We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible place to stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My 3 girlfriends and I stayed her for one of my friends 40th birthday. I have never been so disappointed! The room was nasty. There were ants and cockroaches. Yes, cockroaches. I can understand a bug once in a while but when you see several (one in the bathroom sink, one under the bathroom sink and one in the shower and then one scurries out from under your bed that is big enough to carry you off) you have to complain! We were offered a complimentary bottle of cheap Champagne. I don't even drink that stuff! On top of the ants and bugs, our airconditioner leaked and water stayed on our floor. We paid 350 +/night and have never been so disappointed ANYWHERE I have ever stayed. The ONLY good thing I have good to say is that it is a great location (walking distance) to everything. I hope that when they do their remodeling they are about to do that they will do some major exterminating!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lwheeler004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    523
    157
    78
    75
See reviews for
415
1,265
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The Pier House Resort and Spa is amazing! This place is extremely clean and provide great customer service! I have already suggested this resort to my friends and family. This was also our first time to Key West. I got married on Smathers Beach June 2, 2011. It was a small wedding, but it was wonderful! Pier house accommondated me and my Groom like we were special guest (as they seemed to do with all their guest). We plan to come back on our three year anniversary. The Pier House Resort is where we will be staying. Thank you, Pier House Resort for all your accomondations that make you stand out from all the others! The staff were patient and helpful with giving us directions to local restaurants and other places of interest. I highly reccommend this Resort!!!

Room Tip: Two Words: Get an ocean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2011

If anyone has something bad to say about this Resort they just want to complain. My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon from August 8-12, 2011. First off we booked the traditional room and upon arrival we received a free upgrade to the Caribbean Spa Rooms. The bathroom was very clean. No carpet. Wooden floors. Flat screen TV's. Plush King size bed and sofa. The shower could fit more than 2 people, although it was only the 2 of us (honeymoon time). The hotel was very quite and relaxing. The private beach was small but very clean and was not over crowded. I went to the beach early in the AM and late afternoon and had no problems finding a space to sit down. The hotel provides beach towels for you as well. Room Service was fast and accurate. The only reason why I did not give it 5 stars is because it is very expensive to eat at the resort, so take some time to venture out. I will not stay anywhere else when I go back. Oh and the view of the sunset was beautiful.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view or Caribbean spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natty Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

The Pier House is a very nice hotel with an excellent location. Just steps from Mallory Square and Duval Street so you don't need a car. We walked everywhere --- even to 2 restaurants that were at the other end of Duval in very residential neighborhoods. The private beach is great, and the food in the hotel restaurants was very good too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDGal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I booked the Pier House in Key West for a 3 night get-a-way and chose the most expensive room available. The Dockside Suites are at the end of the hotel, right on the water and have floor to ceiling glass windows with spectacular views of the sunset and all of the water activity of the busy bay. We overlooked the colorful dock that has music every night during sunset. The suite had a wrap around patio with lounge chairs and we had wine every night (we brought our own and the refrigerator in the room was perfect for keep it cool). The suite was very quiet and when all doors were closed you could not hear any music or noise - perfect for sleeping. The location is perfect as it is at the end of Duval Street and close to any area you want to visit. We parked the car (free) and never moved it until we left. The hotel has a small beach and a beautiful pool plus several bars and a nice restaurant where we had breakfast one morning. Coffee is available for free from 6:00 to 9:00 each morning plus there is a coffee maker in the suite. The suite and entire complex was very clean and had many shrubs, trees and plants which gave it a very nice atmosphere. It was worth the money and we highly recommend the Dockside Suites.

Room Tip: There are 6 dockside suites but 807 and 810 have the best views (we stayed in 807)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hofmanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Its downtown right next to the bars, sleep will happen after 2am or so. Tim the security guard got on me three times for stupid things like where to park my bike, what was in my cup, how to park my bike again! Cool out guys, I m on vacation. If you want to relax stay at a B&B, I should have stuck with them in the first place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 87beneteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Pier House allows you all of Key West within walking distance and an isolate luxury quite place to get away from it all!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbmsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#13 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing