We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pier House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Malabo
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pier House”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Over priced! I have stayed in hotels all over the world and this was by far the worst value for our money. We stayed in one of the more expensive rooms and the maid service didn't show up until after hours the first two days, so after that, I told them to just leave clean towels. The balcony is so small there is hardly anywhere to even put your legs to get comfortable while viewing the ocean. The beach area is very small. The pool area is very nice and the hotel staff is very friendly. There is also ample parking. The location is excellent and within walking distance of just about anywhere you want to go.

Room Tip: The most expensive isn't always the best. Especially here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malabowabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,474
    533
    160
    80
    76
See reviews for
428
1,295
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Remarkable property with constant upkeep. Grounds are immaculate with magnificent landscaping and meandering footpaths. The food there was the best we had in Key West. Day and night excursions are available in the immediate area and are easy to get to. If booking any excursions, DO NOT BOOK THROUGH THE SMALL EXCURSION BOOTHS LOCATED ON DUVAL OUTSIDE OF THE HOTEL. THEY ARE VERY SHADY AND WE HAD QUITE A VERY VERY DIFFICULT TIME WITH THEM GETTING A REFUND FOR ONE PERSON IN OUR GROUP OF 6. IT ACTUALLY TOOK THE INVOLVEMENT OF THE LOCAL POLICE TO GET A REFUND. Booking through the hotel is highly recommended as we had wonderful experiences when doing so. The rooms are not real roomy but comfortable and clean with small refrigerators, TV, tiled floors, and patios or balconies. Next time I will request a room on the 2nd floor to get the more private balcony. Oh, and don't miss the sunsets outside the restaurant near the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank krazeyraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boaz, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in February 2012. It was in the heart of everything! We had a blast and can't wait to get back. The hotel was super clean and walking distance to everything. It was a short ride to the airport and a five minute walk to watch the sunset on the pier.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Croppinnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn,N.Y.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went to Key west for the first time and let me tell you this is a great hotel. We stood in the dockside suite and it was just amazing the view was amazing. The check in process was great and they even sent a bottle to our room for our anniversary. We highly recommend this hotel 5 stars. Thanks so much for making our stay a wonderful experience .

Room Tip: Dockside suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LewisAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Beautiful room and terrific service. Don't stay in a room near the Chart Room on the ground floor bar as it is a little loud late at night. The landscaping and grounds are beautiful and in tip top shape. AC was also excellent. Rooms are super clean and the showers are gorgeous!

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms near the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just1peach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Pier House is a great hotel in the middle of it all and me and my wife met a lot of people that were staying there that have been there multiple times.

First and foremost, if you plan on staying in Key West, plan on spending Key West money on everything....including your room. Our room was $280 a night for a Lanai room. Room itself was a little smaller than a room you would get at a Hampton Inn and Suites. Room is nice and clean, but whatever you do, DO NOT STAY NEAR THE CHART ROOM BAR ON A WEEKEND!!! We unfortunately stayed right near there and when we asked to move, they were going to put us in a room that was facing the parking lot....not sooo good if you want a tropical feel. By the way, their pillows are awful!!! Felt like I was sleeping on cushy rocks. I would value these rooms to be about $175-200 a night. $280 was a little high for what we got, although turn down service was nice, but you can get that on a cruise!!!

Location was great!!! You are walking distance to the sunset celebration at Mallory Square and walking distance to all the bars and most of the restaurants. YOU MUST TRY BLUE HEAVEN FOR BREAKFAST!!!! You will thank me later!!!

The staff at the hotel were friendly and the bellman at the hotel were always opening doors for everyone!!!

Great private sandy beach was a plus as well as their outdoor bar and restaurant patio seating.

Overall this hotel receives a 3.75 out of 5!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Beautiful resort w/beach & room overlooking the ocean. Everyone was helpful and friendly and walking distance to everything. The service was there for you hand & foot and friendly. The beach area was clean, as well as, the pool area. The rooms were updated with breathtaking views. I didnt eat there but my boyfriend did and he liked the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,558 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing