We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“beatiful clean hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier House Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beatiful clean hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

first time staying at this hotel rooms very clean beautiful view lots of bars restaurants staff very helpful and attentive. would love to return it is expensive but worth it. the location excellent ant end of duval street everything very near from restaurants to cvs to scooters boat rides jet skis etc just walk out your door and it is all there.

Room Tip: we had a beautiful suite which was on a corner full view of ocean and sunsets felt like you were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4nellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    477
    143
    64
    66
See reviews for
363
1,126
33
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our daughter dreamed of having a destination wedding. After researching several locations, she decided on the Pier House. We made the plans on the website and worked closely with Adelle. The wedding took place on 10/11/12. We had to stay at a family friendly place as her Godson, Nathan, only two years old was going to be the ring bearer. Our accommodations could not have been any nicer. The staff could not have been any more helpful. We had three rooms there and they were always immaculate. We had the wedding right on the beach there and then dinner right on the deck overlooking the water. The last night there w e moved into one of the two story rooms that was awesome. This place was like a big house right over the water and it had amazing views and huge closets and bathrooms. All of the staff at the Pier House went out of their way to be helpful to us. Our flowers were gorgeous. We used Karrie Porter Photography and all of our photos are breathtaking. Yes this place was expensive but worth evert penny. DJ and Tracy had an amazing wedding as well as a great family vacation. We wish them may years of good health and happiness. The hardest thing to do was pull out of the driveway at The Pier House to head home. When you stay here you can walk to Mallory Square, the Aquarium, the bars and all the shops. Very convenient to stay here. The atmosphere is so beautiful that you would swear you are in a tropical resort on an island. Can't wait to go back again with the family. Also we had our hair and nails done at the spa on the day of the wedding and the staff there was amazing. What a great way to start the day. the ladies even served us champagne. Jaimie was so accommodating do our hair exactly like we wanted. Should be rated ten stars it was so great staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShoreCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is my second trip solo as I'm getting divorced and embracing my single-ness. So for the holidays instead of sitting around my apartment I decided to treat myself to a trip to Key West! Took US Airways on a DIRECT flight from DCA. First time ever for direct flight, and completely worth the extra price of not having to connect in Miami!

I decided to go ahead and pay extra for the Harborview room. Completely and totally worth the price. Room 208 is right above the beach, ultra private balcony. I could just sit and watch the boats go by all day. Only bummer was my balcony didnt get any sun. I wanted to try my hand at sunbathing topless, but no dice. And I wasn't going to do that at the pool or beach. I'm assuming it wasn't allowed anyways.

The bed was awesome and the bathroom great! There was a TV in the bathroom! Only thing the room could use is a couple of rugs. I understand why not, but it would add just a bit of coziness to the room. The view was just beautiful! Can't say more about it! Just so quiet compared to the Duval st. craziness.

Went to the gym - skip this if you stay there. Way too many pieces of equipment and really really cramped. Rent a bike instead.

Got a hot stone massage at the spa. Orginally was booked at Prana Spa but I messed up my times and switched to the Pier House Spa. Lounge area could use some chairs you can actually lounge in, but my hot stone massage was great! Love how Jan added in explaining the chokras (sp?) and breathing. Really great!

Todd Berlin - the concierge - really was quite the help to me in deciding what I should do. He got me a lunch reservation at Ladditudes on Sunset Key. Have to book 30 days in advance, totally worth it. Great views and staff was great. People watching was quite interesting too...

Todd had booked me a dinner reservation at 7 Fish. I was sooooooooo bummed to have to cancel as this really is a favorite place. The heat did me in and on Thursday morning I woke up with a weird heat rash and that sort of messed up my plans. Luckily Todd came to the rescue and recommended the doctor on call. Totally worth the price. Dr. Denise Doane was great and I didn't have to wait at urgent care. Thanks Todd!

I did have food at the pool bar a couple of times. I liked the relaxed atmosphere. I wanted to go to the Wine Bar but on X-mas day I just got lost in my view and then it wasn't open the rest of the time. Kind of bummed, I guess its only open on the weekends. I didn't eat at the Harborview Cafe. A bit too fancy to be dining alone. I also missed the Atrium Bar. That place looked fun! I ended up at the Smallest Bar a couple of blocks down on Duval. Fun place and super cute and small. Also had sunset drinks at Ocean Key Pier. Lots of fun, with a band and stunning sunset views.

I will be back! Thanks for taking care of me Pier House! LOL, I got married at the Hyatt next door 10 years ago, but the Pier House beats the pants off that place. The Pier House is a resort but feels very intimate with the different paths around the property.

Room Tip: Definitely use the concierge for ideas on what to do. Extremely helpful, especially if you haven'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steph2point0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I love Key West and this is one of my favorite places. The resort is lovely. We stayed in a spa room which is spacious and beautifully decorated. The location of this resort is perfectly located on the ocean with a private beach. Duval and Sunset Pier are just footsteps away. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmwr58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We just spent a long weekend at Pier House. Location is ideal at top of Duval St., easy walking to Mallory Sq., restaurants, historical sites. Free parking, and we didn't use the car once during the stay. Excellent rooms (we had head-on harbor view), tropical grounds, pool, small private beach. Nice combination of amenities, location. For people looking for more beach, there are properties at the southern end of town, but which require much more walking/driving in a town with slow driving and sometimes very difficult parking.

Room Tip: Springing for water view with balcony or patio gives you a brighter room and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xkenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Have never stayed here, but we go to the main lounge at least twice a week when we spend a month in a Key West condo. There is almost always live entertainment, and the gentleman playing the piano and singing usually has guest singers as well. It is like the days of the old time supper clubs, and there is a great sense of comradery. Pier House is right on the water, and if patrons don't want to sit inside, they can sit at tables outside, while the cool breeze wafts over them. Afterwards, they can take off their shoes and walk down by the water. There is also another outdoor lounge, where TVs are mounted overhead for those who cannot miss a football or basketball game. I look forward to this place with great anticipation each year when we come down to Key West to avoid the Chicago winter!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForTheUnderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 days, had a super room & so did our kids. The view was awesome. I can't say enough about the great staff, they kept my ice packs (medication) in there freezer & was more than helpful about everything they & Key West had to offer!! Super family vacation, would stay again without a doubt!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathiandrepont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,530 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing