We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a perfect day!”

Wild About Dolphins
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Such a perfect day!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went with our two daughters on a tour with Captain George in July. It was one of the best days ever. We have seen countless dolphins including baby dolphins. They were eating, sleeping, playing, etc. We have enjoyed Captain George's stories and explanations about dolphins a lot. Thank you! Since Maya was not able to come with us on the tour, Captain Sheri met us after the tour and our kids could go swimming with Maya at the Marina. Overall, we were absolutely happy with Wild About Dolphins and would love to go on a tour again as soon as possible.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jx1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Captain George is awesome... WILD about DOLPHIN's deeply appreciates your patronage and wonderful trip review. Captain George & Captain Sheri thank you for choosing our company for your Key West wild dolphin/snorkel/back country excursion. We are so happy your family had a wonderful excursion. Dolphin dog "Maya" & Captain Sheri appreciate your understanding regarding "Maya" needing a day of rest. We had a film crew with us for the previous two days filming a series "Dog's Best Friends". Dolphin dog "Maya" was the star. We worked with the film crew for about 10 hours a day/2 days. Dolphin dog "Maya" worked very hard and swam more than usual and needed a rest day. It was our pleasure to meet your family at the Marina at the end of your tour so your two girls could spend time with "Maya". We look forward to seeing you again. Warm Regards, Captain Sheri, Captain George and dolphin dog "Maya"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    9
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Can't give enough props to Captain Sherri and Maya on our tour. Saw more dolphins then we ever expected and took us to great snorkeling spots. Captain Sherri was great with our kids and made sure we had everything we needed. A definate must if visiting Key West.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oneton_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
It was a pleasure having you on our WILD about DOLPHIN's excursion. We deeply appreciate your wonderful review. We love to hear from our guest's. We look forward to seeing you again. Warm Regards from Captain Sheri & "dolphin dog" - Maya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dolphins a go go!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

What's not to love about a 3 hour boat trip out to the gulf of Mexico, spotting several dolphins, eating "simpy" on board and then topping and tailing with a swim with sting rays and barracudas! All in a days work for cap'n Sherrie, but a most marvelous and unexpected surprise for myself, the boys (13 and 9) and my wife. If you do one thing in key west keep it strictly dolphins with Sherrie! A day to remember. Oh and we had a film crew in tow, but they didn't get in the way one little bit. In fact they added to the intrigue :-).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeDimelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Captain Sheri & dolphin dog "Maya" had a wonderful time with your family. Dolphin dog "Maya" had so much fun with your 2 boys. We appreciate your participation in the filming of one part of the series "Dog's Best Friends". Captain Sheri's WILD about DOLPHIN's facebook page will keep you up to date on status and release date of the tv show. Thank you so very much for taking your time to share your trip experience.. Warm Regards, Captain Sheri & dolphin dog "Maya"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleuten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“What a tour !”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a great morning. We scheduled this trip on the day after arrival (jetlag kicks in, so we were sure we would be ontime)

It was great. We saw some nice dolphins, we did some snorkling and had a great lunch on the boat.
Sheri was nice, friendly, and she explained a lot. Her dog was lovely and loves the dolphins.

We a great morning.

I went on a trip in NZ with Dolphins which was crowded and all the boats there were following the dolphins. This was more relaxed for us and the dolphins. And that's a big plus.

thanks a lot for this great trip, I can recommend it to anyone !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kevertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
It was a pleasure having you on our WILD about DOLPHIN's excursion. We deeply appreciate your wonderful review. We love to hear from our guest's. We look forward to seeing you again. Warm Regards from Captain Sheri & "dolphin dog" - Maya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They made it happen”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

On the day of the tour a large storm blew through and it would not have been possible to leave at the scheduled time. The operators were in contact with us via phone to let us know about our options and they committed to making an attempt to run the tour later in the day. After the storm blew through, we ended up getting out onto the water and our captain was very skilled at reading the sky and the water to ensure we had a safe and enjoyable experience. He was very knowledgeable about the area and shared a lot of interesting facts with us. The boat was clean and powerful. We had some amazing dolphin sitings and also saw a leatherback turtle an did some snorkeling. The on-board food and beverages were also enjoyable. To top it all off, we were able to use the nice facilities at the clubhouse to shower off before heading back to our campground.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
WILD about DOLPHIN's team - Captain Sheri & Captain George thank you so much for your patronage and awesome trip review. We are so happy you had a wonderful educational, environmentally sensitive wild dolphin trip experience. We thank you for being flexible with the weather and change in the tour time. So happy we were able to get you out on our tour. Warm Regards, Captain Sheri - WILD about DOLPHIN's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild About Dolphins also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Wild About Dolphins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing