We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off to a bad start, but can't beat the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Off to a bad start, but can't beat the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked our reservation three months in advance. When we arrived at 3 pm on our check-in day (not a late arrival), I requested a "quiet room." After much conferring with the receptionist, we were given a room directly across from the ice maker, and located next door to the control room with some HUGE loud motor in it. The motor took up over half of our patio space, so you would never sit out there. In addition, when the mysterious motor came on, it sounded like a jet engine in our room. We returned to the front desk, and asked for ANY other room. Didn't care about the view, the location, anything. We just really need a quiet room. I was told that for an additional $140 per night, we could have a quiet room, but not at my standard rate of $339 per night. I was also told that I should have made a special request at the time of my reservation, if I wanted a quiet room. So keep that in mind. Apparently you need to request something as unique and crazy as a quiet room.
We were with 5 other couples. Three of our group got upgraded -- with no additional charge -- to ocean view rooms.

The rooms are attractive, and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are fine, except there is no bathtub, and I did not enjoy the 2-inch long centipede crawling on our shower wall.

So what's good about this place? Location location location. Great for Duval street. Also, it has a lovely, if tiny, beach, which is hard to find on key west. They beach has a terrific restaurant and bar. The servers at the pool and beach are terrific.

I'd stay again because of the location and the beach. I would just make a "special" request for a quiet room, and for no centipedes in the shower. I'm not sure whether that part requires a special request.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LGP6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierHouseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for the review we value your feedback as an opportunity to continually identify issues and improve our service. We are glad you enjoyed our beach and pool area and that you found our staff to be amiable We will share your compliments with the servers. However we are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apology. Be assured that your comments have been addressed to ensure a future occurrence doesn't happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,425
    521
    157
    76
    74
See reviews for
410
1,256
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Arizona
Level Contributor
298 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

So this place is not bad or anything, I guess I just thought it would be nicer with a resort name & hefty price tag. I will share that we came at a busy time without a reservation & were just grateful to have a room...but it was quite over priced for what it was. It was clean, the interior of the rooms were unique, furnishings nice, and staff friendly. I just thought I was walking into a Travel Lodge style hotel when we first walked into the building to get to our room. A remodel in the common areas would really be a huge improvement here.
Our favorite part was the location to head out on Duval to party. It was really convenient to get to & from. We also really liked the balcony- it had nice furniture on it & was relaxing. There was no privacy from your neighbors though. Just a few updates would make this place even better & live up to its resort name. I remember commenting that my computer monitor was bigger than the TV in the room. With that said, we never turned it on...guess you don't go to Key West to watch TV. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a great resort. Located at the Mallory Square end of Duvall -- close to the action. This was our eighth or ninth trip to the Pier House and won't be our last. Small beach, nice pool, great location.

Room Tip: We had a water view -- more expensive, but, nice. Some of the other rooms had bad views. We have sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bawgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This is not a luxury hotel. It's a very nice above average hotel with luxury prices. It does have a beach(tiny) and is in a great location on the water between Mallory Square and Schooner's Wharf. We have yet to find in Florida the highly trained staff that you find in a top flight NY or Boston hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DH7156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierHouseManagement, eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We try to offer our guests the authentic experience that has made Key West a favorite destination for all generations. We are not a five star resort but certainly strive to have excellent guest service. If you would like to speak further about your concerns please do not hesitate to contact me.
Kelli Fountain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had a great return visit to the Pier House this week. We had five people in two rooms, both of which were suites with convertible sofa beds. The layout was perfect for us. The rooms looked newly renovated and the bathrooms were super clean. The location is truly central to the nucleus of Key West activities, a block from Mallory Square and just off Duval. Head in the other direction and you're on the working waterfront via the A&B marina. Sunset cruises on the fleet of sailing ships are a couple hundred yards away.

The Pier House has a small but well maintained beach, with nice lounge chairs and an attendance to bring you towels. The pool and hot tub sit just behind it, and there's a beach bar to the side. You don't need to move more than 100' during the day if you don't want to!

Room Tip: Room 193 is a Parlor Suite with a ground level patio and is close to the pool. Ideal to sit outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierHouseManagement, eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Matt,
We appreciate your detailed review and the addition of a room tip. We value your continued patronage and hope to see you again on your next visit to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retiro, Colombia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very nice hotel - beautiful and clean with very good customer service. The bar is very nice and the food very good - all within walking distance to all the hangouts. Our room was spacious and quite large and recently remodeled. Safe and secure with free parking.. No doubts about returning..

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HK2LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our second visit to the Pier House. The first stay was in May 2009, and both experiences were wonderful. We were in the Spa building this time (first time was in main building). We had a perfect room at the end of the building that had a water view and a large balcony. Although, we spent more time exploring Key West then being in the room, the time we were in the room we were really comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. We also enjoyed being so close to the spa, gym, and hot tub (just put on our robe and walked downstairs). Location can't be beat and be sure to rent a bike (they will deliver to the Pier House). I did see only 1 ant and heard no drunk people-it was actually surprisingly quiet. The resort bars and great to start or finish the night and the food decent too! We had a great time and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlestonJellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing