We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I visited the Pier House the week of August 20th based on Trip Advisor comments and at the advice of a car service driver we had in Florida. I must say we were not disappointed.
Key West is a very laid back place and this reflected in the Pier House. From the moment we checked in everyone was extremely welcoming.
Our room wasn't ready yet but they asked for our cell number so they could call us right away to let us know when we could get in, then offered us a place to change into our bathing suits so that we could enjoy the beach and pool.
The beach was great, very private and the waitress and chair service was very accommodating. It was very hot so we spent most of our time in the water or sitting on the floating dock. Prices at the beach bar were average and the drinks very tasty. We had breakfast at the Harborview Cafe and that was tasty too!
Our room was a second floor Lanai room. I had requested an ocean view but everything was already booked so needless to say I was a little disappointed but when we entered our room the view of the gardens and turtle pond were very nice. And contrary to other reviews our air conditioning was freezing!
If I have to make any poor comments I only have two. One was about the guests at the hotel. I do not believe Key West is a place to bring children. If you do you should realize that it is mostly visited by adults on their honeymoons, vacationing or young adults partying. That being said when 5 adults are sitting in the water talking I find it very disturbing that the only child on the beach (whom was about 8 or 9) is splashing us and swimming in circles around us while his mother suns herself and pays him no mind. I have two children and would never let them bother people trying to enjoy themselves. That complaint really has nothing to do with the hotel just a suggestion not to bring kids.
Second- A gift of wine and cheese was delivered to our room; it looked lovely and was delicious. However when we finished it the cleaning service left it in our room so we called the front desk to say ask what to do with it at 3 p.m.. They said to leave it outside of our room. At noon the next day it was still there. I found this disgusting especially with cheese on a tray in the hot temperatures (hallways are not air conditioned as they open up to the outdoors). And the cleaning ladies kept walking by it.
All in all I did love the Pier House and plan on visiting again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeAnn1641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFountain, Revenue and eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

I appreciate that you took the time to write such a detailed review. While I am thrilled you experienced a great check in process and enjoyed the service at the beach, I am very disappointed to hear about your room service tray. Please accept my apology. I am sharing your comments with our Food and Beverage Director so that she may address this with the room service department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,726 - 1,732 of 2,424 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

I would actually give them a 3.5 rating. I wouldn't call this property a resort, but maybe because this was our first time to Key West and don't have much to compare it to. The location can't be beat, at the end of Duval street and walking distance to almost anything in Key West you want to see. The rooms were okay except the air conditioning did not cool as much as we would have liked and was too loud. The pool area and common areas are nothing spectacular, but again, this may be common in Key West.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbirds0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFountain, Revenue and eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t have a good impression of our resort. We’ve had many compliments on our tropical gardens however perhaps they did not compare to some you have visited in other cities. I have also shared your comment regarding the air conditioner with the operations department so they may service the unit if need be. Thank you for taking the time to bring it to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel and spa is the answer to all your needs. Private beach, restaurants for all your needs, spa, pool, outdoor bar piano bar and walking distance to everything Key West is famous for. Pricing is a little on the high side but it truly was worth the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgaskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was fabulous! Location, location, location! Right at the center of it all on duval street. Clean modern rooms, friendly staff, full service bar, and ample parking rounded out an absolutely wonderful weekend.

I'm sure that you will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in February for our 13th wedding anniversary and had a fantastic time. This was our 4th trip to Key West and each time just gets better! We had a second floor lanai room. The room was spacious and clean. We had a partial view of the ocean and pool. We slept every night with the balcony doors open. The staff was fantastic from check in to housekeeping. We only had breakfast at the resort but it was good (there are so many great places to eat). We made the decision on the first day that we will not be staying anywhere else on future trips! We are Pier House followers for life!

Room Tip: Ask for upper levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skmiller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFountain, eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Congratulations on celebrating your 13th wedding anniversary. We appreciate your taking the time to offer a review and couldn't be happier to hear you'll be back! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a fabulous experience here! Upon arrival we were upgraded to a spa room and offered a bottle of champagne, as we were there for our honeymoon. We both decided to get massages and they were fantastic!

The location is perfect - walking distance to all the bars, while still having a private beach at the hotel. The room itself was awesome. Our balcony overlooked the parking lot, which was not idea, but the inside of the room made up for it. It was spacious and decorated with key west colors. The bathroom featured a huge walk-in shower and modern fixtures. I have been to key west a few times, and can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30,749,022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFountain, eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We're glad you chose Pier House to celebrate your Honeymoon and congratulations! We agree, while the Caribbean spa rooms don't view the ocean, they boast beautiful and spacious interiors. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here a couple of weekends ago during Lobster Fest. We had a Captain's Suite that was very comfortable with an awesome view of the beach and sunset. The private "beach" is small but very nice and the kids had lots of fun. They enjoyed the pool as well and spent the day from one to the other. The sunsets from the pier were just spectacular! The resort is right at the end of the island and around the corner from Mallory Square. We didn't eat at the on-site restaurant but did order drinks and had breakfast at the "beach bar" . Great location, good service, overall great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunflw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $335 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing