We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay from hell!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oasis Guesthouse
Save
You added Oasis Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ranked #82 of 86 Key West B&B and Inns
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stay from hell!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed in room 119 with my partner from June 7-10 2012 while my friends stayed in a suite near the office for the same price. Our room was filthy, moldy and we killed three palmetto bugs in it.The bathroom was disgustingly dirty, moldy and had ants all over the sink, it looked like it had not been cleaned in months. You had to hold the toilet the whole time to flush it. The sink did not have a stopper and I almost lost my electric tooth brush head in the drain. The room was small with no place to sit or put anything and was dimly lit by two 25 watt bulbs, guess you didn't want us to see much. The TV was positioned to the right so there was no comfortable way to watch it.
If you say we paid extra for the balcony, we did not use it because it was covered in ants, the furniture out there was also filthy and moldy.
I DID ASK for a room change and was told that you were FULL for Saturday night as it was pride weekend and I would need to come back to this room, which meant I would have to change rooms three times. So I kept the room to only sleep hoping for no more palmetto bugs.
The manager stated the property is being sold but this is no excuse for the disgusting situation I encountered. I could go on about things on the property like no ice in the machine and more dirt and mold around but I think everyone gets the picture, stay away!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank readyWiltonManors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    4
    15
    3
See reviews for
1
22
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My partner and I have been loyal guests of the Oasis, Coconut Grove, Coral Tree group for several years. We have met many good friends there. The reosrt has an all welcoming quality that is rare to find. The Coconut Grove house was beautifully redecorated and updated a few years ago, the rest of the property would benefit from an update as well. The location is prime, only a few blocks from many great restaurants, and Fausto's market. Close to the marina for the Blu Q, and ofcourse , close to Duval street bars. Jerry , Jorge and all of the staff work hard to make us all feel at home. Complimentary frozen drinks are served by the pool in the afternoon, wine and snacks in the evening, as well as a continental breakfast each morning. This resort is very laid back , just as is the Key West lifestyle.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet vacation I suggest staying at the Coral Tree building, a little remov...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Spent five nights in this beautiful guesthouse. Gracious staff, comfortable rooms and even bicycles to explore the charming streets of Key West. Loved meeting other guests over wine and snacks at happy hour, and over coffee and breakfast in the morning. Quiet location, beautiful pools, comfortable bed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Best features: extensive, well-kept landscaping, clean huge whirlpool seating over 20, convenient, quiet Old Town location (4 blocks from Duval, 3 blocks to Island House, and 1-4 blocks from several excellent restaurants), cordial and helpful front desk, decent continental breakfast and social hour.

Our room was clean with fairly basic, tasteful furnishings and nice cable flat screen TV. If you have problem with stairs, ask for a ground floor room because some 2nd and 3rd floor rooms require climbing extensive stairs (also true next door at Coconut Grove). Also a good idea to book early for holiday weekends - the resort was pretty much booked for Presidents Day weekend.
The two large, friendly elderly cats, one black and one brown, will come into your room and make themselves at home if you let them. (But don't try to pet the little black cat!)

Breakfast typically has orange, grapefruit, and tomato juices, English muffins, bagels, muffins, bananas, apples, yogurt, assortment of cereals, coffee and teas. If you want a hot breakfast with eggs, etc., try Harpoon Harry's diner only two blocks away on Caroline. The evening social hour had red and white wine and usually one or two appetizers that changed each day (e.g. chicken wings, meat balls, pot stickers, etc.).

Minor irritations: Our room needed more storage for clothes. There was one dresser with four drawers and a closet, which can mean living out of your suitcase unless you have lots of hanging clothes, especially if you're staying longer than a weekend (and our room had two beds, which means even more limited storage for four guests). Some shelves added to the closet and perhaps a small bookshelf or 2nd dresser in the sitting area would help.
The first generation, restricted-flow showerheads with the fine spray could be updated to more modern fixtures that have a choice of spray pattern (such as the showers at Island House).
The large pool was too cool for us (guessing <83) so we used the balmy 90+ pool at the Island House. There is a smaller pool that was nicely warm but too small to really swim or walk. Also the lounge chairs by the pool are web cloth stretched on plastic frames, which are comfortable if you're lying on your back. But the adjustable head / upper body section is designed with a permanent tilt, viz. you can't lay flat. So, if you lay on your stomach, you have to switch ends with your legs slightly elevated. This is the only place we've seen this particular design.
The housekeeping was generally fine, although one of them (perhaps new) was inconsistent - leaving two towels one day, three the next, not adding soap bars until I asked, etc.

The "poor" reviews seem exaggerated (an "inch" of dust - really?!). Yes, some of the rooms might benefit from some updating, but they were clean, the AC worked fine, the beds comfortable. The staff was never rude. We arrived in a pouring rain and one of them came out to our car with an umbrella so we would not get soaked.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, ask for a ground floor room. The Oasis is more convenient than the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IQ140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Another great time in my recent visit to the Oasis Complex and Key West. Always feels like coming home. Great group of guests from all around the world were there, all rooms filled in the Oasis/Coconut Grove/Coral Tree. Love the social atmosphere around the pools or laying out getting sun... best place for sun in KW. Afternoon frozen drinks and early evening happy hour was another great socializing event. Looking forward to my next trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrob100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a week in Feb. 2012. I had been here several years ago and things have gone downhill fast. Our room had a bed that sagged in the middle, The shower door leaked, the cleaning staff didn’t come around until late in the afternoon (there is a staffing problem on the island apparently), wood was rotting, carpets needed cleaning, the whole complex just needs a good going over and sprucing up. There is only one reason I would consider returning; the guests. The loyal guys who return year after year keep this place alive and make it worth a visit.

There were several discussions from a group of regulars about the declining facility and what to do next. The answer was to go in mass to another guest house. We’d go with them.

Whoever owns this place needs to get a clue. Put some money back into the property and you’ll have a profitable business for years to come. Otherwise, bye bye…..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rockville_Roamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key West hotels

Ftelia, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great location and awesome guests, but if you have allergies or you are a clean freak, beware. Half an inch of dust on ceiling fans, stained carpets, sticky shower floors, air conditioning that is variable, rotting wood, musty rooms, refrig that doesn't work, etc.. It's unfortunate. It use to be the premier place. It still gets awesome guests out of loyalty, the grounds are nice and it is not a bath house.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GayFreqTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages
0.4 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#55 of 86 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaport Inn
Seaport Inn
#70 of 86 in Key West
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
0.2 mi away
Garden House
Garden House
#66 of 86 in Key West
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Curry House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Guesthouse

Property: Oasis Guesthouse
Address: 822 Fleming St # 823, Key West, FL 33040-6904
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Oasis Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing