We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful vacation get-away”
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful vacation get-away”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed 2 nights and wished we had stayed longer. We had a deluxe queen on the 3rd floor of the main building. The room was large, clean and extremely quiet. Only downside, is because it is a historic building, they cannot have an elevator. So while the walk upstairs was fine for us, it may be a difficult climb for some. We enjoyed the pool during the extremely hot afternoons. As their policy is guest must be 14 years of age or older, there were no splashing screaming children in the pool. Just other couples relaxing like us. The location is great, close to everything without being in the middle of the craziness. The staff was wonderful and check-in prompt. Robert gave us great suggestions for lunch and even though we arrived several hours early, the room was quickly available.
I would definitely return here again- but i'd stay a lot loner than 2 nights!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhillyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    106
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
83
713
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Spacious, elegant rooms in a great location. Staff was friendly and helpful, both before and during the visit. Room was kept well stocked and cleaned frequently. Great place for couples.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AUtravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Excellent location, pool courtyard is exceptional (except they really could use a small bar area out there for some cocktails) but we made our own and brought them down. Staff is attentive and pay attention to detail. Especially Henry (nice job).

Marquesa restaurant is very good and possibly best in Key West. Hotel is one block away from the Duval crawl - just far enough away from the noice but close enough to crawl back to on an eventful evening. We'll be back. Would be nice to have some breakfast included.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BIODTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

MY wife and I are seasoned travellers from Northants in England. This beautiful hotel had all the Key West charm. We had room 9 right on the front. We had read in reviews that it could be noisy, but once we had set foot in our room/suite we didnot want to move. We would give it 5 star rating. It was light and airy from 5 sash windows and extremely well furnished. The pool area was tranquil and peaceful a little gem of an oasis one block away from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street. the staff were attentive and gave excellent service. The resteraunt was very good, but the night we went it was very noisey all the lady customers were trying to outshout each other. The rooms may be a little expensive to other hotels but worth every penny. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KJACK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, DE
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Marquesa several times before. The Marquesa never disappoints. Service is very good and the place is beautiful. The associated restaurant is also excellent. Two pools, one heated and one not is an added feature.

Room Tip: Get one of the mini suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fenwickbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

In this age of cookie cutter hotels, it's nice to find a place like the Marquesa. Charming, historical, tucked away from the noise but close enough to easily walk to all the action on Duval! We stayed in one of the junior suites (#6, which I would recommend) and enjoyed it immensely, from coffee and tea at poolside to coming back to our room at night and finding the bed turned down and chocolates waiting with the ice bucket filled. Very friendly staff. Our flight didn't leave until the evening, but when we checked out the manager told us to feel free to continue to enjoy the pool area as well as a separate bathroom and shower to clean up and change prior to our departure. Didn't get the opportunity to dine at the Marquesa Cafe but heard from others it is great. The Marquesa consists of the main building (built around 1884, as I recall), and several additional historical Key West homes that were apparently moved to the site. All nicely updated, and the courtyard pool areas and gardens are beautiful. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

A little place of peace, quite and serendipity in a wonderful contest of silence and good manner. Room is what sometimes you are looking for on holidays but often doesn't find: new england style. It's wonderful to have your breakfast poolside just outside the room door. It's a place in which you arrive to stay only one night, but when you realize where you are you'd stay for one week.
Andry e Roby from Rome (Italy)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing