We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going Downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Going Downhill”
Reviewed October 8, 2006

Basically, no one asked if a room by where they were doing noisy construction(most of the waterfront rooms balconies)and the whole back stairwell was ok with us until we noticed it walking out to beach area and said something.Two hours later we got a room on third floor where there was supposedly less noise, and still didn't get the refrigerator I had requested. We were told work was only from 10-4 and would only last for one more day, when it was actually 8-6 and work was still going on days later after we left. It was so windy (high seas) this first week of October that we were stuck at the hotel beach listening to noisy construction, looking at construction men, and smelling balcony sealant the whole time we were there, and dealing with extremely rude and obnoxious, beach chair boys. Not at all the pleasant and relaxing Pier House that we remembered coming to over the years. The manager had said he would get back to me on Thursday after I had gone to him after the second beach chair man was so verbally rude, and he never did, and he was conveniently off Friday on checkout. The check out staff didn't apologize or even offer to have the manager call me . They must have new management and are going downhill. I recommend staying at the a larger hotels like the Ocean Key or Westin nearby where even if they are doing some construction you can get away from it easier , and offer much better customer service for the same rate ! And maybe first find out what level of construction they are doing, at the Ocean Key they were just painting the balcony railings for example not drilling or sanding off the surface of the balconies and steps, then applying a chemical sealant.

  • Liked — Nice size room only upgraded to due to construction noise problem we noticed after arriving.
  • Disliked — Lack of respect and honesty received from front desk staff to the beach chair boy,to manager.
  • Tips/Secrets — Go bigger like Ocean Key or Westin, nearby for same price, get more for your money.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank edepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    523
    157
    78
    75
See reviews for
415
1,265
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

My husband and I went to Key West the end of September 2006. It was one of the best vacations we ever had. The Pier House was absolutely beautiful. The staff was helpful and pleasant. I can't understand how anyone could have given this hotel a bad review. My husband and I couldn't find one thing wrong with it and believe me my husband is fussy! We stayed in a standard room and it was more than adequate. Considering you are hardly in the room. The small beach was great! I don't think there is another hotel that has a beach and it was nice to be able to hang out there. The food was excellent at the Duval Restaurant. The pool and spa were clean and a nice size. The best is where the Pier House is located it is right at the end of Duvall Street and you are in walking distance of everything. You have to check out the bar Sloppy Joes it's a fun place, good bands. If this is your first time going to Key West, Duvall Street is where all the action is. You can just walk from bar to bar drinking or store to store shopping. Don't forget to go to the Sunset Deck Bar at the Pier House for a drink and to watch the sunset, it's beautiful and romantic. I wouldn't suggest going to Mallory Square for the sunset unless you are looking for chaos which is what you will find there with all kinds of magicians and crazy performers and if a cruise ship comes in you won't see much of the sunset. We had a lot of fun and we can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Location Location Location
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freemach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEPA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

I wasn't crazy to go to Key West with the kids but was up for an adventure so we joined another family and went for three nights. I picked the Pier House based on reviews here and the fact it had a small beach a rarity on the island.

I'm so glad we went!

Due to some renovations we were upgraded to an ocean front room and the other family got a suite. We were both very happy. The front desk was wonderfully attentive and always helpful.

The bed's were heavenly. Extremely comfortable and the air conditioning perfect. A small downside is the air conditioning exhaust is on the patio, making the 90 degree heat all that much hotter.

We ate in at the pool restaurant twice and despite it being offseason and the restaurant empty, the food was very good. The french fries were excellent. The staff was very friendly and great with the kids.

The beach area is quite small but there is a floating dock the kids enjoyed and it was all that we needed. One small downside is the lack of shade. However, since we were the only customer's at the bar/snack area she let us stay there since we could watch the kids from there. The only other shady area was the topless beach directly under the rooms and although no one was topless we didn't want to risk it.

The pool was heavenly and not at all crowded. The grounds were gorgeous and the location was perfect. The Pier House or the Ocean Key Resort across the street have the best location on the Island. Steps from everything yet there is no noise whatsoever. Once you cross onto the grounds you feel you've gone miles for the crowds on Duval St.

Although we booked a garden room next time I'll spend the extra and get the Ocean view like we ended up with. I enjoyed my coffee looking out at the sailboats docked offshore. It isn't the typical Ocean view like Miami, ect. but just a s enjoyable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marykatesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

Our first stay at the Pier House, having stayed twice at The Ocean Key House some years ago, (before it was re-modelled), and once at The Curry Mansion Inn.
We had a great stay, notwithstanding some average service at check-in/front desk and at The Chart House Bar. We put this as much down to the general style of doing things in Key West as opposed to a specific problem at The Pier House. Housekeeping did an excellent job.
There are some parts of the resort that could do with some renovation, but everything was clean that we came into contact with. Gardens are superb.
"Free" use of the spa excercise room and steam room was great. Facility was quiet and spotless.
Ate breakfast twice at One Duval and dinner twice also. Excellent on all occasions. Good after dinner entertainment.
To us there is inherent value in staying at a full service, self-sufficient resort. We love to be out on Duval but sometimes it is just nice to be able to take a break and kick back in-house.

  • Liked — New linens, hardwood floors
  • Disliked — Bathroom a little dayed
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SCFunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2006

My husband and I and our two teenagers stayed at the Pier House for two nights. We had a lovely room, bedding and beds were beautiful. However, the room was extremely small. We had trouble finding spots for all of our luggage. The bathroom is teeny tiny. Just enough room to turn around. There was only enough room to hang a few towels. The room would have been fine for two but for four people, I thought it was quite cramped.

We had a garden courtyard room on the first floor. There were two chairs and a small table outside of our sliding door. It was very nice to sit out and enjoy the beautifully maintained gardens. I was amazed by all of the lovely tropical flowering plants. The gardens were outstanding.

The pool was smallish, for such a large hotel but well cared for, we had no trouble finding chairs. The beach, too, was smallish, but the sand was lovely, fine and white.

There is a CVS across the street which was very convenient. The boardwalk near the hotel takes you along the water and docked boats and leads to many little bars and restaurants. The location is great if you want to be right on Duval where the action is.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thewins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2006

We stayed during Fantasy Fest (this is a late add, since I just found out about Trip Advisor, but I think helpful to those who may go for Fantasy Fest in the future). I was worried about finding the right hotel and having beach access and the Pier House was perfect. My husband found the place from a Key West expert and we had it booked 9 months in advance. The pools were lovely and beach was small but nice.

I was worried about the craziness of Fantasy Fest, since I really don't enjoy that stuff, but being at the Pier House made it nice. We got to attend the Pretenders in Paradise party/costume event, which was a whole different side to the event and very nice. The hotel was very specific about beach access and changes to the hotel property leading up to the event and tore down the stage very quickly after. We got to see the talent rehearse which was fun too and some of the celebrities that attended. I enjoyed having the hotel close to the parade route to see all the floats and people. It was neat to watch. My husband enjoyed venturing out to Duval Street to see the people and costumes at night - for the most part it was just people dressing up in costume and entertaining but there were some seedy people and lots of guys running around with lighted video cameras trying to get people on tape who were behaving badly. For me, I could watch for an hour or so, then it got boring. There was a street fair with vendors one afternoon as well that a lot of people seemed to enjoy.

You are paying for privacy and beach access at this hotel. Most of the hotels at this time of year are geared toward the partiers and just have pools. This is probably one of the nicest hotels on the island with the best service available on the island. Remember this is a laid back place with a different pace. The hotel staff were friendly and offered lots of recommendations on places to eat and see. The beach is not big, but nice. I enjoyed having drinks and lunch (try the conch friitters) delivered to me at the beach every day, while there for five days. We took advantage of the fridge rental and stocked up on water, beer, mixers, and wine to enjoy without having to add to our bar bill. No one ever looked strangely at us. We enjoyed breakfast at the market place one morning, but mostly ventured out for other meals to local type places. I would love to go back and eat a 1 Duval Street at Sunset and Blue Moon, which we were unable to get into at that time. The property was close to everything, though we rented bikes for a few days to see more of the island. We enjoyed the Hemmingway House, Smathers Beach, the Lighthouse. We parked our car at the hotel and only moved it a couple times - this is a walking town.

Also recommend going to see the view from one of the taller hotels to see the whole island. We loved the local artists and bought a lot of art from street vendors near the southernmost point. They are nice reminders of out time here. I loved the unique jewelry at the Emerald Lady, and hope to go back and get some pirate booty there some day.

Our room was fine - on the first level of the garden near the pool. I was a little worried about security especially with all going on at the hotel and in town, but we had no problems. We wanted a King bed, but oly two doubles were available. The bedding could be upgraded at a place like this though. We had a nice terrace and the room was thoroghly cleaned daily.

I would definately go back, not sure about Fantasy Fest again, but I think my husband will insist upon it. I don't think there is any better place to stay in Key West and would look forward to staying at the Pier House again.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bbgak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2006

June 2, 2006

I stayed at the Pier House, in a duplex suite that was just awful. The room smelled badly and the bathroom was so dirty and full of hair that we had to call housekeeping...
The next day we changed to a regular room that was nicer but also very poorly mantained and for $500 bucks we could get a better deal in a better hotel!!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dadinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#13 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing