We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend the Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our second stay at the Pier House in three years and we will always go back. I did not shop around this time but my gut feeling is the rooms are a bit higher than the nice chain hotels in the area but so much worth it. Friendly, attentive service from all of the staff, perfect location at the waters end of Duval street AND they have a private sandy, maintained beach. The rooms are big, bright and clean. Concierge is worth any tip you may deem fair but I suggest that generosity will come back to you two fold!
If you want to see Key West and aren't a party animal this is the place that gets you close enough to experience the night life but far enough away so it doesn't interrupt your sleep.

Room Tip: Water view will make every morning and evening memorable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColeNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,605 - 1,611 of 2,395 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Key West is an experience by itself & staying at the Pier House makes it even more special! Pier House is in a great location at the foot of Duval Street, walking distance to all the great attractions! Not to be missed in Key West is the sunset but the best location, Mallory Square is very crowded; Pier House has a great view too without the crowds! One of the few hotels in Key West with a beach & the pool & beach bar are close by too. Our room was in the Caribbean Spa, very nice, plenty of room, great bathroom and a nice porch, ours looked out at the neighboring hotel. That was one downside, you could hear the trucks as they were making their deliveries in the morning.
The food was fairly good, had breakfast & lunch in the Harborside Cafe but the service needs to be improved. We had long waits during our meals, seems like they didn't have enough waiters to handle the crowd.
All in all, can't wait to head back to Key West & Pier House will be the place to stay!

Room Tip: Even though the rooms are more money, I recommend the Caribbean Spa, well worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierHouseManagement, eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hi Lonnie, Thank you for the compliments, we're glad you enjoyed the resort! Our Food and Beverage Director, Kathleen Peace, would like the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your service at breakfast. If you have an opportunity please contact her at kpeace@pierhouse.com.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have visited Key West 3 times, and think The Pier House is a great choice as far as location, comfort, food, & drink, and lastly, the private sandy beach. We enjoyed the wine & jazz bar, as well as the late night bar. Larry the pianist was very entertaining, & Emily the bartender was great. I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in 216, had a great view. Very quiet location. Room was a little small, bed was comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jfurlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierHouseManagement, eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hi Jennifer, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will share your compliments with Emily and Larry. We have forwarded your comments regarding the pillows you found to be uncomfortable with the Rooms Division Director so that he may address your concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Overall this was a nice resort but we will try another place next time.

This was our second trip to Key West. The first time we stayed @ the Ocean Key and just loved it. However we had a premiere room @ Ocean Key and didn't want to spend as much on a room this time around so decided to try a Spa room @ The Pier House instead.

The room was beautiful. Very large and really more of a suite w/ 2 sets of french doors and a large balcony w/ morning sun. Was more of a street view as we were 3 units away from Front Street so did not get the worst of the noise. Also very clean. We even ran around in bare feet which makes me cringe in most hotels. Slippers were not provided but we always bring our own just in case.

The staff overall was very respectful and nice. The concierge helped us rent good quality bikes for a reasonable price that are kept right on the premises. When I asked for a late check out for 2 pm, the young man @ the front desk during the day was somewhat snide stating we had to be out by 1 pm and he would have our bags picked up then. No one arrived to pick up our bags @ 1 pm when we were ready so I think he was really just being smart. This was more amusing to us than anything and alone wouldn't really affect our judgment of the hotel.

Other reviewers complained of the air conditioning noise. We didn't have a problem with our own air conditioner but on Saturday @ about 3 am a loud buzzing woke us up and seemed to be coming from the room next door. Luckily because of the previous complaints I had ear plugs ready and was fine after putting them in. There were no ants or bugs in our room.

We really enjoyed the spa. I had the Coma massage which was absolutely wonderful. At the same time my husband had a therapuetic massage which he said was probably the best massage he has ever had! My husband also enjoyed the workout and steam rooms.

The beach was mostly nice with chairs and towels set out for us wherever we wanted. We enjoyed the beach bar drinks as well. However we also wanted to spend time swimming and sunning @ the pool but the pool atmosphere was not conducive at all. The hotel has a "beach club" of which appeared to be local seniors in their 70s & 80s. This will sound mean but the pool felt like a nursing home not a Key West resort. All the chairs were saved early and taken by 20 to 30 elder citizens making it difficult to find even a spot. My husband commented seriously that he hoped the resort staffed an EMT. We are not exactly young ourselves but were looking for a more upbeat atmosphere. After that we decided to spend most of our swimming and sunning time @ Fort Zachary State Park. The pool man was very generous letting us take beach towels just having us return them by the end of the day.

Location as said by every reviewer was perfect being @ the lively end of Duvall and right next to Key West Blight wich has many fun restaurants as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is certainly a great hotel to stay in while in The Keys! We have gone by boat and stayed in other hotels before. We will let folks know this is a super choice! Key West is always fun,, this is also a quiet hotel to just relax and get away from the crowds!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeniceIsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights. Location is convenient to all KW attractions. Pool and hot tub are very nice. Property was clean and well kept, but surprising lack of service for a resort hotel. Towels were hard to find.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at The Hyatt with our wedding party a year ago when we were married and while there we noticed the Pier House next door. We were not happy with the Hyatt for several reasons and wanted to go back for our first anniversary so we booked the Pier House. Wow! This is Key Wests best kept secret. The locals were so nice and we felt right at home. We were happy with the variety of evening places to go after we got back from dinner. They have an awesome piano bar, The Chart room and we were very satisfied with the food also. We had a Harbour room with a view and we decided that next year when we go we will get a Garden room view we asked and it was over 150.00 cheaper than the Harour view. The gardens are lush and very well kept and beautiful. We talked it over and even a parking lot view wouldn't be so bad for the price because you are hardly ever in your room. We would reccomend this place to anyone and we will be going back for many years to come!

Room Tip: Staying in a garden view room is what we are going to book next year. We were told it is over 150 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeyWestJunkie_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#13 of 51 in Key West
2,623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $317 - $683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing