The rooms are comfortable, spacious, clean with basic furnishings. We had a second floor poolside room with a shared and spacious balcony.

We did a lot of walking around Key West during 4 full days we were there. Hotels near the southernmost point are way too far from center of town, and have lots of pedestrians and sometimes traffic due to the attractions near that area. Hotels along Truman Street are along a busy traffic and pedestrian street. Unless you like crowds and noise - avoid Duval for lodging. The Marquesa's location is perfect. There's a grocery, Faustos, across the street, and also a Walgreens on Duval just a handful more blocks away.

This will be the place we'll stay the next time we're in Key West!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Visitors4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
173 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Marquesa and we are pleased. We would have preferred a second floor room with a balcony like last time, however we are still pleased. The staff are friendly, pleasant, and welcoming. We enjoyed our complimentary glass of wine upon arrival, relaxed for a few minutes then hit the town for an early dinner. We will be back, and we will request a second floor unit or a unit with a balcony. Pleased!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michaelkasperski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#4 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,438 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#12 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marquesa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Otel, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing