We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SunShine Scooters

SunShine Scooters
Ranked #4 of 109 Shopping in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: NO DEPOSTIS or AUTH HOLDS. Electric Car Rentals. Gas Club Car Rentals. Scooter Rentals. Bike Rentals. New & Used Lance & SYM Scooter Sales. New Scooter Showroom at 1910 N Roosevelt Blvd.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We initially rented two scooters for a day from the Roosevelt location. The very nice girl who took care of us showed us how everything worked on the scooters, had us do a quick demo ride in the parking lots and had us on our way in short order. The following morning we stopped by to extend the rental for another 24 hours, and the same lovely girl took care of us. We got a different scooter for my husband, as the one from the first day kept trying to stall. Riding home from watching the sunset, we found out that the lights on his new scooter weren't working. Since we were headed straight to the hotel and leaving the following morning, it wasn't that big a deal for us. They apologized for the lights when we told them the next morning. Even got a quick ride back to our hotel!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BackBite_rowEn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSunShineOwners, Owner at SunShine Scooters, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We’re so happy you enjoyed working with Mashayla…..she’s a treasured employee and we think the world of her. It’s wonderful that you had such an enjoyable vacation and you took the time to share your experience with others. We’re so sorry that there were a few issues with your Scooter; but, we’re very fortunate to have one of the best Mechanics, Mike, working with us. When there is an issue he takes care of it right away. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Key West. All our best, Jon & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    18
    2
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great way to spend the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I each rented a scooter from Brad at your Caroline and Duvall location Feb 2. He's very nice and professional and helpful! He worked out a great package for us, even offering a free ride to the airport (unfortunately our flight was leaving too early in the morning). He was patient and good about going over the components of the scooter. We found the scooters very easy to operate, however the seats were a little bit too high. My partner was a little nervous at first, but by the end of the day, she was very comfortable and had a blast! it was a great way to check out the island and "hot spots". I guess it was quite the site to see 50 year old women on scooters because several people were taking pictures of us! Thanks for helping in making it a fun day.

Helpful?
Thank CJnLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSunShineOwners, Owner at SunShine Scooters, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Brad is so good at explaining the Scooters. If you have never operated a Scooter before, Brad is the guy you want teaching you. I’m so glad you girls had such a blast. We loved reading your review and hearing how about how much fun you had on your trip. Knowing we had a small part in that means the world to us. Please come back and see us as soon as you can. Take Care! Jon & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg Pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“See Brad at Sunshine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We recently rented a Harley for a day, a scooter for a day and booked a sunset sail in Key West with Sunshine Scooters. Brad at Duval and Caroline St handled everything for us and was terrific!Checked weather, advised on sail and the company ran us back to the airport when we sadly had to leave.Also Tommy Lee sent us to a great restaurant we would never had found on our own. This company is one of the best I have ever dealt with. Thanks for making a great vacation happen! Talk to Brad!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingfloral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSunShineOwners, Owner at SunShine Scooters, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Brad is wonderful and it’s so nice to hear that you enjoyed all his recommendations. Tommy Lee definitely knows the best local establishments to visit…we couldn’t be happier that he is part of SunShine Scooters. What an awesome review you wrote….thank you so much for taking the time. We can’t wait to see you again on your next trip. All our best, Jon & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalona, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day on the Road King”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were initially hesitant to rent from Sunshine based on past reviews and a warning from a local, but we had the best experience! We rented the Road King for a ride up the Keys and everyone who worked at Sunshine that we dealt with could not have been nicer or more helpful. They made it easy and worry-free. The added bonus of a free shuttle from and back to our hotel was pretty sweet and the shuttle driver I wished was my personal vacation driver. He was knowledgeable, interesting to talk with and way cool. Thanks for everything!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSunShineOwners, Owner at SunShine Scooters, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We’re so glad you decided to rent from us. We have been working all year to get over the old Business Owner’s reviews so having Customers like you, that take the time to write a review, means the world to us. Thank you so much. Our Drivers, Flipper and Tommy, are the best and you are correct…..they are way cool!!!! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip. Thanks again. Jon & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“As Good As Any On Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is our 2nd time renting from Sunshine; the last being 2 years ago. The scooter fleet is fairly new; our scooter had just 1900 miles on it. I've ridden scooters and motorcycles for 40+ years and initially found the seat a bit high at stops but the scoot has a comfortable ride with 2 on board and handles easier at low speeds. The current Zhen scooter was much more comfortable than the Hyosung scooters Sunshine previously used, especially with my heft.

Definitely find their online coupon on website pricing; it's much cheaper than walking in off the street.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiend4Mojitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSunShineOwners, Owner at SunShine Scooters, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for you review. We’re glad you enjoyed the new Zhen Scooters and you choose to rent from us. We try to make our online pricing the best we can so it fits in everyone’s budget. Thank you for sharing your experience with others. Please come and visit us again. Hope to see you soon. Take Care, Jon & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SunShine Scooters also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to SunShine Scooters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing