We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“5 Star +” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 Star +”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent Labor Day this year at the Marquesa in the Jr Suite. Impeccably clean suite with 1st class service. This hotel and its services was the highlight of our weekend. Beds were turned down each night, plenty of supplies and towels, concierge services were superb. Wine and chocolates too. Will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    98
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
68
640
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

this was exactly what we were looking for - a small, quaint hotel, beautiful courtyard, and within walking distance to the "good stuff". it absolutely exceeded my expectations. the restaurant was not open when we went, and when we first arrived, the hotel was still shuttered (as it was just days after hurricane isaac), but other than that, it was exactly as described. loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrice108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a 5 days stay in July with 2 teens: we had a wonderful suite around the pool, but above it, in the back: it was extraordinary! everything is delicate, the decoration is very nice, furniture, curtains, carpets.... Usuallly you are welcome with a drink (wine), we hadn't, certainly because of the teens, but we had cookies instead, which were very appreciated!
the location is top, close to everything important. The concierge (I think Sean, not sure of the spelling), is very helpful: we needed bicycles, and they were not delivered, he did I don't know what but 10 mns later we had wonderful and comfortable bikes in front of the door! there are 2 pools, very quiet, tea and coffee free all along the day, each time you arrive somebody warms you very discreetly, everybody is welcoming , trying to do their best to help.Rooms are very clean, soaps and shampoos of a high level, and the garden is soooo nice: flowers and calm, so relaxing....this is with no doubt one of the best hotel in Key west!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mipougne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Marquesa in a standard 1 queen bed room. Room was clean and staff was helpful, friendly. Check in process was quick, (thanks Henry) we were early, room was not ready, but a huge plus is they have a full bath with shower just off the reception area. Quiet spot with on site parking, quick walk to Duval, but none of the traffic or noise.
Nice size for a standard room for Key West. Guessing this would be considered an inn. Coffee and tea in the am by the pool, iced tea and Ice water in the pm. No bar, but as other reviews had stated, there are several markets nearby. Loved the fact that there are no children under 14 allowed. Most people in the pool area did respect the rules when we were there.
Overall the hotel is a little pricey, but if the service and property stays consistant, it is worth the extra money, have stayed in many B&Bs and hotels in Key West, if you want this type of experience The Marquesa is among the top.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soxfan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed three nights with a gal pal in room 22 upstairs that has two queen beds. Both the room and bathroom were very spacious and comfortable but what makes this hotel incredibly unique is the exceptional service we received. With maid service twice a day, it did not occur to us until the day we came home that we didn't even know where the ice machine was because housekeeping even kept our ice bucket full!! The guys at reception were so friendly and warm and attentive to our every need. The plush gardens surrounding the pools made it truly an oasis right in the heart of old town and although our private balcony was right over a city street, we heard almost no traffic noise within the room or the public areas. Was great to have coffee available in the mornings and iced tea when we got back in the afternoons needing a refresher. There are just not enough nice things to say about the Marquesa ... have stayed in hotels all over the world and this one is just super special ... try it ... you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and heard very little outside noise of any kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BamaRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brainbckt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just back from our sixth or seventh visit to the Marquesa (I've lost track).

LOCATION: The property is conveniently located at Fleming and Simonton, in the middle of Old Town and just two blocks from Duval. Half a block away is Fausto's, a market with an extensive beer and wine selection, as well as groceries and specialty foods (sushi, meats, cheeses, etc.). You're close to the action, but also far enough away to retreat for some peace and quiet at the end of the night. Overall, a nice, fairly upscale section of town.

GENERAL DESCRIPTION: I'd characterize the Marquesa as an Inn or small hotel. The rooms encircle a compound including two pools (one heated, one not) and beautiful landscaping. I've read others describe it as an "oasis," which is apt. We've stayed in the Poolside Standard rooms and most recently, for the first time, a Junior Suite (more on this later). There is an on-site restaurant (pricey and a bit stuffy), but no poolside bar (no matter, get your libations at Fausto's and BYOB poolside). No guests under 14 yrs old and no cell phones by the pool. Clientele runs the gamut from twenty-somethings to senior citizens.

POSITIVES: Very pleasant check-in process, which includes complimentary wine or beer. Beautiful surroundings. Great location. Rooms are clean, tastefully decorated, and well-appointed. This could be a plus or minus for some, but definitely not a "party" atmosphere. Not to say we didn't sip our fair share of drinks by the pool and in Key West at large, but the Marquesa environment is designed for tranquility (most of the time...see comments that follow).

NEGATIVES: A bit pricey. The Junior Suite wasn't worth the premium (I think these are hit-or-miss...some are larger and better-located than others). We were in 106, which had great privacy, but was in the back of a building, small-ish, and a bit cave-like. We'll stick with the Poolside Standard moving forward. Because the Marquesa is a relatively small property and built for quiet, it only takes one poolside bigmouth to really shatter the environment (acknowledging that this observation isn't actionable).

Overall, Marquesa is top-ranked for a reason. A nice alternative to the "big box" hotels.

Room Tip: If selecting a Junior Suite, assuming they aren't fully-booked, asked to look at a couple upon a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brainbckt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a very attractive hotel, well located in a quiet spot near to all the action on Duval if you want and close to the harbour walk area.
Room was nice and service was polite and friendly.
The real high spot is the pool area which is gorgeous. Coffee is available in the morning and water/iced tea the rest of the day.
Prominent signs ask visitors not to drink or eat in the pool area but this is not enforced.
Whilst we were there a large group of about eight people on one occasion brought in beer and food from a local supermarket and took over a sizeable part of the pool area destroying any hope of tranquility.
They surpassed themselves the next day by having pizza delivered to the pool!
On our last morning they had gone and the pool area was blissful.
Management, make a decision about food at the pool and enforce it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Unic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#4 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,438 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#12 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marquesa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Otel, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing