We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
546 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Key West”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Although this property is in the heart of the historical district including bars and restaurants, it is a quiet, luxurious oasis with its small beach and excellent views of the harbor and beyond. There are even a couple of large iguanas which share the waterfront property! Our only critique was the extremely squeaky and relatively tall platform bed. The mattress was just fine...only when I tossed and turned (which I always do) did the bed respond with squeaks and groans.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a waterfront room, so that you can enjoy the awesome sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bsimosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,450
    527
    158
    80
    76
See reviews for
419
1,278
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We got a 3-day package, but my vision of sitting on our balcony watching the sunset was not to be. We could see only a little patch of ocean through the trees. It was a nice room, just not one of their better rooms. Drinks were very expensive as was, of course, their spa which we did not use. The on-site parking was nice although we never used our car because of the central location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed in the Spa portion and was very satisfied with the room size and condition.
the room felt airy and light with huge windows and a nice comfortable porch.
The bathroom was a good size and was in good condition.

The hotel's location is very convienent to Duval, Mallory Square, the Wharf, and the Truman Annex which makes dining and entertainment only a stones throw away.
Suprisingly, the private beach and pool is quiet and sheltered from the hustle of Duval Street, which reminds me of Bourbon Street.

The one negative thing i have to mention was the ants in our room. On a normal day we would see 15-20 ants in the bathroom. We mistakenly left a small box of wheat thins open on the fridge and woke to find the bag covered in ants.

All in all a good value and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewisburg, pa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The Pier House is as good as any hotel in Key West. Nice rooms, good service, great location.
Walking distance to most of the great Key West haunts. Little beach, nice beach bar. Nice pool area. No reason not to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ramblinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Went down for a few days for our thirty-fifth wedding anniversary. Absolutely the place to stay in Key West. The Staff, especially Debbie, was terrific. Right in the middle of all the action.
Wish we could go back next week.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Pier House the first week of Decemeber and had a fantastic time. We had a Lanai King right off the garden pool area and even thought there were plenty of other people around it was never too noisy or busy. We had a 1st floor room where we could walk right out to the pool area but there was no way of securing the patio door from the outside. A minor inconvience but it would be a great addition to the hotel to have this little extra security convience. Our room was spacious and clean and the housekeeping staff did a great job. We had a small mixup with a booking at the Spa but that was quickly rectified by the staff. The beach bar had great drinks and appetizers plus it was right off the beach area. We had breakfast at the Harbor View Cafe and the quality of the food was always excellent. As others have said the closeness to Duval Street is great and we will definately stay again at the Pier House again.
The best way we found to see the island is to rent a scooter. Next to the hotel parking entry is a scooter/bike rental stand and they give you a great rental rate when you tell them your staying right there at the Pier House. Same thing with many of the activities on the island, use the hotel Concierge to book and the rates were better if you ask for it.

Room Tip: If you want quick access to the pool off your Lanai Room ask for a first floor room. Next time we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWBSLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I had stayed here before and expected much more.

We were given a room with a view of the back of a fence, right by the elevators and stairs; a noisy gathering place at all hours.

Two TV's, but neither remote worked. Small high-def screen in the main room, but no high-def programming.

Room serviced skipped us altogether on the first full day; we had to call that evening to get the room cleaned. Our last day, they had forgotten to refresh the coffee so we had to find our own. A dead worm in the shower was still there after the room was cleaned.

These are mostly minor items, but this is a well-known and prominent resort. Nobody can deny that the location is great; one of the best on the island.

I sent an email when we got back, detailing the problems we had encountered. It's been several weeks with no reply from Pier House.

Room Tip: Ask if you are going to get ANY kind of view; don't settle for the back of a fence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,528 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing