We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast and friendly”
Review of SunShine Scooters

SunShine Scooters
Ranked #3 of 112 Shopping in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: NO DEPOSTIS or AUTH HOLDS. Electric Car Rentals. Gas Club Car Rentals. Scooter Rentals. Bike Rentals. New & Used Lance & SYM Scooter Sales. New Scooter Showroom at 1910 N Roosevelt Blvd.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fast and friendly”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The guys at the Roosevelt location were fantastic. We had four recent high school graduates (age 18-20) and the guys couldn't have been more patient and informative in teaching them safe riding. Although it was a rainy trip the scooters were one of the best things we could have done. The boys had a blast scooting around the island.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSunShineOwners, Owner at SunShine Scooters, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
What a great review. Thank you so much! It’s very important to our guys that each Customer is comfortable riding a Scooter and that they understand the rules and safety of the road. You’re group picked up on the Scooters quickly. You were all so much fun and we can’t tell you how much we enjoy knowing that you had so much fun. We look forward to your next trip to Key West and can’t wait to see you again. Take Care, Jon & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    22
    2
    4
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good service but it's a distance away”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We rented a six-seater electric cart and we had fun. But...
It's quite a distance from Old Town to the rental agency, and although they shuttle you to and from, it's still a lot of time.
Unfortunately, I didn't realize that the charge on the electric car would not last all that long.
Next time, I won't rent that particular vehicle.
On the plus side, the men working at the rental agency are very nice and have lots of good Key West stories.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GypsyTraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSunShineOwners, Owner at SunShine Scooters, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We sincerely appreciate it. We are about 2 miles from Old Town, but we know it must feel like 20 miles when you’re here to enjoy the Island. All the Electric Cars get 15 to 20 miles on a full charge. Even though the entire Island is only about 4-miles by 2-miles…..15 to 20 miles always seems to go so fast when you’re having fun. One of the features that most folks enjoy the most is having the power gauge on the dash so you can see how much battery you’ve used and how much is left. We’re so glad you had a good time and enjoyed our Agents. We hope to see you again on your next trip. Maybe next time you could try the Scooters….they are a lot of fun too…..and they’re in Old Town (Duval & Caroline). Thanks again! All our best, Jon & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great American company”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Short version - If you are looking for an electric car rental on Key West, look no further. They are as they describe on their website, and more. Their cars are well maintained, clean, and the charges last past the rental period. The customer service is first rate. We rented a 6 passenger car from Sun Shine on 5/14/13 and this is a first-hand experience review. Give them a call, you'll be glad you rented from Sun Shine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSunShineOwners, Owner at SunShine Scooters, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We can’t tell you how much it means to us that you had such a great time; and that you took the time to share it with others. We loved the title to your review, “Great American Company”. .. it brightened our day! We look forward to your next trip to Key West….don’t wait too long!!!! All our best, Jon & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Company!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We made a reservation on line for an electric car to use while we were in Key West while on a cruise. Everything about the experience was A+ from communicating with Sherry when making the reservation to the fun we had in our little car! Oh, and Tommy Lee, who picked us up and took us back to our ship, was just great! Thanks for making our visit to Key West so enjoyable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deandeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSunShineOwners, Owner at SunShine Scooters, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
You are so welcome; and thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We’re so happy your experience was all you’d hoped it would be. I enjoyed communication with you during the reservation process as well; and Tommy Lee had as much fun with you as you did with him. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit! Thanks again! Hope to see you soon! Jon & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Satisfied Customer”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We decided to rent bikes for 4 hrs. After reading reviews, we chose sunshine scooters. They are conveniently located at Caroline and Duval. It was a no hassle rental. We reviewed the agreement and we on the road! The excellent reviews were the reason we went to sunshine scooters and we were not disappointed. Now, we plan to go back today and rent again!!!!! Riding bikes around Key West is the way to go!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel5903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSunShineOwners, Owner at SunShine Scooters, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are so glad you decided to rent Bicycles from SunShine Scooters and had such a good time. It means so much to us that you took the time, during your vacation, to write such a great review. That’s awesome! We try to make the rental process as easy, and quick, as possible. We’re happy to know that it’s appreciated. We’re already looking forward to your next visit to Key West…..hopefully it’s soon. Take care, Jon & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SunShine Scooters also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to SunShine Scooters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing