We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this drive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Overseas Highway

The Overseas Highway
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Key West Day Trip from Miami with a FREE South Beach Bike Rental
Ranked #7 of 163 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A charming 110 mile highway running the length of the Keys.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love this drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

3rd time I've driven to Key West over Rt 1. I still love the drive and the neat places to stop and stretch my legs. Stopped in Islamorada this time. It's really great if you can time your drive to chase the sunset into Key West.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,086
    1,367
    472
    106
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“U.S. Route 1 From Miami to Key West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We drove from Cocoa Beach to Sugarloaf Key in one longish day. After driving through crowed Miami, the sawgrass marsh leading to the first of the keys seemed desolate. But when we entered the keys, driving speed slowed and there was lots to look at. The speed limits and roadside attractions reminded me of sections of the old route 66. We visited the home of REEF dot org on Key Largo. REEF is a grass-roots organization that seeks to conserve marine ecosystems by educating, enlisting and enabling divers and other marine enthusiasts to become active ocean stewards and citizen scientists. We heard about Lion Fish infestations and decided to do our bit to help by eating them. An aide worker at REEF suggested we stop at the Lazy Days Restaurant, a few miles away on Islamorada. It was definitely worth the visit. Lazy Days is on cement piers and provides beach side service on the ground level or air conditioned dining on the first floor. Stuffed Lion Fish is excellent. There was so much more to see and do. The highway is only 127 miles long but at least a 4 hour drive. Do follow the speed limits. There are LOTS of police cars.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John71105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“must do at least once”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

One of the most beautiful drives you will ever take and Key West waiting at the end. I travel here 6-8 times a year and am amazed every single time how people from all over the world and country make it to this remote road.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
201 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Rented a convertible and drove from Ft. Lauderdale to Key West. Would be nice if it wasn't only 2 lanes for most of the trip because we got stuck in traffic near Key Largo. The original bridges are really cool and there are lizards on the sides of the road the entire way. It has a lot of charming towns that you drive through and the water is beautiful. It also has a lot of signs to inform you of what Key you are on as you drive through.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The best views of gorgeous water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful drive I love looking at all of the islands The water is so crystal-clear And you can see the Reefs on both sides

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overseas Highway also viewed

 

Been to The Overseas Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing