We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Key West Vacation”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

2nd trip to this Hotel over the Xmas holidays. 1st time for a balcony room with view of ocean. Room was nice...view was nice...price was to much for the room but it was the holidays so you decide. Balcony was not worth the extra money in itself. Wasn't private I could see the people on both sides and it was small. I would do the balcony again but maybe not a Xmas time...I think it was 1800.00 extra for 8 nights.
Only been to Key West twice stayed here both times. The bed was fine and everybody was pleasant. Location was great! Quiet place...slept well.

Room Tip: Be careful with your luggage. I called Delta because I was having trouble checking 2 bags online for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your business and for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa. Over the holidays, Key West is expensive as the island fills up. Please visit our website our call the hotel directly to get the latest promotions being offered by the property. I look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    536
    161
    80
    78
See reviews for
438
1,308
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We booked a water view room and were given one on the second floor. It was a large room with 2 beds. Considering the cost I have to say the room was nothing special at all and I think it was overpriced. With tax it worked out at just shy of $680 a night, room only. The room seemed damp; our clothes certainly were after a few days in the closet. The beds had seen better days. Also the beds round the pool could definitely do with replacing. Having said this the staff were all pleasant and the food we ate there was plentiful and tasty. A plus point is that it is away from the raucousness of Duval Street and was actually very quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose8g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed our great location. The mattresses and pool and beach furniture will be replaced by the end of March. Visit our website to see what months would be better to visit Key West as you will find the best available rate there. I appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having been to Key West numerous times and staying mostly at the Hyatt Sunset Harbor as well as the LaConcha, renting a condo in Truman Annex, the Casa Marina and Westin, I gave the Pier House a try as there was a good offer for AAA members. I had come down to do some fishing and other water sports for my son's 19th birthday and had previously been to the Pier House for dinner.

The resort is very well maintained, in a great location and staff professional. The rooms are well appointed and very clean.

The only drawback is the noise in the "echo chamber" in the main building that houses the main lobby. With tiled floors and walls throughout, every sound resonates. We may have been just unlucky to get room 197, which not only is in a corner near the ice machine, but the sliding door faces the loading dock with the morning melody of backing trucks.

Every person walking through the halls to the Chart Room bar or other location can be heard in the room.

If I had a better room location, I suspect my impression would have been better, but this was a bit tough. Maybe some art work in the building to absorb sound.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluefinz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I wanted to let you know that we have added some art work in the vestibule area to help with the echo. I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the Pier House Resort and Spa and I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

They need new beds, the chairs around the pool were so old that the material was all sagging and it made it such that you sat on a metal bar….very uncomfortable! The room we had was right on the water in the new section dock rooms not private from your neighbours as the balconies are all glass. They also use the space right underneath those rooms for weddings and functions so again not very relaxing at night . The only good thing was the view from the balcony. If you get one of those rooms( we payed an average of $600.00/night) ask them for the corner room the one that looks over the pier not the one that looks over to the beach area that the hotel has. This one has a better view of the sunsets and you here the music which is nice as the sun goes down.

Room Tip: dock side room although has good views as you are right on the water offer no privacy from your neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retired1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for selecting the Pier House Resort and Spa for your hotel of choice. The mattresses are being replaced for all guest rooms the middle of February and all new pool and beach furniture will be arriving by the beginning of March. Thank you again for your comments and look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Excellent location in Key West with private beach and a great pool. The staff was amazing - some of the best and friendliest service I've ever seen! The location cant be beat. Would definitely recommend. Great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smyers06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments and for selecting the Pier House as your hotel of choice in Key West. On your next visit, please try our restaurant, Harbour View Cafe, as we have a great variety of entrees to select from. Visit our website to see the full menu. See you soon at the Pier House.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder, co
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is an outstanding property with a private beach (albeit tiny)
The location is fantastic to be steps away to Duval St. but not in the center of the island "party"
The service was 1st class and we felt taken care of every step along the way. We stayed in the spa building, and the aromas, spacious rooms, balcony, and beautiful bath were very appreciated. The atmosphere is serene and the bartenders in the Chart House and pool bar were not pushing frozen tourist drinks and - it was refreshing to have a bit of class in Key West!

Room Tip: spa building rooms are I think newer and larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey on line. I am glad that you took advantage of all of the great benefits of the Pier House Resort and Spa. The team at the Pier House prides itself on customer service as the hotel ranks within the top 15% in customer service for Independent Hotels. I look forward to seeing you soon at the Pier House.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I visited for a getaway just before the holidays...Pier House met all of our expectations! The room was wonderful (even though our room overlooked the parking lot it was secluded by trees & honestly we weren't in our room that much), very clean and tastefully decorated to reflect the Key West atmosphere. The resort felt very private and away from the hustle and bustle of Duval...but a quick short walk to Mallory Square. The small private beach and outdoor bar/restuarant and pool was an added plus...we spent several afternoons there enjoying the warm sun and beautful view listening to live singers and being waited on hand and foot! The staff everywhere was very accomodating. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEbeachbumm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa and I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations. As you mentioned the location is one of the best in Key West as you are a block away from Duval Street but secluded to give the peace and quit at night. Please visit our website as we have some great specials. Thank you again and I hope to see you soon at the Pier House.

Regards,
Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#14 of 51 in Key West
2,588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing