We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pier House Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$405
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$208
$201
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$299
$239
The Marker
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$188
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
$263
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$335
$297
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Havana Cabana at Key West(Key West)
$242
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Key Cottages(Key West)
$923
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,506)
Filter reviews
2,506 results
Traveler rating
1,606
564
170
82
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,606
564
170
82
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barprivate beachchart roomlanai roomdockside suitemallory squareend of duval streetturtle pondperfect locationgarden viewlarge balconybars and restaurantswatch the sunsetgreat resorttrip to key westwalking distance to everythingfree shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
1,720 - 1,725 of 2,506 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Very centrally located so you can walk to most attractions. Had breakfast every morning overlooking the water and enjoying the breeze. Good food,Tried just about everything on the menu. Excellent service. Small beach but adequate. Nice but small pool. The room, with a beautiful view was perfect. I loved the shower. walk in with a rain type shower head.This is a wonderful place to stay..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank embrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our 5th trip to Key West and our 3rd stay at the Pier House. We returned to the Pier House simply because we love the location and our first two stays were enjoyable. As returning guests, we received welcome gifts both times which was very nice. This year we received two free drinks at the bar. The beach bar has excellent service and the view is wonderful as it looks out over the water. The beach area itself is small, but in my opinion, you don't come to Key West to lay out. The pool was heated and not overcrowded while we were there. So even if you are looking to catch some rays, there is definitely a place to do it at the Pier House. The staff waits on you at the pool so you can stay in your chair and they will deliver drinks and food.

A couple steps out the front door of the hotel, and the livelihood of Duval Street is right there for you. Within minutes, you can walk to the bars, restaurants and the historic seaport. The location is top notch in my opinion if you want to be in the heart of the action. But once inside the pool/beach area of the hotel, you'd never even know the hustle and bustle of Duval existed.

Our only complaint this year was the service at the Harbour View Cafe for breakfast. We ate there twice because it's convenient and it has an awesome view. Both days it took forever to get our food, but I'd still go back because when you take in the view, it really is worth it.

So overall, I highly recommend this hotel and we will return. The staff was extremely friendly and the hotel is well kept and very clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Traditional King room- it's affordable and the Lanai room was not available. The room is small, but if you don't spend much time in your room, save your money and choose the traditional room. Room was extremely clean and bathrooms are very modern.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierHouseManagement, eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi Angie,
We were happy to have you back for yet another visit. Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We will make sure to share your concern regarding the slow service at breakfast with the Food and Beverage Director so that she may address with the staff.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was traveling with some friends and we have booked the Hyatt Hotel next door. After our paid reservation was not honored by Hyatt ( you can see the story in my evaluation of the Hyatt) it was getting late and we were tired so we look across the street and find this Hotel. And they did have rooms for us.
It was a pleasant surprise. I normally will choose a chain hotel but the Pier have is up to the highest standard.
The oceanfront restaurant is ideal for breakfast and for a sunset drink.
The "beach" and the pool are really small but the room was very comfortable.
The location is at the center of the life in Duval Street and the Hotel has a free parking, making it very convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Don't recommend staying here....but is great place for water view lunch.
AC Window unit very loud & noisy. Pillows are hard & bed not great.
Poor construction & very tired hotel in general.
small old pool with no water view.
Very small sandy beach is extension of bar area.
Highly recommend lunch/snack on the water...delicious French onion soup,
Brusetta, and shrimp cocktail. Service is extremely slow.
Hyatt or Westin Marina much better facilities.

Room Tip: First floor garden room next to turtle pond, if you must. Suites are all different & majority are disappointing.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pampered33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierHouseManagement, eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your review, we were glad to hear that you enjoyed the Beach Bar and Grille. We feel our resort emulates the true attitude and style that is Key West and we were disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our pool, which is located next to the Beach and nestled within our tropical gardens, underwent a complete renovation in 2012. We will share your concerns regarding the pillows and AC with the Rooms Division Director so that he may investigate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I booked this hotel as a surprise birthday weekend for my partner who wanted a resort-like place. I went the Pier House because it has a beach (apparently not common on Key West) and the availability of a spa. I must admit that I was reading some of the negative comments on TripAdvisor and got a bit nervous about my selection. Fortunately, we were pleasantly surprised! We had a Lanai room right over the bar looking out over the gardens, and we could see the ocean out past the pool area. The bar didn't bother us any of the nights we were there, even with the balcony door open. The room is spacious and clean. The shower was very nice. I didn't see any but one or two ants (I was nervous to read about other experiences). Everyone was friendly and accommodating. Having said this, our last evening was interrupted by loud partying guests at the pool and whirlpool up until 3:30 in the morning. We called the front desk who sent out security. Within 2 days, we had communications with the manager who apologized and made things right by us. Even though this happened, we will return to the Pier House when we return to Key West.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CJnLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews