We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2008

We had been informed by friends how good the staff were and what a beautiful hotel it was prior to our visit. We can confirm these statements were absolutely accurate. The hotel has a great deal of character, it is also extremely comfortable to stay in. Although it is situated in a relatively busy area it is easy to relax on your balcony or by the pool. The staff could not be bettered, they were 100% helpful and friendly. One of our friends fell ill a couple of weeks before our visit and the staff ( Dennis in particular) looked after him and his wife so well they really could not believe how fortunate they were to be staying at the Marquesa.
Breakfasts are served in your room on your balcony, a wonderful experience.
I would highly recommend anyone going to Key West, book the Marquesa you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Cloughie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

900 - 906 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2008

Spent three nights at the Marquesa over Valentine's Day. Boy, were we impressed with the Marquesa. We originally read about the Marquesa in 2006 and all of the good things on the reviews were true and accurate. The reservation was easy, the pre-stay arrangements were perfect, the room was great, the staff was very nice and helpful (I can't imagine where the bad comments ever came from), the pool area was delightful and the food service in the restaurant and the room service breakfast were great.

Our room (107 - Deluxe Queen) was spacious with a lovely separate sitting room area. The room was spotless. The twice a day service was perfect and totally non-intrusive. It's the first hotel that ever called to ask what would be a good time for them to come to do the evening turn down. I had read some comments about the rooms in the main building being noisy because they face the street and we did not find that to be true at all. It was one of the quietest rooms we have ever stayed in. The only thing that you should know before selecting a room in the main building are the stairs. You will have one (or two) long sets of steps to your room (no elevator). But, for us, it was well worth the climb. If steps are a problem, go for the rooms that face the pool.

The food service. The raves about the Cafe Marquesa are well justified. We had an excellant dinner there. Food was excellant, the service was very attentive and not rushed in what is clearly a high demand restaurant. No surprises here. The reviews were all good and the experience lived up to it. I do, want to make mention of the in-room breakfast service. I read an earlier post that complained about this and I think it is totally unfounded. The breakfast menu was very nice, the service was timely and pleasant and the prices were more than fair. We have stayed many places around the country and have paid a lot more for inferior breakfasts at other 5 star hotels and resorts. Don't hesitate to go for the in-room breakfast, but don't get lazy because Sarabeth's is only 1 block away and not to be missed.

The hotel staff. Everyone at the Marquesa was friendly. pleasant, and helpful. I have rarely felt more welcome anywhere else.

This is a great hotel that deserves all the positive reviews that it receives. But to really appreciate it, you really need to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sjordan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2008

the hotel is beautiful, however for a historic register property i found the architecture rather deceitful. the rooms and property are up to par for something in this cost range, but i found amenities normal to other four star properties lacking here. the biggest problem was i found the staff very pretentious and condescending. not unfriendly, but almost so.

Stayed: February 2008
10  Thank gregnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We never expected such a lovely property--wonderful service, lovely pool and garden, staff that went out of their way to be helpful. Only problem is getting to Key West--it is a LONG drive from mainland Florida. But once you are at the hotel, you don't need your car at all.

Would love to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jess6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

My wife and I watched a short but alluring documentary on Key West and the Marquesa on the Travel Channel a few years ago. Knowing we wanted to plan a first time Key West get-a-way in the future, I kept the Marquesa tucked away in the back of my mind.

Being very particular and at times intolerant , I have to say that our stay was as good as it gets. The staff was very courteous, and most attentive. Our favorite member of the staff was Mary who spent as much time with us as we needed in mapping out our daily itinerary to shops, galleries, restaurants, sightseeing highlights, bicycling paths, historic homes, and etc. PS.... she even made all the restaurant reservations for us as well as the sunset cheese and wine cruise we enjoyed so much. Although we had a convertible for transportation, we preferred using our rental bicycles because of the Inn's strategic location in Old Key West where all the action was.

We happened to stay in the main house on the third floor. The room was very spacious with a separate sitting area with its own dedicated TV in addition to the 24" LCD adjacent to the queen size bed.

The grounds are very private and nicely tucked away from the rest of the world. Lush, spacious and very well maintained as was our room. Although I know its not because we inquired, our room looked like it was just redecorated from scratch because everything looked new. What we also found very atypical was that our used towels were replaced twice a day, once when the room was made up in the morning and then again in the early evening when the bed was turned down and garnished with chocolates.

Bottom line, we'll be going back to Key West and the Marquesa. We were so impressed, we even took pictures.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank MrMagnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We checked into the Marquesa on December 25th for a 6 night stay and were impressed from the moment we arrived! This is a beautiful property in a prime location ~ the staff members greeted us right away and throughout our stay they were always extremely pleasant and welcoming. Our room, #22, was awesome! We were on the second floor with 2 queen beds, a spacious and nicely appointed bathroom and an enormous balcony overlooking the neighborhood. The balcony was outfitted with a wicker couch and a bistro table and chairs. The well decorated room was spacious, clean and inviting. We loved everything about this hotel – both of the pool areas were peaceful and relaxing – there was never more than 8 people around the pools at any given time.

The grocery store is only ½ block away and stocks all kinds of gourmet foods and made to order sandwiches. Instead of fighting the crowds on Duval Street during the mid afternoon we would typically walk to the store for wine, cheese, salads, etc. and then eat our lunch back by the pool area.

In addition, we thought the Marquesa Café was superb! I highly recommend the foie gras appetizer!!! Both the food and service was top notch. Other restaurant highlights were Opera (Italian) and Michaels (steakhouse) - both were exceptional.

We have been to Key West several times and would definitely stay at this property again. It’s worth the extra money!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank suzyjacuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

My partner and I have been to Key West many times over our 18 years together. Until this trip we stayed in the Gay guest houses that are so popular on the Island. In general, although it was nice having fellow gay travelers in our inn, the quality of the amenities of these places was not great. Having dined at the Marquesa many times, we were familiar with the property and decided to give it a try. The hotel was spectacular. We stayed in one of the carriage house suites for a full week and loved the stay. Other gay couples stayed there as well, but all the guests were very nice and friendly. There were no gay party boys falling in the pool and needing the EMS at 4 am, and that is a good thing. The service was top notch from the lobby staff to the groundskeepers. The only downer to the property is that the restaurant has obviously slipped. The food was not creative and in some cases not even very good. Having dined there dozens of times in the past, I feel confident in suggesting that you stay at the Marquesa, but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TXTecolote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,783 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,700 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $280 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing